This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Produced by National Arts Centre Théâtre français
© Bernd Uhlig
Seen from stage left: hall, seats, stage with set, and backstage area, Russian Army Theatre in Moscow, 1994.

Title: Orestes

Playwright: Aeschylus

Production:

Director: Peter Stein.

Professional Theatre Production

There are similarities in the way Canada’s French-language theatre companies produce plays, but there are also differences, depending on each company’s age and budgets. In any professional production, there are several stages leading up to performance.

The Theatre's Season

The artistic director, often assisted by an artistic committee, decides what productions will make up the theatre’s program each year. The season is chosen to fulfill the company’s artistic commitment and its audience’s expectations. To select a season the director must read an impressive number of plays, both new and old. The director often encounters local scripts at public or rehearsed readings staged by the Centre des auteurs dramatiques (CEAD). Sometimes a playwright or director will suggest a play for the artistic director’s consideration.

Once the scripts have been chosen, the theatre must find directors and design teams to stage them. Generally, the director chooses the designers who will work on a production. However, the theatre’s artistic director has considerable influence, and to a lesser degree, so might the playwright.

Guest company? Co-production?

Major theatres like the Théâtre du Nouveau Monde (TNM) and the Trident have their own space and produce the plays that make up their season. Others, like the National Arts Centre (NAC) French Theatre and the Cercle Molière, stage their own productions but also host productions by touring companies. Such touring companies are said to have been invited to a theatre. Some theatres offer entire seasons of guest productions. Occasionally some works are staged as co-productions in the theatre where they play, or they may spend several days there as part of a tour. Sometimes an institution and a company that has been invited several times develop an artistic affinity. The two parties then agree to form a relationship in which the company is termed a resident company. Although guest or resident companies (e.g. the Théâtre PàP at Espace Go), are answerable to the institution that hosts them, they often enjoy great freedom with the artistic content of their productions. Co-productions between a theatre and a smaller company are also frequent. Sometimes institutions in two different cities may co-produce a show.

Production Schedule

Once the theatre’s season is chosen and the dates are set, the production manager works out the schedule for each production and sets the deadlines for each team. The schedule tells the set and costume designers, the music, sound and lighting directors, the make-up designer, the actors, singers and musicians (if any) what deadlines they must meet. These people are not the only ones who must keep to this schedule. The production manager, the assistant director, the communications officers, those responsible for subscriptions (season tickets) and the theatre’s administrator must also organize their work to fit into this schedule.

The First Reading

The first reading is an important event in the production of a play. All the craftspeople involved in the production gather to listen to the actors read the script aloud for the first time. At this time, the director presents the basic concept of his or her direction. The initial contacts are made among the actors, the script, and the various designers; ideas begin to sprout. This stage is equivalent to the birth of a theatrical production. There may be a hiatus between the reading and the full start of the rehearsal period to allow the actors more time to think about their characters.

Rehearsals

In the rehearsal hall, the actors start by working at the director’s table, where the director discusses the issues in the script they are going to stage. This is when the actors start getting acquainted with their roles and the director explains his or her concept of the characters and the play as a whole. The dramaturge may attend or take part in this phase. Next the play’s various scenes are broken down so that the director can work only with the actors needed in each scene. The scenes are played again and again, until the actors find the manner, tone and intention that suit their characters and the situation. The director and cast usually have six to eight weeks to rehearse.

The designers attend rehearsals at various times throughout the rehearsal period. The costume designer takes the actors’ measurements. The sound designer plays for the actors the music that will accompany them. The set designer shows them the maquette or model of the set on which they will be working. Depending on the directorial choices, fight coordinators, and singing, diction and dance coaches provide special training for the actors.

Design Work

Some theatres (e.g. TNM, NAC) have material and equipment on hand for designers to use. If this is not the case then designers need to rent, buy or construct the items they need. Few theatres in Canada are as fortunate as the National Arts Centre, which has space onsite for constructing costumes or building sets. Generally, these jobs are completed in workshops outside the theatre, with the help of the valuable specialists who work there.

