This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Produced by National Arts Centre Théâtre français

Canadian designers

Robert Prévost | François Barbeau | Claude Goyette | Danièle Lévesque | Jean Hazel |
Mérédith Caron | Michel Smith | Denis Gougeon | Michel Beaulieu | Guy Simard

Robert Prévost (1927-1982)

© TNM, photo by Henri Paul
Robert Prévost

Considered the father of contemporary set design in Quebec, Robert Prévost has created over 200 sets and thousands of costumes during his 30-year career. While doing his classical studies, this Montrealer became a member of the Compagnons de Saint-Laurent. After starting his career as an actor, he decided, in 1949, to devote himself to set design for various organizations. The founding of Radio-Canada television allowed him to create sets and costumes for ballets, television-plays, variety shows, and series. He participated in over 75 productions at the Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, as well as some 30 shows at the Théâtre du Rideau Vert. He worked at the Stratford Festival and designed the sets and costumes for the Opéra de Montréal, Grands Ballets canadiens, and Royal Winnipeg Ballet. Although he is considered to be a specialist in the theatre of Molière, Prévost’s talent has served both the classic and Quebec repertoires. In 1977, he became a sculptor and created the metal gates and monumental doors of St. Joseph’s Oratory in Montreal.

© André Le Coz
Denise Pelletier and Albert Millaire performing on a set designed by Robert Prévost for Hamlet by Shakespeare, TNM, 1970.

Title: Hamlet

Playwright: William Shakespeare

Production: Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, 1969-1970 season

Directed and translated by: Jean-Louis Roux

Set and costumes: Robert Prévost

Music: Gabriel Charpentier.

 

About Robert Prévost:

  • Robert Prévost : scénographe et favori des dieux, Lucien Pépin, Pélican.

top of page

François Barbeau

© Josée Lambert
Marthe Turgeon (in front), Philippe Cousineau, Jean-Guy Viau, and Paul Latreille wearing costumes by François Barbeau in Marie Stuart by Friedrich von Schiller, NCT, 1995.

Title: Marie Stuart

Playwright: Friedrich von Schiller

Translation: Normand Chaurette

Production: Nouvelle Compagnie Théâtrale, 1994-1995 season

Director: Alice Ronfard

Costumes: François Barbeau

Set: Raymond-Marius Boucher

Music: Jean Sauvageau and Marcel Brunet

Lighting: Michel Beaulieu.

With his remarkable knowledge of the history of clothing and an exceptional sense of theatricality in his costumes, François Barbeau is one of Canada’s best-known and most respected stage artisans. An internationally renowned designer, since 1958 he has created the costumes for hundreds of ballets, operas, circuses, and plays: Hedda Gabler (1969) by Ibsen at the Théâtre du Rideau Vert, Tartuffe (1982) and L’Avare (1963) by Molière at the TNM, to name but a few. Resident designer at the Théâtre du Rideau Vert since 1962, his contribution to L’Oiseau Bleu (1968) by Maeterlinck had made a huge impression at the time. He regularly collaborates with Montreal’s major theatre companies and, along with director Jacques Lassalle, created Les Estivants (1984) by Gorki at the Comédie-Française. He has also directed over 50 plays since 1984. He trained countless artists during his 25 years at the National Theatre School of Canada where he taught and directed the Set and Costume Design Program. François Barbeau continues to be a leading designer, and many generations of designers consider this man to be their mentor.

About François Barbeau:

  • “François Barbeau : le maître” Sophie Pouliot, Jeu 99, 2001, p. 109-113.

Centre National du Costume (CNC) website: http://collections.ic.gc.ca/costume/index.html

top of page

Claude Goyette

© Claude Goyette
Sketch by Claude Goyette for his set design of Catoblépas by Gaétan Soucy, Ubu, compagnie de création, NAC, and FTA, 2001.

Title: Catoblépas

Playwright: Gaétan Soucy

Coproduction : Ubu, compagnie de création, National Arts Centre French Theatre, Festival de théâtre des Amériques

Director: Denis Marleau

Set design: Claude Goyette.

Renowned set designer Claude Goyette has created sets for most of the mainstream and experimental theatres. Founder of the Association des professionnels des arts de la scène du Québec (APASQ), he was also the organization’s first president. As a researcher and teacher, and in his work capacity, he is interested in the relationships between bodies and space, between the stage and the audience. The sets he creates have an emotional and energetic impact thanks to effect the scenic architecture produces on the audience. He has shared his design talents with countless major directors such as René-Richard Cyr for Le Malentendu (1993) by Albert Camus, Martine Beaulne for Albertine en cinq temps (1995) by Michel Tremblay, and Roger Blay for Macbeth (1978) by Shakespeare at the Théâtre de la Manufacture. However, his meeting with director Denis Marleau will be one his most important. He designed the stage environments for many of the Théâtre UBU’s creations, including Maîtres anciens (1995) by Thomas Bernhard and Catoblépas (2001) by Gaétan Soucy. Claude Goyette teaches at the École supérieure de théâtre at the Université de Québec à Montréal.

