This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Produced by National Arts Centre Théâtre français

Contemporary Directors

Peter Brook | Peter Stein | Klaus Michael Grüber | Bob Wilson | Anatoli Vassiliev
Patrice Chéreau | Frank Castorf | Peter Sellars | Deborah Warner | Thomas Ostermeier

Peter Brook (b. 1925)

© Pascal Victor
Peter Brook

Peter Brook’s daring productions contributed significantly to the 20th century’s avant-garde stage. His reinterpretations of Shakespeare and such works as Marat/Sade (1964) and The Cherry Orchard  (1981) contained penetrating insights into human nature and a playfulness that juxtaposed the grandiose and the banal. For this notorious English producer-director, the boundaries between the genres were non-existent: he directed films—many of which reflected his theatrical research—in addition to plays and opera. At the young age of 19 he directed his first play, after which he freely interpreted many of Shakespeare’s works, particularly during his stint as co-director of the Royal Shakespeare Company. By eliminating the sets for King Lear (1962) at the very last second, he placed the entire focus on the actors. In 1970 he settled in Paris, setting up shop in a dilapidated theatre. In Timon of Athens (1974) he embodied the theatrical vision described in his famous essay The Empty Space, revealing the richness of simplicity in stage design. His interest in Eastern spiritualism led him to produce The Mah?bh?rata (1985) for the Festival d’Avignon, a nine-hour production set in a quarry based on the Indian epic poem.

By Peter Brook :

  • The Empty Space.
  • Le diable c’est l’ennui, Actes Sud - Papiers.
  • Points de suspension: 44 ans d’exploration théâtrale, Seuil.
  • Avec Shakespeare, éditions Actes Sud - Papiers.

On Peter Brook :

  • De Timon d’Athènes à Hamlet de Georges Banu, Flammarion.
  • À la recherche du Mah_bh_rata : carnets de voyage en Inde avec Peter Brook, de Jean-Claude Carrière, collection culture, Musée Kwok On.

top of page

Peter Stein (b. 1937)

© Bernd Uhlig
Peter Stein

The innovative German director Peter Stein excelled in all genres and styles, from opera to comedy. After studies in art history, he became an assistant-director in Munich. He made his directorial debut with a startling production of Edward Bond’s Saved  (1967), which led critics to describe him as Brecht’s true successor. As director of the Schaubühne in Berlinfrom 1970 to 1986, he advocated a form of collective self-management that would make it one of Europe’s most innovative and successful theatres, with a diverse program and high-calibre troupe composed of such prominent actors as Bruno Ganz. His artistic approach begins with extensive textual analyses in collaboration with his actors; his stagings are thus very much collective enterprises. Among his celebrated productions are Gorky’s Summerfolk (1974), Aeschylus's Oresteia (1981) and Chekhov’sThe Three Sisters (1988); he also directed several works by his friend Botho Strauss: The Trilogy of Goodbye (1978), The Park (1985) and Ithaka (1997). In 2000 he staged a version of Goethe’s Faust, which lasted fifteen hours, and featured several actors in the role of Mephisto. Stein has earned international recognition for the breadth of his theatrical vision, the rigour of his research, the inventiveness of his stagecraft, and his ability to continually renew his art. He has taught theatre arts in Berlin since 1996.

© Bernd Uhlig
Orestes by Aeschylus, directed by Peter Stein at the Russian Army Theatre (Moscow), 1994.

Title: Orestes

Playwright: Aeschylus

Director: Peter Stein.

 

top of page

Klaus Michael Grüber (b. 1941)

© Ruth Walz/Schaubühne
Klaus Michael Grüber

After studying acting in Stuttgart for two years, Klaus Michael Grüber began his career in Milan as an assistant to Giorgio Strehler. He made his directorial debut at the Piccolo Teatro in 1967, after which he staged works by Shakespeare, Adamov and Kleist. On occasion, he has preferred poets over playwrights, as demonstrated in his adaptation of Hölderlin’s Empedocles (1975) and Hyperion for his Winter Journey (1977). He then went on to work at the Schaubühne in Berlin and at the Comédie Française in 1984, where he presented an acclaimed production of Racine’sBérénice, in which he encouraged his actors to strip themselves of all emotional baggage. Working as much in Italy and France as in his native Germany, Grüber explores the margins and limits of theatre, abandoning traditional venues for such sites as rehearsal halls, chapels or stadiums. His artistic path may appear irregular or irrational but his works are all anchored in the cultural landmarks of the West: Chekhov’sOn the High Road (1984), Büchner’s Danton’s Death (1989), Genet’s The Screens (1994).

top of page

Robert Wilson (b. 1941)