Promoting the Show

As the artists prepare the production, a whole team works to promote it. Communications and marketing officers see to media publicity (newspapers, television, radio, Internet), and take care of producing posters, flyers and programs. The administrators and the communications director have worked for a long time on many applications for grants and sponsorships to obtain the funds needed to produce the shows. Others have worked to develop the audience and manage subscriptions (season ticket sales). There are a huge number of administrative tasks to be done in a theatre and each one is vital if the season is to run properly. There are press attachés making sure the productions have good coverage in the media by contacting journalists and setting up interviews with the director and the actors. When a production is popular with the audience or the critics, the run may be extended or there may even be a revival.

Transfer to stage

When the cast and crews move into the auditorium, the designers’ work joins the actors’ work on the stage. Once the lighting and sound levels are set, the company is ready for the technical run-through. This is when the work of the various designers is tested. Fortunately, opening night is still one or two weeks away. All the artists and technicians working on the show use this time to polish the details and solve any problems. At the dress rehearsal, the actors play the piece with the final version of all designs. This is the final test, the last chance to experiment before opening night.

Grant Sources

Most professional theatres in Canada are private, non-profit organizations; they are eligible for grants from the Canada Council for the Arts and provincial bodies such as the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Ontario Arts Council or the New Brunswick Arts Board. Some cities and municipalities such as Montréal, Québec City, Caraquet, Ottawa and Toronto have bodies which subsidize the arts.

Canada

Canada Council for the Arts
http://www.canadacouncil.ca/

Alberta

Alberta Foundation for the Arts
http://www.affta.ab.ca

British Columbia

British Columbia Arts Council
http://www.bcartscouncil.ca/

Theatre grants programs:
http://www.bcartscouncil.ca/programs/program.php?active_page=760

Manitoba

Manitoba Arts Council
http://db.cht.gov.mb.ca/

New Brunswick

New-Brunswick Arts Board
http://www.artsnb.ca/

Culture and Sport Secretariat, click on Program for Professional Arts Organizations (PDF format): http://www.gnb.ca/0007/arts/

Ontario

Ontario Arts Council
http://www.arts.on.ca

Search for theatre grants:
http://www.arts.on.ca/userfiles/HTML/nts_1_362_1.html

Québec

Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ):
http://www.calq.gouv.qc.ca/index_en.htm [website in French]

Grant programs for theatre:
http://www.calq.gouv.qc.ca/artistes/theatre_en.htm

Saskatchewan

Saskatchewan Arts Board
http://www.artsboard.sk.ca/

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

 
© Bernd Uhlig
Vu de la coulisse côté cour : salle, sièges et scène avec décor et arrière-scène au Théâtre de l'armée russe à Moscou, 1994.

Titre : L'Orestie

Auteur : Eschyle

Production :

Mise en scène : Peter Stein.

La production professionnelle d’un spectacle de théâtre

Dans les compagnies francophones du Canada, la production d’un spectacle comporte des similitudes, mais elle présente aussi des différences selon l’âge et les budgets de l’organisme. Plusieurs étapes mènent à la production professionnelle d’un spectacle de théâtre.

La programmation d’un théâtre

Le directeur artistique, souvent aidé d’un comité artistique, décide des spectacles qui vont constituer la programmation annuelle d’un théâtre. Il prépare une saison qui répond à l’engagement artistique de son institution et qui répond aux attentes des spectateurs. Pour ce faire, il doit lire une quantité impressionnante de pièces, nouvelles ou anciennes. Lorsqu’il s’agit d’un texte d’ici, c’est souvent par l’intermédiaire d’une lecture publique du Centre des Auteurs dramatiques (CEAD) que la rencontre se produira. Il arrive parfois qu’un auteur ou un metteur en scène propose une pièce au directeur artistique.

