This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Produced by National Arts Centre Théâtre français
© National Archives of Canada Canada, photographer unknown
The title role of Othello by Shakespeare required actor Laurence Olivier to wear elaborate makeup during shows at the National Theatre, England, in 1964.

Title: Othello

Playwright: William Shakespeare

Production: National Theatre, England, 1964

Director: Laurence Olivier

Set and costumes: Jocelyn Herbert.

Theatrical Terms

Adaptation
Transformation or rewriting of a work. For example, an adaptor can transpose a novel to the stage, providing dialogue and creating scenes to further the action, edit several texts into one whole or modify a play by changing the setting, the ending or the number of characters.

Audience
Denotes either a theatre’s regular clientele or all the spectators gathered in a theatre. No audience no theatre.

Burlesque
Exaggerated form of improvised comedy, often crammed with sexual allusions. Situations are exploited by stock characters: the drunken husband, the shrewish mother-in-law, the pretty, scatterbrained young girl, and so on.

Company
A group that stages productions guided by a particular artistic vision or theatrical method. Often headed by a director. Some theatre companies (called troupes in French) hire actors to form a permanent company.

Costume
The clothing an actor wears onstage. With their shapes, colours and textures, costumes help to create the visual world of the play, to communicate relationships between characters and to reveal the identity (age, occupation, personality) of various characters in the play.

Cue
Signal telling the technicians at the sound and lighting boards exactly when to launch each effect. For the actor waiting to enter, say a line or perform an action, the cue is generally another actor’s line.

Diction
Manner in which words are enunciated. Actors must control their articulation, speed of delivery and breathing.

© TNM, photo by Henri Paul
Jean Gascon (1921-1988) directing a rehearsal of Lorenzaccio by Alfred de Musset, TNM, 1965.

Direction
The art of starting from a script, suggesting an interpretation of it and creating a complete production. This central interpretive theme governs every facet of the actors’ and technicians’ work and helps the director coordinate the various components of the production (set, acting style, blocking, music, and so on).

Dramaturgy/Dramaturgical Research
The documentation and analysis that leads to a better knowledge and understanding of a play. Familiarization with the historical context, the author, and the issues at stake, along with parallel research into related pictures, pieces of music, and films can have considerable influence on the director’s work.

Dress Rehearsal
Final rehearsal before the opening performance. The dress rehearsal is a complete run-through of the production as if it were being performed before an audience.

House (theatrical space)
Space in which a performance takes place, made up of a playing space (stage) and space for the audience. It may be in a theatre or in a space temporarily organized for a performance (a factory, loft, cemetery).

Italienne or Line Rehearsal
A rehearsal for lines only, with no movements or blocking. Lines are said very quickly with no expression or pauses, to help performers memorize or review their lines.

Lighting
Effects of the light illuminating the actors and the playing space, creating various atmospheres using different intensities, colours and shadow effects.

Make-up
Cosmetics applied to the actor’s face and sometimes body to accentuate or alter the features (age, deformity, scar, moustache)

Mask
Made of leather, papier mâché or resin, it is the face of an archetype or a god: for example, Harlequin or Medusa. When actors don their masks, they enter into the skin of their characters. In a production in masks, emotions are conveyed by the performer’s entire body.

Music
Musical effects accompanying the dramatic action, emphasizing key moments and creating different emotional atmospheres. The music may be specially composed for the production or taken from existing works, and it may be recorded or performed live by musicians or by the actors.

Preset
This is the process of setting out and checking all properties, costumes and set pieces before each performance and making sure they are in place on the stage and in the wings.

Production
All the concrete, technical aspects involved in mounting a production. This work is done as the production is taking shape. During production meetings technicians determine how they are going to achieve the desired effects while staying on budget, on schedule, and by observing safety standards.

© NAC photo by Mireille Brullemans
Facade of the Théâtre Denise-Pelletier in Montreal.

Properties (Props)
Objects used onstage by the actors: a newspaper, a stick, a chair, and so on. A prop can serve as a symbol. For example, a stick may be merely a stick, but it can also be a sword, a helicopter rotor or an imaginary partner.

Publicity
Everything that is done to encourage the public to come to the show, including advertising, interviews and posters.

Reading
The first rehearsal is often a read-through with the whole cast present. A rehearsed reading is one performed before an audience.

Repertoire
The whole collection of plays that are staged often or considered masterpieces. Can also mean categories of plays (classical theatre, Québécois theatre, children’s theatre).

Review

Report by a reviewer or critic in the written or electronic media assessing a production so that potential spectators can decide whether they want to see it. Ideally, a critic should have the training and experience to be able to appraise the production and put it in perspective, but this is not often the case.

Revue
Show with sketches and songs, political satire and bawdy jokes, referring to current events or celebrities.

Scrim
Curtain of sheer fabric used to produce revelation effects. When lit from the front, it is opaque. Lit from behind, it becomes transparent.

