This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Produced by National Arts Centre Théâtre français
33
© Simon Ménard
Michel Bérubé and Valérie Cantin in Au moment de sa disparition by Jean-Frédéric Messier, Théâtre le Clou, 2000.

Title: Au moment de sa disparition

Production: Théâtre le Clou, 2000.

Playwright: Jean-Frédéric Messier

Director: Benoît Vermeulen

Lighting: Mathieu Marcil

Set design and maquettes: Raymond-Marius Boucher

Video production: Benoît Prégent and Jean-Philippe Rossi

Music: Sylvain Scott.

Putting on a play: step-by-step

The dream

An idea has been simmering in the back of your mind for quite some time and it’s becoming an obsession. Day and night you dream of strange characters, multi-coloured costumes, high emotions and cheering audiences. You dream of theatre, of putting on a show that bears your mark. You have things to say and you want to share them. So go for it! If you have a strong desire to do it then you already have the basic ingredient that you need to jump right in. Passion and enthusiasm are your strongest assets in making this dream a reality.                                            

The team

Putting on a play takes a great deal of work, organization and time. From the page to the stage, there are challenges to be met in producing a play. You must find a team, a script, a theatre; build sets, make costumes, organize rehearsals, and direct the actors. But where do you begin?

You must start by sharing your dream. Tell anyone and everyone about your plan. Someone may know someone who knows someone who… In other words, word-of-mouth works! If people seem interested in getting involved then let them know that you are open to new opinions and ideas. Emphasize the fun you will have working together. A great team is formed when people pool their talents (and make compromises!) to achieve a common goal.

The theatre director guides the vision for the creative team’s work. The division of tasks for this team should match, as much as possible, each contributor’s interests and aptitudes. Appoint people to take charge of sets, costumes, music, etc. but emphasize that everyone should pitch in where needed, including painting sets and cleaning the brushes afterward!

The venue           

Once your team is in place don’t wait to establish a performance date and venue. The dream suddenly becomes very real when you start inviting people to the show! Knowing exactly how much time you have to prepare for the big night provides a healthy dose of motivation (and sometimes a bit of anxiety!) for the whole team.

When looking for a venue, turn to your community. Ask for support from your school, community centre, or youth centre, as they may be able to lend you working space or an auditorium. Persevere and you will discover that many people will give you a hand when they see how committed you are to your project.

The script

Finding a script can be a long and demanding task so start the process early on. While the chosen script should please everyone, it must also be within your scope. When you are starting out look for a play that will be easy to stage and fairly short, that way you will have more time to fine tune every detail. Here’s a tip: You should estimate about one minute of stage time per page of script.

Be realistic when casting your production. It’s rare that a play has the same number of actors as there are roles. This means that actors often play more than one role. Doubling, as it is called, is a challenge and can be great fun!

The direction

Once you have found your script, re-read it carefully and start thinking about how you want to direct it. What principal idea do you want to come across? How can that idea be evoked? Discuss the script’s stage directions extensively with the set designer and make note of everything including the number of sets, the set pieces and the props. Determine the essentials and distinguish them from the superfluous: directing a play is about making choices, and choosing means eliminating. Your motto should be simplify and evoke. Be creative. You don’t have to build complicated sets. You can transport your audience to the desert with a handful of sand, or to Africa with the sound of traditional drums. Theatre is the realm of the imaginary and evocation reigns queen. You do not need to show everything; words are often enough.

The schedule

You have your team, your script and a good idea of what you want to do with them. Now you must start preparing for opening night! Draw up a list of everything to be done before the time comes: sets, costumes, props, music, etc. Make the list carefully because you must think of every detail. Assign these tasks and schedule their completion over the weeks before you open. Guided by this production schedule, you will be able to assess the actual size of the project and your team’s chances of surviving the experience. Be realistic. If the schedule seems too heavy, simplify. A few tips: you can change a setting by re-positioning a set piece; one prop can be used to serve several purposes; some costumes can be made by altering existing garments instead of constructing them from scratch.

The rehearsals

You have cast the play? Terrific! Now you can start rehearsals. Draft a schedule that extends right up to the performance run. Count at least one rehearsal hour per page of script. If you have several months to do the job, you can start with one or two two-to-three-hour-long rehearsals per week, then increase that length in the final weeks.

In the first rehearsals, do readings. In an informal read through session the director will have a chance to explain to the cast and crew his or her concept of the script and the characters. As an actor, start learning your lines at once and start building your character: imagine his or her life and how that person would move, speak and react. The actor’s job is to do more than just learn lines by heart!

Devote a few rehearsals to improvisation to explore the characters, their relationships and the situations in the script. Then move on to the blocking: scene by scene, set the actors’ moves on the stage. From time to time, invite the whole team to a rehearsal. The team will be motivated to see how the show is progressing.