© Claude Goyette
Sketch by Claude Goyette for his set design of Britannicus by Racine, NAC and TDP, 1984.

Title Britannicus

Playwright: Jean Racine

Production: National Arts Centre and Théâtre Denise-Pelletier, 1984

Director: André Brassard

Set design: Claude Goyette

By Claude Goyette:

  • “Le lieu théâtral : réflexion sur une pratique scénographique“, Jeu 79, 1996, p. 61-67
  • “Temps d'espaces” in L'album du Théâtre UBU, Éditions Jeu-Lansman, 1994, p. 111-112
  • Website: http://www.er.uqam.ca/nobel/r10040/index.htm

top of page

Danièle Lévesque

© Maxim Côté
Danièle Lévesque

Well-known Quebec designer Danièle Lévesque learned the rudiments of her craft at the National Theatre School of Canada (NTS), studying under famed designers François Barbeau and Yannis Kokkos. Since she began her career in 1983, she has designed countless sets for plays - whether they be from the classic, creation, or avant-garde repertoires - as well as for dance and opera. Her work has largely contributed to the affirmation of scenic art in Quebec; her style is highly recognizable, her signature is personal. The sets she creates, often at the TNM and at Espace Go, are either grandiose and austere or filled to excess with all kinds of objects: cars, aquariums, and refrigerators, such as in Bonjour, là, Bonjour (1987) by Michel Tremblay. She has worked with directors whose approaches are very different, such as Brigitte Haentjens, René Richard Cyr, and Lorraine Pintal. Together with them, she has succeeded in bringing to life the worlds of Racine, Molière, or Ducharme in an innovative way, as she did with Ducharme’s Ines Pérée et Inat Tendu (1991). Lévesque has taught at the NTS since 1991 and is currently director of the Set and Costume Design Program.

© Pierre Desjardins
Set design by Danièle Lévesque for Ines Pérée et Inat Tendu by Réjean Ducharme, TNM, 1992.

Title: Ines Pérée et Inat Tendu

Playwright: Réjean Ducharme

Production: Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, 1991-1992 season

Director: Lorraine Pintal

Costumes: François Laplante

Lighting: Michel Beaulieu

Set design: Danièle Lévesque

Props: Jean-Marie Guay

Music: Philippe Ménard.

 

About Danièle Lévesque:

  • “La scénographie, un métier de poète”, Lynda Burgoyne and Solange Lévesque, interview with Danièle Lévesque, Jeu 62, 1992, p. 41-50.

top of page

Jean Hazel

© Louise Leblanc
Jean Hazel

Versatile designer Jean Hazel works in Quebec City. He has created the sets, lighting, or costumes for over 100 productions. A graduate of the Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Québec in 1985, he quickly developed a partnership with director and artistic director Gil Champagne. Having taken part in all of the Théâtre Blanc’s productions since 1988, he is considered to be its resident designer. He has also collaborated with Robert Lepage for Le Polygraphe (1987) and Les Plaques tectoniques (1988). The daring and symbolic scenic environments that he creates often provide a totally unexpected view of the plays they serve. The area where he most naturally applies his talents is that of modern plays, from here or abroad. At the Théâtre du Trident, he designed a magnificent space for Gil Champagne’s production of Michel Tremblay’s classic À toi pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou (2001), complete with floating statues of the Virgin Mary and beer bottles. This impressive water-filled set won him his first Masque award for Best Set Design. Since 2003, Jean Hazel has been artistic director of the Théâtre Blanc.

© Louise Leblanc
Érika Gagnon and Lise Castonguay seen on a set designed by Jean Hazel for Les Reines(The Queens) by Normand Chaurette, Théâtre Blanc, 1997.

Title: Les Reines (The Queens)

Playwright: Normand Chaurette

Production: Théâtre Blanc, 1997

Director: Gill Champagne

Set design and lighting: Jean Hazel

Costumes: Isabelle Larivière

Soundscape: Serge Gingras.