“The body thinks, the mind is a muscle,” declares Robert Wilson, whose images are as startling as they are eerily beautiful. After painting and architecture, this versatile and prolific American artist was drawn to theatre. His work with autistic children was to influence his dramatic approach: slow, almost ceremonial rhythms and a stagecraft analogous to painstaking pictorial composition. In all his works he attaches great importance to our perception of time and to the weight of gestures, often repetitive in nature. With scant interest in psychological issues, Wilson creates characters that move to a rhythm, that rely more on music than text. His multiform works, which include films and videos, have been presented and applauded throughout the world. Since Deafman Glance in 1971, he has staged over sixty theatrical and operatic productions, including Einstein on the Beach (1976), an operatic collaboration with composer Philip Glass, Orlando (1990) based on Virginia Woolf’s novel and featuring Isabelle Huppert, and The Black Rider (1990) with music by Tom Waits and texts by William Burroughs.

On Robert Wilson:

  • « Une expérience directe des choses », interview with Robert Wilson in Mise en scène et Jeu de l’acteur, Tome 2, de Josette Féral, Jeu / Lansman, 1998, p. 331-344 (in French).

top of page

Anatoli Vassiliev (b. 1942)

Anatoli Vassiliev

Those interested in acting theory and research frequently turn to Anatoli Vassiliev. After his university studies, this Russian artist entered the Academy of Dramatic Arts in Moscow; his vision of theatre was thus grounded in both science and art. As a student of Maria Knibel, a practitioner of the techniques of “active analysis,” Vassiliev was exposed to the principles of Stanislavski and such Russian works as Gorky’s Vasa Zelesnova and Slavkine’s The Hoop, which he directed in 1985 after a creative process that lasted three years. Performed in various theatres in Brussels, Rome and Budapest, this production garnered Vassiliev international acclaim. His next production was Pirandello’sSix Characters in Search of an Author, which played at numerous festivals throughout the world. In the early 1990s, he began to direct a number of works abroad, among which was Molière’sAmphitryon (1994) in Paris. An educator who believes in traditional training techniques for actors, as much theoretical as practical, he favours an acting style that is inextricably linked with the text, which is rigorously analyzed beforehand. Vassiliev teaches in both Moscow and Lyon.

© Louise Oligny
Anatoli Vassiliev’s stage direction of Six Characters in Search of an Author by Luigi Pirandello, Moscow Art Theatre School, 1989. Photo: Oleg Belkin.

Title: Six Characters in Search of an Author

Playwright: Luigi Pirandello

Production: Moscow Art Theatre School, 1989

Director: Anatoli Vassiliev.

 

By Anatoli Vassiliev:

  • Sept ou huit leçons de théâtre, P.O.L., Académie expérimentale des théâtres.

On Anatoli Vassiliev:

  • Anatoli Vassiliev, maître de stage, by Jeanne Pigeon, Valérie Dréville et al., Lansman.
  • « Enseigner la tradition » interview with Anatoli Vassiliev in Mise en scène et Jeu de l’acteur, Tome 1, de Josette Féral, Jeu / Lansman, 1997, p. 287-301.

top of page

Patrice Chéreau (b. 1944)

© Pascal Victor
Phèdre (Phaedra) by Jean Racine, directed by Patrice Chéreau, Odéon-Théâtre de l'Europe, 2003. Photo: Dominique Blanc.

Title: Phèdre(Phaedra)

Playwright: Jean Racine

Production: Odéon-Théâtre de l'Europe, 2003

Director: Patrice Chéreau

Set design: Richard Peduzzi

Costumes: Moidele Bickel

Lighting: Dominique Bruguière.

At the age of 21, the French director Patrice Chéreau made a name for himself with his third production: Marivaux’s L’Héritier de village (1965). A sojourn in Italy from 1969 to 1972 (where he worked under the direction of Giorgio Strehler at the Piccolo Teatro) was to have a major influence on his career as a director. His reinterpretation of Marivaux’s La Dispute (1973) was widely praised, as was his cycle of four Wagnerian operas, DerRing des Nibelungen, which he staged in 1976 with conductor Pierre Boulez in Bayreuth, Germany. In 1982 he was appointed co-director of the Théâtre des Amandiers in Nanterre, where he directed most of Bernard-Marie Koltès’ works, which he helped to make famous throughout Europe. In close collaboration with set designer Richard Peduzzi, he has directed works that take advantage of the resources of the Italian stage. Fascinated by contemporary drama, Chéreau is widely regarded as an artist of outstanding creative power, which he demonstrated in such productions as Genet’s Les Paravents (1983), Heiner Müller’sQuartett (1983) and Botho Strauss’sTime and the Room (1991). Since leaving the Théâtre des Amandiers in 1990, he has concentrated his efforts on opera and film.