Reserve the last two weeks for run-throughs: perform the whole show without interruption. This is the time to detect and fix small technical problems like too little time between scenes for a costume change, music at the wrong level, actors not projecting loud enough to be heard from the back rows, set changes that take too long, etc.

Hold a dress rehearsal the day before you open.

Now that the opening is almost upon you get a good rest and smile! You are ready and the audience will love it!!!

Script sources

Electronic directories:

* unless otherwise specified, all websites below are in French

The sites below contain directories teeming with information about scripts and their playwrights. You can use them to do detailed research (play type, length, number of characters) to track down a script that meets your needs.

  • Association québécoise des auteurs dramatiques (AQAD) : http://www.aqad.qc.ca
  • Fédération Québécoise de Théâtre d’Amateur : http://www.artscite.com/fqta
  • Mascarille 2001 : CD ROM database containing close to 30 000 theatrical works written in or translated into French.
  • Dedicated to promoting Québec and French-Canadian play writing, the Centre des auteurs dramatiques (CEAD) has a documentation centre. There is no charge for consulting their scripts on the premises. However, only members (membership fee charged) may borrow unpublished scripts. The CEAD also offers published plays for sale.
  • Centre des auteurs dramatiques : http://www.cead.qc.ca
  • Centre de documentation du CEAD
    3450 St. Urbain St.
    Montréal
    (514) 288-3384
    cead@cead.qc.ca

Virtual libraries :

Scripts exempt from royalties. Print them free of charge!

  • http://jydupuis.apinc.org/
  • http://www.toutmoliere.net/
  • Virtual library of the Association québécoise des auteurs dramatiques (AQAD): http://www.adelinc.qc.ca (over 300 titles can be read on screen or printed at a reasonable price).
  •  

    Specialized libraries

    Specialized libraries have almost everything! However, you must have a subscription (renewed annually) to consult or borrow books.

    • Library of the National Theatre School of Canada, 5030 St. Denis St., Montréal, (514) 842-7954, ext.125.
    • Bibliothèque du Conservatoire d’Art Dramatique de Québec, 12 Sainte-Anne St., Québec City, (418) 643-9184.

    Frequently Asked Questions

    What are royalties?

    Unless the playwright died more than fifty years ago, you absolutely must contact the playwright (or playwright’s agent) to obtain authorization to stage the play and negotiate the amount of royalties to be paid. You can find all the relevant information on the Association québécoise des auteurs dramatiques (AQAD) site:  http://www.aqad.qc.ca.

    What if I want to write my own script?

    You’ll need some good ideas and a lot of patience. Scripts always need rewrites. Keep a journal and note all of your ideas. Go back to your journal if you get writer’s block. Write the main lines of the story (beginning, main plot developments, resolution). Expand the characters and the situations, then break down your story into scenes. Start writing the dialogue. In theatre, words convey everything. You can also write as a group: this is called a collective creation.

    Visit ArtsAlive.ca English Theatre for some script-writing activitites to get you going!

    How can I avoid nasty surprises on opening night?

    Be prepared! Think of all the little challenges that could arise, and prepare for them.

    • During rehearsals, go and sit in the back of the house. You must be able to hear every line.
    • Make copies of your CDs containing audio tracks.
    • In the wings keep an emergency kit containing needles and thread, copies of the script, bottles of water, a first aid kit.
    • Tell the company to be at the theatre two hours before curtain.
    • Organize the box office and lobby

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

 
© Simon Ménard
Michel Bérubé et Valérie Cantin dans la pièce de Jean-Frédéric Messier Au moment de sa disparition, Théâtre le Clou, 2000.

Titre : Au moment de sa disparition

Production : Théâtre le Clou, 2000.

Auteur : Jean-Frédéric Messier

Mise en scène : Benoît Vermeulen

Éclairages : Mathieu Marcil

Scénographie et maquettes : Raymond-Marius Boucher

Réalisation des vidéos : Benoît Prégent et Jean-Philippe Rossi

Musique : Sylvain Scott.

Le processus de création étape par étape

Vous voulez monter une pièce !

Depuis quelques temps déjà, une idée s’anime dans un recoin de votre tête... et sa présence envahit vos pensées. De nuit comme de jour, vos rêveries se peuplent de personnages étranges, de costumes bigarrés, d’émotions intenses et de foules en délire. Vous rêvez de théâtre, de créer un spectacle qui vous ressemblerait. Vous avez des choses à dire, et vous avez envie de les partager. Et bien, allez-y : foncez ! Si un projet vous tient à cœur, vous possédez déjà l’essentiel pour vous lancer dans une aventure palpitante. Votre ferveur et votre enthousiasme sont vos meilleurs atouts pour faire de votre rêve une réalité.