Script
Text which provides the starting point for the production of a play. It contains both the lines to be spoken and the stage directions suggested by the playwright. The same script can be staged and interpreted in several ways.

Set Design/Staging Design (playing space)
The art of structuring the playing space to suit the director’s conception of a play. May mean the set itself (painted flats, moveable platforms, walls, furniture) or the preparation of the space in which the performance takes place.

Sound Effects
All the sounds created during a performance, including noises (telephone, dog barking) and atmosphere (crowd, storm at sea).

Stage
This term means both the whole playing space and the actual floor of the playing space where the performers work, including the set.

Stage Fright
The terror that overwhelms actors before they make their first entrance. Some performers find it paralysing, some stimulating. All actors have their own ways of coping with it!

Subscription
Pre-season purchase of a seat at a reduced rate for several of the productions to be staged during a theatre’s season.

Translation
The rendering of a script into another language, without additions, cuts or important changes. Since a theatrical script is written to be spoken by the actor, the translator must try to match the style, rhythm and tone chosen by the playwright.

Wings
Off-stage space hidden from the audience, harbouring technicians, properties (props), setpieces and, of course, actors waiting for their entrance cues.

World Premiere
The first time a play is produced on the stage. The French term is création, which can also mean the type of process used in preparing the production. There are different methods of creation and they vary according to the production staged and the company’s artistic choices.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

 
© Archives nationales du Canada, photographe inconnu
Le rôle-titre d’Othello de Shakespeare nécessitait un maquillage élaboré à l’acteur Laurence Olivier lors des représentations au National Theatre de Grande-Bretagne en 1964.

Titre : Othello

Auteur : William Shakespeare

Production : National Theatre, Grande-Bretagne, 1964

Mise en scène : Laurence Olivier

Décor et costumes : Jocelyn Herbert.

Les termes du théâtre

Abonnements

Achat à l’avance d’une place à tarif réduit pour plusieurs spectacles parmi ceux proposés au cours la saison d’un théâtre.

Accessoires

Objet utilisé sur scène par les acteurs, qui peut avoir une valeur symbolique. Par exemple, un journal, un bâton, une chaise. Un bâton peut représenter un bâton, mais il peut aussi être une épée, un rotor d’hélicoptère ou un partenaire imaginaire.

Adaptation
Transformation ou réécriture d’une œuvre. Par exemple, on peut transposer un roman en dialogues et en actions scéniques, faire un montage de plusieurs textes ou modifier une pièce en changeant le contexte, la conclusion ou le nombre de personnages. Voir aussi texte.

Burlesque

Forme de comique outré, souvent farci d’allusions sexuelles, improvisé à partir de situations mettant en conflit des personnages stéréotypés : mari ivrogne, belle-mère acariâtre, jolie fille écervelée, etc.

Compagnie
Groupe qui produit des spectacles en fonction d’une vision artistique ou d’une façon particulière de faire du théâtre. Souvent dirigée par un metteur en scène. Une troupe est une compagnie de théâtre composée de comédiens permanents salariés. Voir aussi directeur artistique et administrateur.

Costumes
Ensemble des vêtements que porte l’acteur sur scène. Par leurs formes, couleurs et textures, ils contribuent à créer l’univers visuel de la pièce et révèlent l’identité des différents personnages (âge, métier, personnalité) ainsi que la relation qui existe entre eux. Voir aussi concepteur de costumes.

Coulisses
Espace hors-scène où se trouvent, invisibles, techniciens, accessoires, éléments de décor et, évidemment, les acteurs qui attendent leur entrée en scène.

© TNM, photo d’Henri Paul
Jean Gascon (1921-1988) dirigeant une répétition de Lorenzaccio d'Alfred de Musset, TNM, 1965.

Création
Désigne soit la première fois qu’une pièce est jouée à la scène, soit le processus de travail qui précède les représentations. Il existe différentes méthodes de création, qui varient en fonction du spectacle et des choix artistiques des compagnies. Voir aussi metteur en scène, texte.

Critique
Compte rendu d’une représentation dans la presse, écrite ou électronique, pour informer le public et guider ses choix. Idéalement, les critiques ont une formation leur permettant de mettre les spectacles en perspective, mais ce n’est pas souvent le cas.

Cue – se prononce « kiou » – (attention)
Signal qui indique aux manipulateurs des consoles de son et d’éclairage à quel moment exécuter chaque effet. Pour l’acteur, c’est généralement la réplique d’un autre acteur qui lui signale quand entrer en scène, dire une réplique ou faire une action. Voir aussi régisseur.

Décor
Voir : scénographie.

Diction
Manière de dire un texte selon certaines règles de prononciation. L’acteur doit maîtriser son articulation, son débit et sa respiration.

Dramaturgie
Voir : recherche dramaturgique.

Éclairage
Effets de lumière qui éclairent les comédiens et l’espace scénique, créant des atmosphères grâce aux différentes intensités, couleurs et jeux d’ombres. Voir aussi concepteur d’éclairages.