 

Sur Jean Hazel:

  • “Matière vivante : Jean Hazel, scénographe”, Marie-Christine Lesage, Jeu 86, 1998, p. 128-133.

top of page

Mérédith Caron

© Terry Manzo
Mérédith Caron

With over 100 designs to her name, her invaluable know-how, and her marked artistic integrity, Mérédith Caron is surely one of our most highly sought-after costume designers. Since launching her career in 1978, her talent has graced many important stage and film productions. Equally devoted to the classic repertoire as to modern creations and summer theatre, she has worked with a wide range of directors. Among them, Martine Beaulne, for whom she did the costumes for Molière’s Dom Juan (2000), Serge Denoncourt, Pierre Bernard, Denise Filiatrault, Daniel Roussel, Claude Poissant, and Olivier Reichenbach, designing the costumes for his production of Othello (1985) by Shakespeare at the TNM. Her reputation has led her to work several times for the prestigious Stratford Festvial. Never one to back away from challenging projects, she has created the costumes for two Cirque Éloize productions as well as for several operas. In the profession just as within the walls of the National Theatre School of Canada, where she teaches the costume designers of tomorrow, her career serves as an example for many artists.

© Robert Etcheverry
Gérard Poirier and Raymond Bouchard wearing costumes by Mérédith Caron for Othello by Shakespeare, TNM, 1985.

Title: Othello

Playwright: William Shakespeare

Production: Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, 1985-1986 season

Director: Olivier Reichenbach

Set design: Claude Goyette

Costumes: Mérédith Caron

Lighting: Michel Beaulieu.

 

About Mérédith Caron:

  • Théâtre en jeu (show no. 4), a documentary produced by Michel Duchesne, Télé-Québec, 1997, 25 min. 30 sec. VHS. Featuring Mérédith Caron, Guillaume Lord, and Michel Beaulieu.

top of page

Michel Smith

© Michel Smith
Michel Smith

Born in Quebec in 1958, composer Michel Smith has worked for the past 15 years in theatre and the multidisciplinary arts. His highly original work is rooted in electroacoustics. Along with the Ensemble Karel, which he founded in 1992, he has designed sound and visual installations which leave room for improvisation. During his performances, he uses video and unusual instruments which he creates himself. A very versatile artist, he has created original sound tracks for several plays, operas, films, and television shows. In the theatre, he has worked closely with directors such as André Brassard, René-Daniel Dubois, Robert Lepage, Alice Ronfard, Lorraine Pintal, René Richard Cyr, and Serge Denoncourt. The sound environments that he designs, often dominated by his own piano playing, manage to blend in with the very diverse styles of the productions. He is currently a guest lecturer at the Université de Montréal, from which he obtained a master’s degree in composition. Among his recent achievements are Macaque (1997), a sound happening presented as part of the Symphonies portuaires de Montréal and the music for the epic Kosmogonia (2001). Passionate about new technologies in sound, Michel Smith is a creator who always has the wind in his sails.

top of page

Denis Gougeon

© Jean-François Bérubé
Denis Gougeon

Prolific composer Denis Gougeon was born in Granby in 1951; he learned his art at the École Vincent-d'Indy and at the Université de Montréal. During the 1980s, he worked at developing his own musical language while making a name for himself on the Montreal music scene. In 1988, when his piece Heureux qui comme… gained international success, his career began to soar. It was undoubtedly his characteristic curiosity and versatility which led him to compose for the theatre. Since 1993, the year of his defining meeting with the director of the Théâtre UBU, Denis Marleau, Gougeon has composed the music for most of the company’s shows. From Roberto Zucco (1993) to Quelqu’un va venir (2002), his soundscapes blended so well with Marleau’s staging that critics and the audience were always unanimous in their praise. Among contemporary composers, Denis Gougeon stands apart thanks his lush, accessible music. With over 80 compositions to his name—from solos to orchestral works, from concert music to chamber opera, and also musical tales and works for ballet—he continues to devote himself exclusively to composition.

By Denis Gougeon:

  • Most of his compositions are available on the Analekta label.
  • Musique pour le théâtre UBU (1998), Analekta.

top of page

Michel Beaulieu

© Jean-Claude. Labrecque
Michel Beaulieu

Considered to be one of the most important lighting designers in Canada, Michel Beaulieu has spent his life in theatres. In 1969, he met Nicolas Cernovitch; alongside this great master, he received his education and learned the rudiments of his future craft while on tour with the Grands Ballets canadiens. Working in the greatest halls in North America fast-tracked his creative abilities. In the early 1970s, he started to design the lighting for the Théâtre du Nouveau Monde. At a time when this was traditionally handled by the set designer, he would be one of the first to see his name associated with the lighting design of a play. At the time, he was also lighting the shows of the biggest pop singers in Quebec. The creation of Floralie, où es-tu (1972) by Roch Carrier marked the true beginning of his career as a lighting designer. After having worked with all of the major Quebec directors such as Lorraine Pintal Olivier Reichenbach, René-Richard Cyr, and Serge Denoncourt, Michel Beaulieu continues to sculpt light with his talent and transform the stages of Quebec with his intense, vibrant lighting designs.