By Patrice Chéreau:

  • L’homme blessé : scénario et notes, éditions de Minuit.
  • Si tant est que l’opéra soit du théâtre (production notes on Alban Berg’s Lulu, adapted from Frank Wedekind), Ombres.

On Patrice Chéreau:

  • Portrait de Patrice Chéreau, video by Pascal Aubier and Fabienne Pascaud, Institut national de l’audiovisuel (France), 60 min.

top of page

Frank Castorf (b. 1951)

© Thomas Aurin
Frank Castrof

The Berlin director Frank Castorf is a self-described “quarrelsome” individual. After studies in theatre arts, he worked in the provinces for twelve years before being named director of the Volksbühne in Berlin in 1992. There he created a veritable “people’s theatre,” since young people paid the equivalent of $4 per ticket. Known for his acts of provocation and daring, Castorf has not hesitated to adapt novels for the stage: his adaptation of Dostoyevsky’s The Insulted and Injured, presented at the 2003 Festival de Théâtre des Amériques, presented pathetic and laughable characters in kitsch costumes. Fascinated by the methods and subject matter of the mass media, he uses cameras and microphones and large- screen projections to reveal what actually transpires on stage, much like reality TV. With its imposing stage set, he presented Endstation Amerika (2000) at the FTA, based on Tennessee Williams’ A Streetcar Named Desire, in which actors perform songs by Britney Spears and Lou Reed. The productions of Frank Castorf contain a dimension that is at once political and decadent, which provokes, defies and mocks the audience.

© Thomas Aurin
Endstation Amerika , adapted from A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams, directed by Frank Castorf, Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxembourg-Platz (Berlin) and Salzburger Festspiele coproduction, 2002. Photo: Katrin Angerer, Henry Hübchen, Silvia Rieger, Bernhard Schütz, Brigitte Cuvelier, Fabian Hinrichs.

Title: Endstation Amerika

Adapted and directed by: Frank Castorf, adapted from A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams

Production: Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxembourg-Platz, Berlin and Salzburger Festspiele, 2002

Director: Frank Castorf

Set and costume design: Bert Neumann

Lighting: Lothar Baumgarten.

 

On Frank Castorf and the Volksbühne:

top of page

Peter Sellars (b. 1957)

Ajax by Sophocles directed by Peter Sellars at the Kennedy Center (Washington) in 1986.

Title: Ajax

Playwright: Sophocles

Production: Kennedy Center, 1986

Director: Peter Sellars.

A prolific—and truly unique—figure in American theatre, Peter Sellars has had a lifelong penchant for updating the classics and provoking the audience. At the age of 10 he joined a puppet theatre troupe, and went on to study in China, India and Japan. After graduating from Harvard, he quickly made a name for himself with his arresting and disconcerting productions. He linked works of the past with contemporary American society, exemplified in his production of Mozart’s opera Cosi fan tutte (1986), staged in a roadside café. Concerned with such socio-political issues as interculturalism, he has made a practiced of hiring actors from diverse cultural backgrounds, reflecting the pluralism that can influence the reading of a text. In tune with the technological advances of his era, he staged Shakespeare’sMerchant of Venice (1994) with projection screens, microphones, amplifiers, cameras and video monitors. This playful artist, who at the age of thirty had already close to one hundred productions to his credit, has developed a style that interweaves all genres, both human and artistic. In conjunction with artists from other disciplines, he presented the acclaimed Nixon in China in 1987.

On Peter Sellars:

  • « Une mise à l’épreuve » interview with Peter Sellars in Mise en scène et Jeu de l’acteur, Tome 2, by Josette Féral, Jeu / Lansman, 1998, p. 295, 318.

By Peter Sellars:

  • Conférence, Actes Sud - Papiers, coll. « Apprendre ».

top of page

Deborah Warner (b. 1959)

© Copyright Trimark Pictures
Deborah Warner

Born into a family of British Quakers, Deborah Warner studied at the Central School of Speech and Drama in London before working as a stage manager. At age 21, with neither subsidies nor fixed venue, she formed her own company: Kick Theatre. There she explored the great repertoire works, including Brecht’sThe Good Woman of Setzwan (1980), Shakespeare’sKing Lear (1985), and especially Titus Andronicus (1987), in which her emphasis on language and interpretation, rather than spectacular effects, brought out the bestial cruelty of the text. As director-in-residence at the Royal Shakespeare Company, she staged Richard II (1995) with Fiona Shaw, her actress of choice, in the title role. The Waste Land (1995), an adaptation T.S. Eliot’s landmark poem, was presented in Montreal, Toronto, New York, Paris and other European cities. Recent works include Medea (2003) and The Powerbook (2003), an adaptation of the novel by Jeanette Winterson, again featuring Fiona Shaw. Holding up a mirror to the passions of our time, the play depicts a romantic idyll on the Internet; through projected images, the stage becomes a site of passage, from the second into the third dimension.