Une fois les textes sélectionnés, il faut trouver metteurs en scène et équipes de création pour les monter. Généralement, le metteur en scène choisit les concepteurs qui vont participer à l’élaboration d’un spectacle. Toutefois, l’auteur et surtout le directeur artistique peuvent faire valoir leurs préférences.

Compagnie invitée ? Co-production ?

Les grands théâtres (ex : Théâtre du Nouveau Monde (TNM), Trident) possèdent leur propre lieu et produisent les spectacles de leur saison. D’autres théâtres (ex : le Théâtre français du Centre national des Arts (CNA), Cercle Molière), en plus des spectacles qu’ils produisent, accueillent les projets déjà élaborés par des compagnies itinérantes. On dit de ces compagnies qu’elles sont invitées dans un théâtre. Plusieurs lieux offrent des saisons complètes de spectacles invités. Certaines oeuvres seront parfois créées en co-production dans le théâtre qui les accueille ou alors elles y passeront quelques jours dans le cadre d’une tournée. Il arrive qu’une affinité artistique se développe entre une institution et une compagnie invitée à plusieurs reprises. Les deux parties conviennent alors d’un partenariat que l’on appelle la résidence. Les compagnies invitées ou en résidence (ex : le Théâtre PàP à l’Espace Go), bien qu’elles aient des comptes à rendre à l’institution qui les accueille, bénéficient souvent d’une carte blanche pour le contenu artistique de leurs spectacles. Les co-productions entre un théâtre et une compagnie plus petite sont assez courantes. Il arrive également que des institutions établies dans deux villes différentes co-produisent un même spectacle.

Le calendrier de production

Une fois la programmation d’un théâtre déterminée et le calendrier de la saison fixé, le directeur de production établit l’échéancier pour chaque production ; il fixe les délais qui correspondent au travail de chacune des équipes. Les concepteurs du décor, des costumes, de la musique, de la bande sonore, des éclairages, des maquillages, les acteurs, les chanteurs et les musiciens (si c’est le cas) trouvent dans ce calendrier les échéances qu’ils doivent respecter. Ils ne sont pas les seuls à devoir se fier à cet horaire, le directeur de production, l’assistant metteur en scène, les agents de communications, les responsables des abonnements et l’administrateur du théâtre doivent eux aussi articuler leur travail en fonction des dates dictées par cet échéancier.

La première lecture représente un événement important dans la production d’un spectacle. Tous les artisans de la production se réunissent pour entendre les acteurs lire le texte à voix haute pour la première fois. Le metteur en scène présente le concept de base de sa mise en scène. Les premiers contacts se font entre les acteurs, le texte et les différents concepteurs ; les idées commencent à germer. Cette étape équivaut à l’acte de naissance d’une production théâtrale. Un délai, qui permet aux comédiens de réfléchir plus longtemps à leur personnage, peut s’écouler entre la lecture, et le début des répétitions.

En salle de répétition, les comédiens procèdent tout d’abord à un travail de table où le metteur en scène discute des enjeux que présente le texte qu’il va monter. À ce moment, les acteurs commencent à apprivoiser leurs rôles et le metteur en scène exprime sa vision des personnages et de la pièce dans son ensemble. Le conseiller dramaturgique peut assister ou participer à cette étape. Les acteurs entrent ensuite dans une autre phase du travail de répétition. Un découpage des différentes scènes de la pièce permet de travailler avec les acteurs concernés par chacune des scènes. Les scènes sont rejouées sans cesse, jusqu’à ce qu’on trouve la manière, le ton et l’intention convenant au personnage et à la situation. Les acteurs et le metteur en scène bénéficient généralement de six à huit semaines pour mener le spectacle à terme.

Les concepteurs font quelques visites aux acteurs durant les répétitions. Le concepteur de costumes va prendre les mensurations des comédiens. Le concepteur d’environnement sonore viendra leur faire entendre les musiques qui accompagneront leur jeu. Le scénographe viendra présenter la maquette du décor dans lequel ils évolueront. Selon les choix de la mise en scène, des spécialistes du chant, des combats, de la diction ou de la danse viendront offrir un entraînement particulier aux acteurs.