© Pierre Desjardins
Michel Beaulieu’s lighting for Les oranges sont vertes by Claude Gauvreau, TNM, 1998

Title: Les oranges sont vertes

Playwright: Claude Gauvreau

Production: Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, 1998-1999 season

Director: Lorraine Pintal

Set design: Danièle Lévesque

Costumes: François St-Aubin

Lighting: Michel Beaulieu

Music: Jean Derome

Assistant: Lou Arteau

Props: Jean-Marie Guay.

 

(196)

About Michel Beaulieu:

  • Théâtre en jeu (show no. 4), a documentary produced by Michel Duchesne, Télé-Québec, 1997, 25 min. 30 sec. VHS. With Mérédith Caron, Guillaume Lord, and Michel Beaulieu.

top of page

Guy Simard

© Pierre Desjardins
Denis Bernard and Sylvie Drapeau lit by Guy Simard in Hedda Gabler by Henrik Ibsen, TNM, 1996.

Title: Hedda Gabler

Playwright: Henrik Ibsen

Production: Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, 1995-1996 season

Translation: Normand Chaurette

Director: Lorraine Pintal

Costumes: François Barbeau

Set design: Raymond-Marius Boucher

Lighting: Guy Simard

Music: Catherine Gadouas

Props: Michèle Gagnon.

A lighting designer and graduate of the National Theatre School of Canada, Guy Simard has been building up an impressive list of accomplishments since 1971. Considered to be a leader in his field, he has participated in over 300 stage productions. Although he is artistically renown for his creative talent, his knowledge and experience have led him to hold the positions of technical director, production manager, technical consultant, and stage manager. He has designed for all of the major theatres in Montreal. Other than the Opéra de Montréal, where he has been the resident lighting designer since 1992, he has regularly lit the stages of the Espace Go, Quat'Sous, and Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, notably for the TNM’s Combat de nègre et de chiens (1997) by Koltès, directed by Brigitte Haentjens. His talent has crossed the borders beyond Canada. The lighting he has designed for various opera houses have enabled him to work in the world’s most prestigious halls. His fruitful collaborations with Denis Marleau have led him to work in Europe and to develop close ties with local companies. Always keen on the development of new technologies in lighting, this explorer never ceases to diversify his activities.

About Guy Simard:

top of page

On a final note, here are some other designers who could be added to the list we have presented to you:

set designers Louise Campeau, Stéphane Roy, Yvan Gaudin, Jean Bard, Raymond-Marius Boucher, Carl Filion, Mario Bouchard, David Gaucher, Anick La Bissonnière, and Guillaume Lord, Olivier Landreville, Martin Ferland, Isabelle Larivière ;

costume designers François Saint-Aubin, Maryse Bienvenu, Linda Brunelle, and Julie Charland;

lighting designers Luc Prairie, Alain Lortie, and Martin Labrecque;

sound designers Michel Normandeau, Nancy Tobin, Larsen Lupin and Michel F. Coté ; 

stage-manager Alain Roy

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

 

Concepteurs d’ici

Robert Prévost | François Barbeau | Claude Goyette | Danièle Lévesque | Jean Hazel |
Mérédith Caron | Michel Smith | Denis Gougeon | Michel Beaulieu | Guy Simard

Robert Prévost (1927-1982)

© TNM, photo by Henri Paul
Robert Prévost

Père de la scénographie contemporaine au Québec, Robert Prévost a créé près de deux cents décors et un millier de costumes en trente ans de carrière. Durant ses études classiques, ce Montréalais devient membre de Compagnons de Saint-Laurent. Après des débuts comme comédien, il décide en 1949 de se consacrer à la scénographie pour le compte de différentes institutions. La fondation de la télévision de Radio-Canada lui permet de créer des décors et des costumes pour les ballets, les télé-théâtres, les spectacles de variétés et les téléromans. Il participe à plus de soixante-quinze créations au Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, tandis que le Théâtre du Rideau Vert fait appel à son savoir-faire pour quelque trente productions. Il travaille dans le cadre du Festival de Stratford, en plus de signer des décors et des costumes pour l’Opéra de Montréal, les Grands Ballets canadiens et le Royal Winnipeg Ballet. Bien que considéré comme un spécialiste de Molière, Prévost a su mettre son talent au service du répertoire classique aussi bien que québécois. En 1977, le scénographe se fait sculpteur pour réaliser les grilles et les portes monumentales de la basilique de l'Oratoire Saint-Joseph de Montréal.

© André Le Coz
Denise Pelletier et Albert Millaire jouant dans la scénographie de Robert Prévost pour Hamlet de Shakespeare, TNM, 1970.