© Pascal Victor
Fiona Shaw in The Powerbook adapted from Jeanette Winterson, directed by Deborah Warner, Royal National Theater and Théâtre National de Chaillot coproduction, 2003.

Title: The Powerbook

Adaptation: Jeanette Winterson, Deborah Warner, and Fiona Shaw adapted from Jeanette Winterson

Production: Royal National Theater and Théâtre National de Chaillot, 2003

Director: Deborah Warner

Set and video: Tom Pye

Lighting: Jean Kalman Costumes: Nicki Gillibrand

Music: Mel Mercier

Sound: Christopher Shutt.

 

top of page

Thomas Ostermeier (b. 1968)

© Linus Lintner
Thomas Ostermeier

Thomas Ostermeier defines acting more in terms of action than in the recital of lines. Born in northern Germany, Ostermeier studied theatre arts in Berlin, where he learned the Meyerholdtechniques from Bogdanov at the Ernst Busch school. He made his acting debut with the Berliner Ensemble before working at an experimental theatre, Baracke, where he quickly proved himself with his productions of works by Sarah Kane, Mark Ravenhill and Maeterlinck. His staging of Brecht’sMann ist Mann (A Man is a Man, 1998) at the Carrefour International de Québec in 2002 featured actors in physically demanding interactions, with sets dominated by wood and tons of earth. At the end of the production, the sets are torn apart plank by plank by the actors, who previously juggled chairs or leapt from walls. Ostermeier has also staged works by such contemporary authors as Lars Norén and Enda Walsh.  Since 1999 he has directed the prestigious Schaubühne in Berlin, where he continues to produce corrosive works in collaboration with his actors, from whom he demands a high level of physical energy and technical prowess.

© Wolfhard Theile
Mann ist Mann (A Man’s a Man) by Bertolt Brecht, directed by Thomas Ostermeier, Baracke am Deutschen Theater (Berlin), 2000. Photo: Martin Engler, Ronald Kukulies, André Szymanski, Petra Hartung, and Tilo Werner.

Title: Mann ist Mann(A Man’s a Man)

Playwright: Bertolt Brecht

Production: Übernahme einer Produktion der Baracke am Deutschen Theater Berlin, 2000

Director: Thomas Ostermeier

Set: Jan Pappelbaum

Costumes: Marion Münch

Lighting: Gerd Franke

Trainer in Meyerhold’s biomechanics: Gennadij Bogdanov.

Music: Jörg Gollasch

Vocal coach: Ute Falkenau.

 

With Thomas Ostermeier:

  • « Ludisme et libération » a debate between Thomas Ostermeier and Jean Jourdheuil in L’École du jeu de Josette Féral, L’Entretemps.

top of page

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Others who merit inclusion in this gallery of contemporary directors include

Ingmar Bergman, Iouri Lioubimov, Claude Régy, Mathias Langhoff, Trevor Nunn, Terry Hands, Jan Fabre, Krysztof Warlikowski, Ricardo Bartis, Georges Lavaudant and Josef Nadj.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

 

Metteurs en scène contemporains

Peter Brook | Peter Stein | Klaus Michael Grüber | Bob Wilson | Anatoli Vassiliev
Patrice Chéreau | Frank Castorf | Peter Sellars | Deborah Warner | Thomas Ostermeier

Peter Brook (1925)

© Pascal Victor
Peter Brook

La contribution de Peter Brook au développement du théâtre au vingtième siècle s’exprime à travers des chefs d’œuvres comme La Cerisaie (1981) et par une approche fondée sur la justesse dans l’expression de la nature humaine et le plaissir ludique qui lui permet de faire se côtoyer le grandiose et le quotidien. Pour cet artiste d’origine anglaise, les barrières entre les genres n’existent pas et il réalise des films – dont plusieurs témoignent de ses explorations théâtrales – autant que des mises en scène d’opéra ou de théâtre. À dix-neuf ans, il signe sa première mise en scène et, avec une grande liberté d’approche, il propose une relecture de plusieurs œuvres de Shakespeare, surtout pendant qu’il est codirecteur à la Royal Shakespeare Company. Enlevant à la dernière minute le décor prévu pour le Roi Lear (1962) il met en valeur la présence des comédiens. En 1970, il s’installe à Paris dans un théâtre en ruines. Avec Timon d’Athènes (1974), il concrétise la vision exprimée dans son célèbre essai L’Espace vide en montrant la richesse de la simplicité sur scène. Son intérêt pour le spiritualisme oriental et les textes épiques des autres cultures le mènent à réaliser, dans une carrière, un Mah?bh?rata (1985) d’une durée de neuf heures pour le Festival d’Avignon.