L'équipe

Monter un spectacle nécessite une somme importante de travail, d’organisation et de temps. Du rêve aux représentations, que de défis à relever ! Trouver une équipe, un texte, une salle, réaliser des décors, des costumes, organiser des répétitions, diriger les acteursPar où commencer ?

Dans un art collectif comme le théâtre, la première chose à faire est de partager votre rêve. Parlez de votre projet avec dynamisme pas seulement à vos meilleurs amis, mais à tous ceux que vous croisez : peut-être connaissent-ils quelqu’un qui connaît quelqu’un qui... Le bouche-à-oreille, ça fonctionne ! Certains semblent intéressés ? Montrez-vous ouverts aux opinions et aux idées nouvelles. Insistez sur le plaisir que vous aurez à travailler ensemble. Une équipe se forme avec des gens différents qui mettent en commun leurs talents (et font des compromis !) pour réaliser un projet collectif.

Au théâtre, le metteur en scène propose une vision du spectacle qui unira le travail de tous les créateurs. Entendez-vous dès le départ sur la répartition des tâches ; autant que possible, distribuez-les en fonction des goûts et des aptitudes de chacun. Nommez des responsables (décors, costumes, musique, etc.) mais mettez l’accent sur l’entraide : il faut que chacun mette la main à la pâte… et parfois dans la peinture !

Où et Quand ?

Votre équipe commence à prendre forme ? Fixez rapidement le lieu et la date de vos représentations. Le rêve devient concret quand on commence les invitations ! Vous aurez l’heure juste sur le temps dont vous disposez pour être prêts le grand soir. C’est une grande source de motivation (et parfois d’anxiété !) pour toute l’équipe.

Tournez-vous vers votre communauté : demandez l’appui de votre école, du centre communautaire, de la maison de jeunes. Peut-être peuvent-ils vous prêter des locaux ou même une salle ? Soyez persévérants et vous constaterez que beaucoup de gens vous donneront un coup de main s’ils voient à quel point votre projet vous passionne.

Le texte

Trouver un texte peut s’avérer assez long et ardu. Commencez cette importante étape très tôt. Si la pièce choisie doit plaire à tous, elle doit aussi répondre à vos besoins. Cherchez une pièce simple à réaliser et plutôt courte, vous aurez ainsi davantage de temps pour en fignoler les détails. Calculez environ une minute de spectacle par page de texte.

Et surtout, soyez réalistes ; rares sont les pièces où tous les personnages ont le même nombre de répliques. La solution ? Certains acteurs peuvent jouer plus d’un rôle : c’est un défi stimulant ! Travaillez ensemble : chacun trouvera quelques pièces qu’il évaluera selon des critères établis collectivement. Comparez ensuite vos appréciations des textes. Cependant, restez souples, car le texte parfait n’existe peut-être pas...

La mise en scène

Vous avez trouvé la perle rare ? Relisez la pièce attentivement et commencer à élaborer votre mise en scène. Quelle idée principale voulez-vous faire ressortir du texte ? Comment la représenter ? Avec le scénographe, attardez-vous aux indications scéniques (didascalies) et notez tout : éléments de décor, accessoires, nombre de lieux. Distinguez l’essentiel du superflu : mettre en scène, c’est faire des choix… et choisir, c’est renoncer ! Ayez des objectifs réalistes par rapport aux moyens et au temps dont vous disposez. Votre mot d’ordre : simplifier et suggérer. Soyez créatifs. Plutôt que de vous lancer dans des constructions complexes, transportez votre public dans le désert avec une poignée de sable ou en Afrique au rythme des percussions traditionnelles. Le théâtre est le royaume de l’imaginaire et l’évocation en est la reine : tout n’a pas besoin d’être montré, souvent les mots suffisent.

Le calendrier de production

Vous avez votre équipe, votre texte et une bonne idée de ce que vous voulez en faire... Maintenant vous devez vous organiser pour être prêts le soir de la première ! Dressez la liste de tout ce que vous devez accomplir d’ici là : décors, costumes, accessoires, musique, etc. Attention, il faut prévoir tous les détails. Répartissez ensuite ces tâches entre vous et dans les semaines qui vous séparent des représentations. À la lumière de ce calendrier de production, vous pourrez juger de l’ampleur réelle du projet... et de la capacité de votre équipe à survivre à l’expérience ! Soyez réalistes. Si le calendrier semble trop chargé, simplifiez ! Quelques trucs : déplacez un élément de décor pour changer de lieu, réutilisez le même accessoire, limitez la couture en recyclant de vieux vêtements…

Les répétitions

Vous avez réglé la distribution des rôles ? Formidable, vous pouvez commencer vos répétitions. Faites en l’horaire jusqu’aux représentations. Calculez au minimum une heure de répétition par page du texte. Si vous disposez de plusieurs mois de travail, vous pouvez commencer au rythme d’une ou deux répétitions par semaine – deux ou trois heures chacune – et augmenter dans les dernières semaines.