Titre : Hamlet

Auteur : William Shakespeare

Production : Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, saison 1969-1970

Mise en scène et traduction : Jean-Louis Roux

Décor et Costumes : Robert Prévost

Musique : Gabriel Charpentier.

 

Sur Robert Prévost :

  • Robert Prévost : scénographe et favori des dieux de Lucien Pépin, Pélican.

haut de la page

François Barbeau

© Josée Lambert
Marthe Turgeon (à l’avant), Philippe Cousineau, Jean-Guy Viau et Paul Latreille portant les costumes de François Barbeau dans Marie Stuart de Friedrich von Schiller, NCT, 1995.

Titre : Marie Stuart

Auteur : Friedrich von Schiller

Traduction : Normand Chaurette

Production : Nouvelle Compagnie Théâtrale, saison 1994-1995

Mise en scène : Alice Ronfard

Costumes : François Barbeau

Décor : Raymond-Marius Boucher

Musique : Jean Sauvageau et Marcel Brunet

Éclairages : Michel Beaulieu.

Avec sa remarquable connaissance de l’histoire du vêtement et un sens de la théâtralité exceptionnel dans ses costumes, François Barbeau est l’un des artisans de la scène les plus connus et respectés au Canada. Concepteur de renommée internationale, il a signé, depuis 1958, les costumes de centaines de ballets, d'opéras, de spectacles de cirque et de pièces de théâtre ; mentionnons Hedda Gabler (1969) d’Ibsen au Théâtre du Rideau Vert ainsi que Tartuffe (1982) et L’Avare (1963) de Molière au TNM. Costumier attitré du Théâtre du Rideau Vert depuis 1962, sa contribution à L’Oiseau Bleu (1968) de Maeterlinck y a fait forte impression. Il collabore régulièrement avec la plupart des compagnies de théâtre institutionnel à Montréal et, avec le metteur en scène Jacques Lassalle, a signé Les Estivants (1984) de Gorki à la Comédie-Française. Il a également mis en scène, depuis 1984, plus d'une cinquantaine de pièces de théâtre. On ne compte plus les artistes que le pédagogue forma durant les vingt-cinq années où il enseigna et dirigea le volet production de l’École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada. François Barbeau pratique toujours son métier avec audace et plusieurs générations de concepteurs considèrent l’homme comme un mentor.

Sur François Barbeau :

haut de la page

Claude Goyette

© Claude Goyette
Dessin de Claude Goyette pour la scénographie de Catoblépas de Gaétan Soucy, Ubu, compagnie de création, CNA et FTA, 2001.

Titre : Catoblépas

Auteur : Gaétan Soucy

Coproduction : Ubu, compagnie de création, Théâtre français du Centre National des Arts, Festival de théâtre des Amériques

Mise en scène : Denis Marleau

Scénographie : Claude Goyette.

Scénographe réputé, Claude Goyette conçoit des décors pour la plupart des scènes institutionnelles et expérimentales. Fondateur de l'Association des professionnels des arts de la scène du Québec (APASQ), il en a été le premier président. En tant que chercheur et pédagogue, autant que dans le cadre de son travail de praticien, il s’intéresse aux rapports entre le corps et l'espace, entre la scène et la salle. Les décors qu’il imagine tirent profit de l'impact émotif et énergétique que l'architecture scénique produit sur le spectateur. On ne compte plus les metteurs en scène d’importance auxquels le scénographe a prêté son talent, qu’il s’agisse de René-Richard Cyr pour Le Malentendu (1993) d’Albert Camus, de Martine Beaulne pour Albertine en cinq temps (1995) de Michel Tremblay ou de Roger Blay pour Macbeth (1978) de Shakespeare au Théâtre de la Manufacture. Pourtant, sa rencontre avec le metteur en scène Denis Marleau sera l’une des plus significatives. Il a dessiné les environnements scéniques de plusieurs des créations du Théâtre UBU parmi lesquelles Maîtres anciens (1995) de Thomas Bernhard et Catoblépas (2001) de Gaétan Soucy. Claude Goyette enseigne à l’École supérieure de théâtre de l’UQAM.

© Claude Goyette
Dessin de Claude Goyette pour la scénographie de Britannicus de Racine, CNA et TDP, 1984.