De Peter Brook :

  • L’Espace vide : écrits sur le théâtre, Seuil.
  • Le diable c’est l’ennui, Actes Sud - Papiers.
  • Points de suspension : 44 ans d’exploration théâtrale, Seuil.
  • Avec Shakespeare, éditions Actes Sud - Papiers.

Sur Peter Brook :

  • De Timon d’Athènes à Hamlet de Georges Banu, Flammarion.
  • À la recherche du Mah?bh?rata : carnets de voyage en Inde avec Peter Brook, de Jean-Claude Carrière, collection culture, Musée Kwok On.

haut de la page

Peter Stein (1937)

© Bernd Uhlig
Peter Stein

Innovateur, Peter Stein excelle dans tous les genres et styles, de l’opéra à la comédie. Il devient assistant-metteur en scène à Munich après des études en histoire de l’art. Sa première mise en scène, Sauvés! d’Edward Bond (1967), révèle un talent jamais démenti depuis. Intendant à la Schaubühne de Berlin de 1970 à 1986, il préconise une approche autogestionnaire qui en fit un des grands théâtres européens dont la programmation diversifiée fut rehaussée par une troupe remarquable, composée de comédiens tels Bruno Ganz. Il procède avec ses acteurs à des analyses approfondies des textes et ses mises en scène deviennent des créations collectives. La Mère (1970) de Gorki et Les Trois Sœurs (1988) de Tchekhov comptent parmi ses mises en scène culte ; il a aussi créé plusieurs pièces de son ami Botho Strauss : La Trilogie du Revoir (1978), Le Parc (1985) et Ithaka (1997). En 2000, il monte une version de Faust de Goethe qui dure quinze heures et dans laquelle plusieurs comédiens jouent le rôle de Méphisto. Peter Stein fascine et étonne par l’envergure de sa vision du théâtre, sa rigueur sur le plan dramaturgique, son inventivité scénique et sa capacité à se renouveler. Il enseigne l’art dramatique à Berlin depuis 1996.

© Bernd Uhlig
L'Orestie d'Eschyle, mise en scène de Peter Stein au Théâtre de l'Armée russe (Moscou), 1994.

L'Orestie d'Eschyle, mise en scène de Peter Stein au Théâtre de l'Armée russe (Moscou), 1994.

Titre : L'Orestie

Auteur : Eschyle

Mise en scène de Peter Stein.

 

haut de la page

Klaus Michael Grüber (1941)

© Ruth Walz/Schaubühne
Klaus Michael Grüber

Après avoir étudié deux ans à Stuttgart pour devenir acteur, Klaus Michael Grüber débute à Milan comme assistant de Giorgio Strehler. Il signe sa première mise en scène au Piccolo Teatro en 1967 et par la suite, il y monte des pièces d’auteurs tels Shakespeare, Adamov ou Kleist. Il préfère parfois aux auteurs de théâtre des poètes comme Hölderlin, dont il a adapté Empédocle (1975) et Hypérion, à partir duquel il a fait son Voyage d’hiver (1977). Il travaille ensuite à la Schaubühne de Berlin et, en 1984, présente à la Comédie Française Bérénice de Racine, acclamé par la critique, où il recommandait à ses acteurs de ne pas avoir de sentiments. Ce metteur en scène allemand travaille aussi bien en Italie et en France que dans son pays. Explorateur des marges et des limites du théâtre, Grüber délaisse parfois les salles habituelles pour des lieux tels une salle de répétition, une chapelle ou un stade olympique. Son parcours semble irrégulier et irrationnel mais ses œuvres ont le même ancrage dans la mémoire de notre culture occidentale : Sur la grand route (1984) de Tchekhov, La Mort de Danton (1989) de Büchner, Splendid’s (1994) de Genet.

haut de la page

Robert Wilson (1941)

« Le corps pense, l’esprit est un muscle » dit Robert Wilson dont les spectacles proposent des images inattendues d’une étrange beauté. Après la peinture et l’architecture, cet artiste américain s’exprime par le théâtre. Son travail en rééducation avec des enfants autistiques a marqué son approche théâtrale caractérisée par une lenteur proche du cérémonial et une mise en espace semblable à la composition picturale. On sent dans son œuvre l’importance accordée à la perception du temps et au poids des gestes, souvent répétitifs. Pour ce metteur en scène que la psychologie n’intéresse pas, chaque personnage correspond à un rythme et il s’attache davantage à la musique qu’au texte. Il produit ses spectacles à travers le monde et réalise aussi des films ainsi que des vidéos. Depuis Le Regard du sourd (1971), il a passé le cap de la soixantaine… de mises en scène au théâtre et à l’opéra. Parmi les plus importantes, mentionnons Einstein on the beach (1976), un opéra écrit avec le musicien Philip Glass, Orlando (1990) de Virginia Woolf avec Isabelle Huppert ou The Black Rider (1990) avec de la musique de Tom Waits sur un livret de William Burroughs.