Environnement sonore
Ensemble des interventions sonores d’un spectacle, incluant les bruits (téléphone, aboiements) et les atmosphères (foule, tempête en mer). Voir aussi concepteur d’environnement sonore.

Italienne
Répétition faite d’une voix neutre, à toute vitesse et sans émotion, pour permettre la mémorisation ou la révision du texte.

Lecture
Les répétitions commencent souvent par la première lecture, qui réunit toute l’équipe. Une mise en lecture est une lecture-spectacle, devant public. Voir aussi auteur.

Maquillage
Produits appliqués sur le visage de l’acteur pour en accentuer ou en modifier les traits (vieillissement, déformation, cicatrice, moustache).Voir aussi concepteur de maquillage.

Masque
Fait de cuir, de papier mâché ou de résine, c’est le visage d’un personnage ou d’un dieu, comme Arlequin ou Méduse. En revêtant le masque, l’acteur entre dans la peau du personnage. Dans le jeu masqué, le corps tout entier traduit les émotions.

Mise en scène
Art de créer un spectacle à partir d’un texte, dont on propose une interprétation. Cette idée directrice permet d’orchestrer le travail de l’équipe et d’agencer les différentes composantes de la représentation (décor, style de jeu, mise en place, musique…).

Musique
Interventions musicales, qui accompagnent l’action dramatique, soulignant les moments forts et créant différentes ambiances. Composée spécialement pour le spectacle ou empruntée à des œuvres existantes, la musique peut être enregistrée ou jouée en direct par des musiciens ou des acteurs. Voir aussi compositeur de musique.

Plateau
Désigne à la fois le plancher de la scène et l’espace scénique où évoluent les acteurs, incluant le décor. Voir aussi régisseur de plateau.

Préparation du plateau (preset)
Avant chaque représentation, organisation de la scène et des coulisses pour que tous les accessoires, costumes et éléments scéniques soient en place.

Production
Ensemble des aspects concrets et techniques de la réalisation d’un spectacle. Parallèlement au travail de conception, les réunions de production permettent à l’équipe de passer de l’idée à la réalité, en respectant budgets, échéanciers et normes de sécurité.Voir aussi directeur de production.

Promotion
Ce qui est fait pour inciter le public à venir assister au spectacle, incluant la publicité, les entrevues, les affiches. Voir aussi directeur des communications.

© CNA photo de Mireille Brullemans
Façade du théâtre Denise-Pelletier à Montréal.

Public
Désigne soit la clientèle d’un théâtre, soit l’ensemble des spectateurs réunis dans la salle. Sans public, le théâtre n’existe pas !

Recherche dramaturgique / Dramaturgie
Travail de documentation et de réflexion qui permet de mieux connaître et comprendre une pièce. La lecture de textes sur le contexte historique, l’auteur, les enjeux ou encore des recherches parallèles (images, pièces musicales, films) influencent la mise en scène. Voir aussi conseiller dramaturgique.

Répertoire
Ensemble de pièces considérées comme des chefs-d’œuvre ou fréquemment montées. Peut aussi désigner des catégories de pièces (répertoire classique, québécois, théâtre jeunesse).

Répétition générale
Dernière répétition avant le début des représentations. Enchaînement sans interruption, avec tous les éléments du spectacle, comme s’il y avait du public.

Revue
Spectacle alliant dialogues et chansons, satire politique et plaisanteries grivoises, portant sur l’actualité ou des personnalités connues.

Salle (lieu théâtral)
Espace dans lequel se donne une représentation, disposant d’une aire de jeu (scène) et d’une aire pour le public. Ce peut être dans un théâtre ou dans un lieu aménagé provisoirement pour un spectacle (une usine, un loft, un cimetière). Voir aussi L’architecture théâtrale.

Scénographie (espace scénique) / Décor
Art de mettre en forme l’espace théâtral en fonction d’une pièce et de sa mise en scène. Peut désigner l’ensemble des éléments d’un décor (toiles peintes, praticables, murs, mobilier) ou l’aménagement du lieu dans lequel se déroule le spectacle. Voir aussi scénographe.

Texte
Oeuvre écrite qui sert de point de départ à la réalisation d’un spectacle. C’est à la fois le texte à dire (répliques) et les indications scéniques proposées par l’auteur (didascalies). Il y a plusieurs façons de mettre en scène un texte, de l’interpréter.

Trac
Sentiment d’appréhension, paralysant ou stimulant, qui s’empare de l’acteur avant son entrée sur scène. Chacun trouve sa méthode pour l’apprivoiser !

Traduction
Transcription d’un texte dans une autre langue, sans ajouts, coupures ou modifications importantes. Puisque le texte de théâtre est écrit pour être dit par l’acteur, il faut tenir compte du style, du rythme et des sonorités choisies par l’auteur. Voir aussi traducteur.

Troupe
Voir : compagnie.

Tulle
Rideau de tissu léger qui permet d’obtenir des effets d’apparitions. Éclairé de face, il est opaque, éclairé par derrière, il devient transparent.