Titre : Britannicus

Auteur : Jean Racine

Production : Centre National des Arts et Théâtre Denise-Pelletier, 1984

Mise en scène : André Brassard

Scénographie : Claude Goyette

 

De Claude Goyette :

  • « Le lieu théâtral : réflexion sur une pratique scénographique », Jeu 79, 1996, p. 61-67
  • « Temps d'espaces » dans L'album du Théâtre UBU, Jeu/Lansman, 1994, p. 111-112
  • Site internet : http://www.er.uqam.ca/nobel/r10040/index.htm

haut de la page

Danièle Lévesque

© Maxim Côté

Scénographe québécoise de renom, Danièle Lévesque apprend les rudiments de son métier à l’École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada (ENT), auprès des grands concepteurs François Barbeau et Yannis Kokkos. Depuis ses débuts en 1983, elle a signé un nombre incalculable de décors pour le théâtre de répertoire, de création et d’avant-garde, ainsi que pour la danse et l’opéra. Son travail a largement contribué à l’affirmation de l’art scénographique au Québec et elle possède un style reconnaissable, une signature très personnelle. Les décors qu’elle imagine, souvent au TNM et à l’Espace Go, sont grandioses et dénudés ou alors chargés à l'excès d'objets de toutes sortes : des voitures, des aquariums, des réfrigérateurs, qu’on pense à Bonjour, là, Bonjour (1987) de Michel Tremblay. Elle a collaboré avec des metteurs en scène aux démarches très diverses, parmi lesquels Brigitte Haentjens, René Richard Cyr ou Lorraine Pintal. En accord avec eux, elle a su matérialiser d'une manière innovatrice les univers de Racine, de Molière ou de Ducharme comme elle l’a fait pour ce dernier dans Ines Pérée et Inat Tendu (1991). Actuelle directrice du programme de scénographie de l’ÉNT, Lévesque y enseigne son savoir-faire depuis 1991.

© Pierre Desjardins
Scénographie de Danièle Lévesque pour Ines Pérée et Inat Tendu de Réjean Ducharme, TNM, 1992.

Titre : Ines Pérée et Inat Tendu

Auteur : Réjean Ducharme

Production : Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, saison 1991-1992

Mise en scène : Lorraine Pintal

Costumes : François Laplante

Éclairages : Michel Beaulieu

Scénographie : Danièle Lévesque

Accessoires : Jean-Marie Guay

Musique : Philippe Ménard.

 

Sur Danièle Lévesque :

  • « La scénographie, un métier de poète » de Lynda Burgoyne et Solange Lévesque, entretien avec Danièle Lévesque, Jeu 62, 1992, p. 41-50.

haut de la page

Jean Hazel

© Louise Leblanc
Jean Hazel

Scénographe polyvalent, Jean Hazel œuvre dans la ville de Québec. Il a conçu les décors, éclairages ou costumes de près d’une centaine de productions. Diplômé du Conservatoire d’art dramatique de Québec en 1985, il développe rapidement un partenariat avec le metteur en scène et directeur artistique Gil Champagne. Ayant pris part à toutes les productions du Théâtre Blanc depuis 1988, il en est en quelque sorte le scénographe attitré. Il a aussi collaboré avec Robert Lepage pour Le Polygraphe (1987) et Les Plaques tectoniques (1988). Les environnements scéniques audacieux et symboliques qu’il engendre offrent souvent une perception totalement inattendue des pièces qu’elles interprètent. La zone où il exerce le plus naturellement son talent est indéniablement celle des dramaturgies contemporaines d’ici et d’ailleurs. Il réalise au Théâtre du Trident un espace magnifique destiné à la mise en scène que signe Gil Champagne d’un classique de Michel Tremblay : À toi pour toujours, ta Marie-Lou (2001) où flottent des statues de la Vierge et des bouteilles de bière. Cet impressionnant décor au plateau rempli d’eau lui permet de remporter son premier Masque de la meilleure scénographie. Depuis 2003, Jean Hazel est directeur artistique du Théâtre Blanc.

© Louise Leblanc
Érika Gagnon et Lise Castonguay évoluant dans la scénographie de Jean Hazel pour Les Reines de Normand Chaurette, Théâtre Blanc, 1997.

Titre : Les Reines

Auteur : Normand Chaurette

Production : Théâtre Blanc, 1997

Mise en scène : Gill Champagne

Scénographie et éclairages : Jean Hazel

Costumes : Isabelle Larivière

Environnement sonore : Serge Gingras.

 

Sur Jean Hazel :

  • « Matière vivante : Jean Hazel, scénographe » de Marie-Christine Lesage, Jeu 86, 1998, p. 128-133.