Sur Robert Wilson :

  • « Une expérience directe des choses », entretien avec Robert Wilson dans Mise en scène et Jeu de l’acteur, Tome 2, de Josette Féral, Jeu / Lansman, 1998, p. 331-344.

haut de la page

Anatoli Vassiliev (1942)

Anatoli Vassiliev

Ceux qui s’intéressent aujourd’hui à la recherche sur l’acteur tournent leur regard vers Anatoli Vassiliev. Cet artiste russe a entamé ses études à l’Académie d’Art Dramatique de Moscou après une formation universitaire en chimie ; il envisage le théâtre à la fois de façon artistique et scientifique. Élève de Maria Knibel qui utilise la méthode de l’« analyse active », il connaît les principes de Stanislavski et s’intéresse d’abord à des textes russes comme Vasa Zelesnova de Gorki ou Le Cerceau de Slavkine, dont il a réalisé la mise en scène en 1985, après un processus de création qui a duré trois ans. Diffusé dans plusieurs théâtres à Bruxelles, Rome ou Budapest, ce spectacle fait connaître Vassiliev à travers le monde. Il monte par la suite Six personnages en quête d’auteur (1986-1987) de Pirandello, présenté dans de nombreux festivals internationaux. À partir du début des années quatre-vingt-dix, il réalise plusieurs mises en scène à l’étranger parmi lesquelles Amphitryon (1994) de Molière à Paris. Pédagogue qui croit à la formation traditionnelle de l’acteur, autant sur le plan théorique que pratique, il préconise une forme de jeu en relation étroite avec le texte, rigoureusement analysé au préalable. Il enseigne à Moscou et depuis peu, aussi à Lyon.

© Louise Oligny
Mise en scène d'Anatoli Vassiliev pour Six personnages en quête d'auteur de Luigi Pirandello, École d'art de Moscou, 1989. Présent sur la photo : Oleg Belkin.

Titre : Six personnages en quête d'auteur

Auteur : Luigi Pirandello

Production : École d'art de Moscou, 1989

Mise en scène : Anatoli Vassiliev.

 

D’Anatoli Vassiliev :

  • Sept ou huit leçons de théâtre, P.O.L., Académie expérimentale des théâtres.

Sur Anatoli Vassiliev :

  • Anatoli Vassiliev, maître de stage, de Jeanne Pigeon, Valérie Dréville et al., Lansman.
  • « Enseigner la tradition » entretien avec Anatoli Vassiliev dans Mise en scène et Jeu de l’acteur, Tome 1, de Josette Féral, Jeu / Lansman, 1997, p. 287-301.

haut de la page

Patrice Chéreau (1944)

© Pascal Victor
Phèdre de Jean Racine, mise en scène de Patrice Chéreau, l’Odéon-Théâtre de l'Europe, 2003. Présente sur la photo : Dominique Blanc.

Titre : Phèdre

Auteur : Jean Racine

Production : Odéon-Théâtre de l'Europe, 2003

Mise en scène : Patrice Chéreau

Scénographie : Richard Peduzzi

Costumes : Moidele Bickel

Lumières : Dominique Bruguière.

À vingt et un ans, Patrice Chéreau se fait connaître avec sa troisième mise en scène : L’Héritier de village (1965) de Marivaux. Cet artiste français séjourne en Italie de 1969 à 1972 et son travail sous la direction de Strehler, au Piccolo Teatro, aura une influence déterminante sur sa formation de metteur en scène. Sa relecture de La Dispute (1973) de Marivaux devient un grand succès, tout comme le cycle de quatre opéras de Wagner, DerRing des Nibelungen, qu’il monte en 1976 avec le chef d’orchestre Pierre Boulez à Bayreuth, en Allemagne. Il devient en 1982 co-directeur du théâtre des Amandiers à Nanterre où il met en scène la plupart des pièces de Bernard-Marie Koltès qu’il fait connaître à travers toute l’Europe. En collaboration étroite avec le scénographe Richard Peduzzi, il signe des spectacles où il exploite les ressources de la scène à l’italienne. Considéré comme un artiste à la puissance créatrice hors-pair, l’écriture contemporaine le fascine et il met en scène Les Paravents (1983) de Genet ou des textes allemands comme Quartett (1983) de Heiner Müller et Le Temps et la chambre (1991) de Botho Strauss. Depuis son départ du théâtre des Amandiers en 1990, il se consacre davantage à l’opéra et au cinéma.