Aux premières répétitions, faites des lectures. Le metteur en scène aura ainsi l’occasion de partager sa vision du texte et des personnages. Commencez immédiatement à apprendre votre texte et à créer votre personnage : imaginez sa vie, sa manière de bouger, de parler, de réagir. Le travail de l’acteur n’est pas seulement d’apprendre son texte par cœur !

Consacrez quelques répétitions à des improvisations pour explorer les personnages, leurs relations et les situations du texte. Ensuite, passez à la mise en place : scène par scène, fixez les déplacements des acteurs sur le plateau. De temps à autre, invitez toute l’équipe aux répétitions : c’est motivant de voir le travail progresser !

Approfondissez l’interprétation et peaufinez les détails. Réservez les deux dernières semaines à des enchaînements : faites le spectacle au complet, sans vous arrêter. C’est le moment de repérer et de corriger les petits problèmes techniques : temps pour les changements de costumes entre deux scènes, volume de la musique, voix des acteurs assez forte pour être entendue partout dans la salle, déplacements des décors, etc.

Juste avant le jour, faites une répétition générale : c’est presque la première... Reposez-vous bien et souriez! Vous êtes prêts, le public va adorer !!!

Ressources pour trouver un texte

Répertoires électroniques :

Les sites suivants proposent différents répertoires fourmillant d’information sur les textes et leurs auteurs. Vous pourrez y faire une recherche détaillée (genre, durée, nombre de personnages) et dénicher un texte adapté à vos besoins.

  • Association québécoise des auteurs dramatiques (AQAD)
  • Fédération Québécoise de Théâtre d’Amateur (FQTA)
  • Cédérom Mascarille 2001 : base de données regroupant près de 30 000 oeuvres théâtrales de langue française ou traduites. La version la plus récente (4.3) est maintenant disponible.
  • Voué à la promotion des dramaturgies québécoise et franco-canadienne, le CEAD possède un centre de documentation : vous pouvez y consulter gratuitement les textes. Cependant, l’emprunt des textes inédits est réservé aux membres (frais d’adhésion). Vous pouvez aussi y acheter les pièces publiées.
  • Centre des Auteurs Dramatiques
    Centre de documentation du CEAD
    3450, rue Saint-Urbain
    Montréal
    (514) 288-3384
    cead@cead.qc.ca

Bibliothèques virtuelles :

Textes exempts de droits. Imprimez-les gratuitement !

Librairie virtuelle de l’AQAD : (plus de 300 titres, lecture à l’écran et impression à prix abordable).

 

Bibliothèques spécialisées :

Vous y trouverez pratiquement tout! Cependant, l’abonnement est requis pour la consultation et l’emprunt (frais annuels).

  • Bibliothèque de l’École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada, 5030, rue Saint-Denis, Montréal, (514) 842-7954, poste 125.
  • Bibliothèque du Conservatoire d’Art Dramatique de Québec, 12, rue Sainte-Anne, Québec, (418) 643-9184.

Questions fréquentes

Les droits d’auteur ?

Sauf s’il est décédé depuis plus de cinquante ans, vous devez absolument rejoindre l’auteur (ou son représentant) pour obtenir l’autorisation de représenter son texte et négocier le montant des droits à payer. Vous trouverez toute l’information pertinente sur le site de l’AQAD.

Et si je veux écrire mon propre texte ?

Vous avez besoin de quelques bonnes idées et de patience... un texte est toujours à retravailler ! Tenez un journal et notez toutes vos idées. Revenez-y en cas de blocage. Écrivez les grandes lignes de l’histoire (début, actions principales, dénouement). Développez les personnages et les situations. Ensuite, découpez votre histoire en scènes. Commencez à rédiger les dialogues : au théâtre tout passe par la parole ! Vous pouvez aussi écrire à plusieurs ; cela s’appelle une création collective.

Comment éviter les mauvaises surprises à la première ?

Soyez prévoyants ! Pensez à tous ces petits pépins qui pourraient survenir... et préparez-vous !

  • Lors des répétitions, assoyez-vous au fond de la salle : vous devez entendre toutes les répliques !
  • Faites un double de vos DC pour la musique et le son.
  • En coulisse, placez une trousse d’urgence : fil et aiguille, copies du texte, bouteille d’eau, premiers soins...
  • Faites venir l’équipe deux heures avant les représentations.
  • Planifiez l’accueil des spectateurs.

 

haut de la page