haut de la page

Mérédith Caron

© Terry Manzo

Avec plus d’une centaine de réalisations à son actif, son précieux savoir-faire et sa manifeste intégrité artistique, Mérédith Caron est assurément l’une de nos plus incontournables conceptrices de costumes. Depuis ses débuts professionnels en 1978, elle a mis son talent à la disposition d’importantes productions théâtrales et cinématographiques. Servant avec la même dévotion le théâtre de répertoire, la création contemporaine et le théâtre estival, elle a collaboré avec une vaste palette de metteurs en scène. Parmi ceux-ci, nommons Martine Beaulne, dont elle a habillé le Dom Juan (2000) de Molière, Serge Denoncourt, Pierre Bernard, Denise Filiatrault, Daniel Roussel, Claude Poissant ou Olivier Reichenbach pour qui elle signe les costumes d’Othello (1985) de Shakespeare au TNM. Sa réputation la mène plusieurs fois à œuvrer dans le cadre du prestigieux Festival de Stratford. N’hésitant jamais à s’engager dans des projets d’envergure, elle a réalisé les costumes pour deux spectacles du Cirque Éloize et pour plusieurs opéras. Dans le métier comme entre les murs de l’École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada, où elle enseigne aux costumiers de demain, son parcours sert d’exemple à de nombreux créateurs.

© Robert Etcheverry
Gérard Poirier et Raymond Bouchard portant les costumes de Mérédith Caron pour Othello de Shakespeare, TNM, 1985.

Titre : Othello

Auteur : William Shakespeare

Production : Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, saison 1985-1986

Mise en scène : Olivier Reichenbach

Scénographie : Claude Goyette

Costumes : Mérédith Caron

Éclairages : Michel Beaulieu.

 

Sur Mérédith Caron :

  • Théâtre en jeu (émission 4), un documentaire réalisé par Michel Duchesne, Télé-Québec, 1997, 25 min 30 s, VHS. Avec Mérédith Caron, Guillaume Lord et Michel Beaulieu.

haut de la page

Michel Smith

© Michel Smith
Michel Smith

Né au Québec en 1958, le compositeur Michel Smith œuvre depuis quinze ans dans le domaine théâtral et multidisciplinaire. Sa démarche très originale appartient au courant électroacoustique. Avec l’ensemble Karel, qu’il a fondé en 1992, il crée des installations sonores et visuelles qui laissent place à l’improvisation. Pour ses performances, il emploie la vidéo et d’étranges instruments qu’il a lui-même inventés. Particulièrement polyvalent, il signe les conceptions sonores originales de nombreuses pièces de théâtre, opéras, films et émissions de télévision. Au théâtre, il collabore assidûment avec des metteurs en scène comme André Brassard, René-Daniel Dubois, Robert Lepage, Alice Ronfard, Lorraine Pintal, René Richard Cyr et Serge Denoncourt. Les ambiances sonores qu’il imagine, souvent dominées par une utilisation personnelle du piano, parviennent à épouser des créations aux styles très divers. Détenteur d’une maîtrise en composition de la Faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal, il y est maintenant professeur invité. Parmi ses récentes réalisations, notons Macaque (1997), un happening sonore présenté dans le cadre des Symphonies portuaires de Montréal et la musique du spectacle à grand déploiement Kosmogonia (2001). Passionné par les nouvelles technologies sonores, Michel Smith est un créateur qui a toujours le vent dans les voiles.

haut de la page

Denis Gougeon

© Jean-François Bérubé
Denis Gougeon

Prolifique compositeur né à Granby en 1951, Denis Gougeon fait l’apprentissage de son art à l'École Vincent-d'Indy et à l'Université de Montréal. Au cours des années quatre-vingts, il s’affaire à développer un langage musical qui lui soit propre, tout en s’illustrant activement dans le milieu montréalais de la musique. En 1988, quand sa pièce Heureux qui comme… obtient un succès international, sa carrière prend une ampleur peu commune. Ce sont sûrement sa curiosité et sa polyvalence caractéristiques qui l’incitent à composer pour le théâtre. Depuis 1993, année de sa rencontre déterminante avec le metteur en scène et directeur du Théâtre UBU, Denis Marleau, Gougeon a signé la musique de la majorité des spectacles de la compagnie. De Roberto Zucco (1993) à Quelqu’un va venir (2002), ses univers musicaux épousent si bien les mises en scène de Marleau, qu’ils sont toujours unanimement salués par le public et la critique. Parmi les compositeurs contemporains, Denis Gougeon se distingue par une musique riche et accessible. Avec plus de quatre-vingts œuvres à son actif, qui vont du solo à l’orchestre, de la musique concertante à l’opéra de chambre, mais également du conte musical au ballet, il fait preuve de ténacité en se consacrant entièrement à la création.