De Patrice Chéreau :

  • L’homme blessé : scénario et notes, éditions de Minuit.
  • Si tant est que l’opéra soit du théâtre (notes sur la mise en scène de la création mondiale de la version intégrale de Lulu d’Alban Berg d’après Frank Wedekind), Ombres.

Sur Patrice Chéreau :

  • Portrait de Patrice Chéreau, vidéo de Pascal Aubier et Fabienne Pascaud, Institut national de l’audiovisuel (France), durée 60 minutes.

haut de la page

Frank Castorf (1951)

© Thomas Aurin
Frank Castrof

Originaire de Berlin, Frank Castorf se décrit comme un querelleur. Après des études en théâtre, il travaille en province pendant douze ans puis, en 1992, devient directeur de la Volksbühne de Berlin dont il a fait une véritable « scène du peuple » puisque les jeunes paient leurs billets l’équivalent de 4$. Reconnu pour son sens de la provocation, ce metteur en scène allemand n’hésite pas à adapter des romans à la scène, comme il l’a fait pour Humiliés et Offensés présenté en 2003 au Festival de Théâtre des Amériques ; cette adaptation du roman de Dostoïevski montre les acteurs, vêtus de costumes kitsch, jouant d’une manière parfois grotesque des personnages pathétiques et risibles. S’intéressant aux mêmes phénomènes que les médias de masse, il utilise caméras et micros pour montrer sur grand écran ce qui se passe à l’intérieur du décor, comme le fait la télé-réalité avec la vie intime des gens. Dans un décor imposant, il a aussi présenté au FTA Endstation Amerika (2000), d’après Un Tramway nommé Désir de Tennessee Williams, pièce dans laquelle les comédiens interprétaient des chansons de Britney Spears ou de Lou Reed. Les productions de Frank Castorf possèdent une dimension à la fois politique et décadente qui nargue les spectateurs.

© Thomas Aurin
Endstation Amerika , d'après Un tramway nommé Désir de Tennessee Williams, mise en scène de Frank Castorf, coproduction Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxembourg-Platz (Berlin) et Salzburger Festspiele, 2002. Présents sur la photo : Katrin Angerer, Henry Hübchen, Silvia Rieger, Bernhard Schütz, Brigitte Cuvelier, Fabian Hinrichs.

Titre : Endstation Amerika

Adaptation et mise en scène : Frank Castorf d’après Un tramway nommé Désir de Tennessee Williams

Production : Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxembourg-Platz, Berlin et Salzburger Festspiele, 2002

Mise en scène : Frank Castorf

Décor et costumes : Bert Neumann

Lumières : Lothar Baumgarten.

 

Sur Frank Castorf et la Volksbühne :

haut de la page

Peter Sellars (1957)

Ajax de Sophocle dans la mise en scène de Peter Sellars au Kennedy Center (Washington) en 1986.

Titre : Ajax

Auteur : Sophocle

Production : Kennedy Center, 1986

Mise en scène : Peter Sellars.

Figure atypique et prolifique du théâtre américain, Peter Sellars aime actualiser les classiques et provoquer le spectateur. Dès l’âge de dix ans, il se joint à une troupe de marionnettes et, après avoir complété sa formation en Chine, en Inde et au Japon, ce diplômé de Harvard se fait remarquer pour ses mises en scène déroutantes. Sellars établit des liens entre les œuvres du passé et le cadre américain de l’ère contemporaine : il produit, par exemple, l’opéra Cosi fan tutte (1986) de Mozart dans un restaurant sur le bord d’une autoroute. Préoccupé par des réalités sociopolitiques comme l’interculturalisme, il engage pour ses spectacles des acteurs d’origines ethniques diverses, reflétant ainsi le pluralisme qui peut influencer l’interprétation d’un texte. En phase avec le progrès technologique, quand vient le temps de monter Le Marchand de Venise (1994) de Shakespeare, il utilise écrans, micros, amplification sonore, caméras et moniteurs vidéo. Cet artiste ludique, qui à trente ans comptait déjà une centaine de mises en scène à son actif, développe un style où se fondent tous les genres, humains et artistiques. Avec des concepteurs en provenance d’autres disciplines artistiques, il a écrit Nixon in China (1987).

Sur Peter Sellars :

  • « Une mise à l’épreuve » entretien avec Peter Sellars dans Mise en scène et Jeu de l’acteur, Tome 2, de Josette Féral, Jeu / Lansman, 1998, p. 295, 318.