Dans certains théâtres (ex : TNM, CNA), les concepteurs disposent de matériel appartenant à l’institution. Ailleurs, il faudra louer, acheter ou construire les éléments nécessaires aux différents concepteurs. Peu de théâtres au Canada disposent d’un lieu consacré à la réalisation des costumes ou des décors (le Centre national des Arts a cette chance). Généralement, des ateliers externes, où travaillent de précieux spécialistes, permettent de mener les projets à terme.

Parallèlement au travail des artistes, toute une équipe travaille à la promotion des spectacles. Des agents de communication et marketing se chargent de faire la publicité des productions auprès des médias (journaux, télévision, radio, Internet). Ils voient aussi à la réalisation de l’affiche, des dépliants, des programmes. Pour obtenir les fonds nécessaires à la réalisation des spectacles, des administrateurs et le responsable des communications ont depuis longtemps travaillé aux diverses demandes de subventions et commandites. D’autres ont œuvré au développement de public et à la gestion des abonnements. Les tâches administratives à accomplir au sein d’un théâtre sont aussi innombrables qu’essentielles à la bonne marche de la saison. De leur côté, les attachés de presse doivent s’assurer que les spectacles bénéficient d’une bonne visibilité dans les médias. Ils contactent les journalistes afin de les inciter à rencontrer le metteur en scène et les acteurs. Si la production remporte les faveurs du public ou de la critique, des supplémentaires ou même une reprise seront envisagées.

L’entrée en salle

Avec l’entrée en salle, s’unissent le travail des concepteurs et des acteurs sur le plateau. Après le réglage des intensités de son et d’éclairage, vient l’heure de l’enchaînement technique. À ce moment, le travail des différents concepteurs est mis à l’épreuve. Heureusement, il reste encore une ou deux semaines avant la première. Cette période va servir à tous les artisans du spectacle pour parfaire les détails et corriger les problèmes. Pour la répétition générale, les acteurs jouent la pièce avec la version définitive de toutes les conceptions. Il s’agit du test ultime, de la dernière occasion d’expérimenter avant le soir de la première.

Sources de subvention

La plupart des théâtres professionnels au Canada sont des entreprises privées à but non lucratif ; ils sont admissibles à des subventions du Conseil des arts du Canada et d’instances provinciales comme le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, le Ontario Arts Council ou le Conseil des arts du Nouveau-Brunswick. Certaines villes et municipalités, par exemple Montréal, Québec, Caraquet, Ottawa et Toronto sont dotées d’organismes qui subventionnent les arts.

Canada

Conseil des Arts du Canada

Alberta
Alberta Foundation for the Arts [site web en anglais]

Colombie-britannique
British Columbia Arts Council [site web en anglais]

Programmes de subventions en théâtre :
http://www.bcartscouncil.ca/programs/program.php?active_page=760 [site web en anglais]

Manitoba
Manitoba Arts Council – Conseil des arts du Manitoba

Nouveau-Brunswick
Conseil des arts du Nouveau-Brunswick – New-Brunswick Arts Board

Secrétariat à la culture et aux sports, cliquer sur programmes pour les organismes artistiques professionnels (en format PDF) : http://www.gnb.ca/0007/arts/index-f.asp

Ontario
Conseil des arts de l’Ontario – Ontario Arts Council

Recherche - subventions pour les théâtres :
http://www.arts.on.ca/userfiles/HTML/nts_1_363_2.html

Québec
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ)

Programmes de subvention en théâtre :
http://www.calq.gouv.qc.ca/artistes/theatre.htm

Saskatchewan
Saskatchewan Arts Board [site web en anglais]

Subventions :
http://www.artsboard.sk.ca/Grants/grants.shtml