De Denis Gougeon :

  • La plupart de ses compositions sont disponibles sur l’étiquette de disque Analekta.
  • Musique pour le théâtre UBU (1998), Analekta.

haut de la page

Michel Beaulieu

© Jean-Claude. Labrecque
Michel Beaulieu

Considéré comme l’un des concepteurs d’éclairage les plus importants au Canada, Michel Beaulieu a passé sa vie dans les salles de théâtre. En 1969, il fait la rencontre d’un véritable maître : Nicolas Cernovitch. C’est en tournée avec les Grands Ballets canadiens qu’il va recevoir son enseignement et apprendre les rudiments de son futur métier. Confronté aux meilleures salles d'Amérique du Nord, le concepteur développe en accéléré ses aptitudes de création. Au début des années soixante-dix, il commence à concevoir des éclairages pour le Théâtre du Nouveau Monde. À une époque où il s’agit d’une tâche traditionnellement confiée au décorateur, il sera l’un des premiers à voir son nom associé à la conception des éclairages d’une pièce de théâtre. Parallèlement, il éclaire les spectacles des plus grands chanteurs populaires du Québec. La création de Floralie, où es-tu (1972) de Roch Carrier lance définitivement sa carrière de concepteur d’éclairage. Après avoir travaillé avec la plupart des scénographes et metteurs en scène québécois d’envergure tels Lorraine Pintal Olivier Reichenbach, René-Richard Cyr ou Serge Denoncourt. Michel Beaulieu continue de sculpter la lumière avec talent et transfigure les scènes de théâtre du Québec grâce à ses éclairages intenses et vibrants.

© Pierre Desjardins
Les éclairages de Michel Beaulieu pour Les oranges sont vertes de Claude Gauvreau, TNM, 1998.

Titre : Les oranges sont vertes

Auteur : Claude Gauvreau Production : Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, saison 1998-1999

Mise en scène : Lorraine Pintal

Scénographie : Danièle Lévesque

Costumes : François St-Aubin

Éclairages : Michel Beaulieu

Musique : Jean Derome

Assistance : Lou Arteau

Accessoires : Jean-Marie Guay.

 

Sur Michel Beaulieu :

  • Théâtre en jeu (émission 4), un documentaire réalisé par Michel Duchesne, Télé-Québec, 1997, 25 min 30 s, VHS. Avec Mérédith Caron, Guillaume Lord et Michel Beaulieu.

haut de la page

Guy Simard

© Pierre Desjardins
Denis Bernard et Sylvie Drapeau dans les éclairages de Guy Simard pour Hedda Gabler d'Henrik Ibsen, TNM, 1996.

Titre : Hedda Gabler

Auteur : Henrik Ibsen

Production : Théâtre du Nouveau Monde, saison 1995-1996

Traduction : Normand Chaurette

Mise en scène : Lorraine Pintal

Costumes : François Barbeau

Scénographie : Raymond-Marius Boucher

Éclairage : Guy Simard

Musique : Catherine Gadouas

Accessoires : Michèle Gagnon.

Éclairagiste diplômé de l'École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada, Guy Simard accumule depuis 1971 des expériences impressionnantes. Considéré comme une référence dans son domaine, il a collaboré à plus de trois cents productions scéniques. S’il s’illustre artistiquement par son talent de concepteur, son savoir-faire et son expérience lui ont valu d‘être tour à tour directeur technique, directeur de production, consultant technique ou régisseur. Il a signé de nombreuses conceptions sur toutes les grandes scènes de Montréal. Outre l'Opéra de Montréal, dont il est l’éclairagiste attitré depuis 1992, il éclaire assidûment les scènes de l’Espace Go, du Quat'Sous et du Théâtre du Nouveau Monde où il a signé les éclairages de Combat de nègre et de chiens (1997) de Koltès dans une mise en scène de Brigitte Haentjens. Son talent franchit régulièrement les frontières du Canada. Les éclairages qu’il élabore pour différentes maisons d’opéras lui ont permis de travailler dans les stades les plus prestigieux du monde. Ses fructueuses collaborations avec Denis Marleau l'ont amené à travailler en Europe et à développer des liens privilégiés avec des troupes locales. Intéressé par le développement des nouvelles technologies en éclairage, ce découvreur ne cesse de diversifier ses activités.

Sur Guy Simard :

haut de la page

 

Mentionnons en terminant d’autres concepteurs qui pourraient s’ajouter à ceux que nous vous avons présentés :

les scénographes Louise Campeau, Stéphane Roy, Yvan Gaudin, Jean Bard, Raymond-Marius Boucher, Carl Filion, Mario Bouchard, David Gaucher, Anick La Bissonnière, Guillaume Lord, Olivier Landreville, Martin Ferland, Isabelle Larivière, Yvan Gaudin, Jean Bard  ;

les concepteurs de costumes François Saint-Aubin, Maryse Bienvenu, Linda Brunelle et Julie Charland ;

les concepteurs d’éclairages Luc Prairie, Alain Lortie et Martin Labrecque ;

les concepteurs de son Michel Normandeau, Nancy Tobin, Larsen Lupin et Michel F. Coté  ;