De Peter Sellars :

  • Conférence, Actes Sud - Papiers, coll. « Apprendre ».

haut de la page

Deborah Warner (1959)

© Copyright Trimark Pictures
Deborah Warner

Originaire d’une famille anglaise de quakers, Deborah Warner suit des cours au Central School of Speech and Drama de Londres avant de travailler comme régisseur. À vingt et un ans, sans subventions ni lieu fixe, elle fonde sa propre compagnie : le Kick Theatre. Elle explore les grandes œuvres du répertoire comme La Bonne Âme de Se-Tchouan (1980) de Brecht ou Le Roi Lear (1985) de Shakespeare et surtout, réalise un Titus Andronicus (1987) où son travail sur la langue et l’interprétation, plutôt que sur les effets spectaculaires, fait ressortir la cruauté bestiale du texte. Metteur en scène en résidence à la Royal Shakespeare Company, elle y monte Richard II (1995) et fait jouer le rôle-titre par la tragédienne Fiona Shaw, son actrice de prédilection. The Waste Land (1995), une mise en scène du poème de T.S. Eliot, a été présenté à Paris, Montréal, Toronto, New York et en Europe. Parmi ses récents spectacles, mentionnons Médée (2003) et The Powerbook (2003), adaptation du roman de Jeanette Winterson, avec Fiona Shaw dans le rôle principal. Miroir des passions contemporaines, la pièce relate une idylle sur internet et, grâce à une technologie de projections d’images, la scène devient le lieu du passage de la deuxième à la troisième dimension.

© Pascal Victor
Fiona Shaw dans The Powerbook d'après Jeanette Winterson, mise en scène de Deborah Warner, coproduction Royal National Theater et Théâtre National de Chaillot, 2003.

Titre : The Powerbook

Adaptation : Jeanette Winterson, Deborah Warner et Fiona Shaw d’après Jeanette Winterson

Production : Royal National Theater et Théâtre National de Chaillot, 2003

Mise en scène : Deborah Warner

Décor et vidéo : Tom Pye

Lumières : Jean Kalman

Costumes : Nicki Gillibrand

Musique : Mel Mercier –

Son : Christopher Shutt.

 

haut de la page

Thomas Ostermeier (1968)

© Linus Lintner
Thomas Ostermeier

Thomas Ostermeier définit le jeu de l’acteur davantage par l’action que par la déclamation du texte. Né dans le Nord de l’Allemagne, ce metteur en scène étudie le théâtre à Berlin où il est formé selon la technique de jeu de Meyerhold par Genadi Bogdanov à l’école Ernst Busch. Il débute sa carrière comme acteur au Berliner Ensemble, puis travaille à la Baracke, une salle de théâtre d’essai où il fait rapidement ses preuves en montant des textes de Sarah Kane, Mark Ravenhill ou Maeterlinck. Son spectacle Mann ist mann (Homme pour homme, 1998) de Brecht, présenté en 2002 au Carrefour International de Québec, montrait des acteurs énergiques au jeu physique en interaction avec une scénographie dominée par le bois et les tons de terre. À la fin de la pièce, le décor est arraché planche par planche par les interprètes qui, auparavant, ont jonglé avec des chaises et sauté du haut des murs. Thomas Ostermeier a porté à la scène des auteurs contemporains comme Lars Norén ou Enda Walsh. Depuis 1999, il dirige la prestigieuse Schaubühne de Berlin et continue à réaliser des mises en scènes décapantes avec un talent de directeur de troupe qui lui permet d’obtenir une grande énergie physique de ses acteurs.

© Wolfhard Theile
Mann ist Mann de Bertolt Brecht, mise en scène de Thomas Ostermeier, Baracke am Deutschen Theater (Berlin), 2000. Présents sur la photo : Martin Engler, Ronald Kukulies, André Szymanski, Petra Hartung et Tilo Werner.

Titre : Mann ist Mann

Auteur : Bertolt Brecht

Production : Übernahme einer Produktion der Baracke am Deutschen Theater Berlin, 2000

Mise en scène : Thomas Ostermeier

Décors : Jan Pappelbaum

Costumes : Marion Münch

Lumières : Gerd Franke Entraînement à la biomécanique de Meyerhold : Gennadij Bogdanov.

Musique : Jörg Gollasch

Répétitrice vocale : Ute Falkenau

 

Avec Thomas Ostermeier :

  • « Ludisme et libération » débat entre Thomas Ostermeier et Jean Jourdheuil dans L’École du jeu de Josette Féral, L’Entretemps.

haut de la page

 

 

 

 

Mentionnons en terminant d’autres metteurs en scène contemporains qui pourraient s’ajouter à ceux que nous vous avons présentés :

Ingmar Bergman, Iouri Lioubimov, Claude Régy, Mathias Langhoff, Trevor Nunn, Terry Hands, Jan Fabre, Krysztof Warlikowski, Ricardo Bartis, Georges Lavaudant et Josef Nadj.