This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Produced by National Arts Centre Théâtre français

The Great Theatre Institutions

La Comédie-Française (Paris, France) | Moscow Arts Theatre (Russia) |
Abbey Theatre (Dublin, Ireland) | Piccolo Teatro (Milan, Italy) |
Le Festival d’Avignon (France) | Stratford Festival (Canada) |
Royal Shakespeare Company (Stratford-upon-Avon, England) |
Royal National Theatre (London, England) | Schaubühne (Berlin, Germany) |
Royal Dramaten (Stockholm, Sueden)

La Comédie-Française

© Philippe Bernard
La Comédie-Française, Paris, 2004.

The Comédie-Française is the world’s longest established national theatre. It was formed in 1680, when Louis XIV ordered two rival troupes to merge and form the Comédiens du roi, the only professional French company then playing in Paris. The spirit of this group, which endured through the upheavals of history, is still in evidence today. Despite various reorganizations, the most important of which occurred under Napoleon’s administration in 1812, its modus operandi remains largely as it was in the early 19th century. Each member holds a share of the profits within a democratically structured unit that allows for shared duties and responsibilities. After a year’s trial, the member becomes a pensionnaire or probationary member (currently twenty-three in total); after an indefinite period of time, he or she may gain full membership as a sociétaire (currently forty-three). Retirement with pension is awarded after twenty years of service. Throughout its long history, the Comédie-Française has exercised a lasting influence on French theatre, arts and letters. It has given the world some of its most illustrious stage actors: Sarah Bernhardt, Jean-Louis Barrault, Ludmila Mikaël, among many others. Members of the troupe are normally not permitted to accept theatrical engagements outside the institution. Three venerable Parisian theatres stage its productions: the salle Richelieu, the Vieux-Colombier and the Studio-Théâtre in the Louvre.

Web site: http://www.comedie-francaise.fr

On the Comédie-Française:

  • La Comédie-Française by P. Dux et S. Chevalley, Denoël (in French).

top of page

Moscow Art Theatre

Le Théâtre d’art de Moscou dans les années vingt.

The most important Russian productions of the 20th century were presented at the Moscow Art Theatre. Founded in 1898 by two teachers of dramatic art, Konstantin Stanislavsky and Vladimir Nemirovich-Danchenko, the Moscow Art Theatre offered works by such Russian masters as Chekhov, Gorky and Tolstoy, emphasizing the psychological sub-text, the underlying meaning of the playwright’s thought, as recommended by Stanislavsky. The institution invited several innovative artists to work under its roof: Meyerhold and Craig conducted research on acting and stage design. Although the company flourished, and its productions were on the leading edge of theatre until 1917, the Russian Revolution and the death of Stanislavski were serious blows to the institution. But after receiving support from Lenin, the Art Theatre toured Europe and the United States, garnering critical acclaim wherever it performed. Returning to Moscow in 1924, the theatre continued to produce new Soviet plays and Russian classics until its evacuation in 1941.Successful tours in the sixties and seventies re-established its pre-eminence in world theatre. Today, the Moscow Art Theatre presents contemporary works rooted in the dramatic traditions of the past. It has greatly influenced theatres the world over, spawning numerous experimental studios

  • C. Amiard-Chevrel, Le Théâtre artistique de Moscou : 1898-1917, CNRS.

top of page

Abbey Theatre

Dublin’s Abbey Theatre is the national theatre of Ireland. It grew out of the Irish Literary Theatre founded in 1899 by the poet William Butler Yeats and Isabella Augusta, Lady Gregory. In 1904 an old theatre in Abbey Street was converted into the Abbey Theatre. Mandated to present Irish actors in Irish plays, it initially focused on themes of national identity, folklore and the Irish peasantry before giving way to more urban realities. Such great Irish playwrights as J.M. Synge and Sean O’Casey gave the theatre an international reputation, and much controversy as well: The Abbey's staging of Synge's satire The Playboy of the Western World(1907) stirred up so much resentment in the audience over its portrayal of the Irish peasantry that a riot ensued. Unusual for the time in the United Kingdom, the theatre began receiving state subsidies in 1925. After a fire destroyed its playhouse in 1951, the company moved to the nearby Queen’s Theatre; a new Abbey Theatre, housing a smaller, experimental theatre—The Peacock—was completed in 1966 on the original site. Today, although the Abbey has broadened its repertoire, it continues to rely primarily on Irish plays, both new and old.

Web site: www.abbeytheatre.ie

top of page

Piccolo Teatro

La nouvelle salle du Piccolo Teatro, à Milan.

The first fixed theatre in Italy, as opposed to the itinerant troupes that were criss-crossing the country at the time, the Piccolo Teatro de Milan derives its name from the small (piccolo) theatre which housed it in 1947, the year it was founded by administrator Paolo Grassi and director Giorgio Strehler. These visionaries were the first to insist on a theatre intended for all levels of society, unlike the itinerant troupes who performed for well-to-do audiences. Their initiative quickly incited several other Italian artists to form similar institutions. In order to make its productions accessible to all, it introduced the policy of subscriptions to encourage all sectors of society—students, labourers, office workers, etc.—to share in the theatrical experience. The theatre’s choice of plays was a function of this social mission. Strehler favoured a repertoire that was open to Europe, and especially to France, where his productions enjoyed enormous success. The set designerEzio Frigerio is inseparable from the history of the institution, as is Italian author Carlo Goldoni, whose The Servant of Two Masters was produced in six different versions by Georgio Strehler. Although shaken by the director’s death in 1997, the Piccolo continues to write its innovative history, while its loyal followers continue to support its bold productions.

Web site (in Italian): www.piccoloteatro.org

top of page

Festival d’Avignon

Cour d'honneur du Palais des papes à Avignon, scène prestigieuse du Festival d'Avignon (France).

The French theatrical event with the widest international reputation is undoubtedly the Festival d’Avignon. Director Jean Vilar launched the festival in the southern city in 1947. While the first edition offered only three productions, the second, held in the sunny months of July, began to draw increasing numbers of spectators. Through Vilar’s unrelenting efforts, the event would continue to grow year after year, presenting the great classics of French and international drama. The historic buildings of Avignon, including the majestic Palais des Papes, serve as theatres for its numerous productions. The performance of Gérard Philipe in Corneile’s Le Cid (1951) is enshrined in the annals of the festival. In 1968 the festival began to expand, welcoming other art forms, increasing the number of sites and companies, and even encouraging the emergence of an “off-festival” scene—which today offers some seven hundred productions! After Vilar’s death in 1971, the director’s successors have managed to preserve the festival’s vitality and direction; over a half-century after its inception, it continues to resonate with the rhythms of the world. A number of Quebec artists, particularly Denis Marleau, have made an impression there.

Web site of the Festival d’Avignon (in French): www.festival-avignon.com/fr

top of page

Stratford Festival of Canada

© Stratford Festival (Canada)
Stage of the Stratford Festival, Canada, designed by Tanya Moiseivitsch.

For over half a century, the Stratford Festival in Ontario has been a national and international success. It began with the dream of Tom Patterson, a local journalist who founded the Stratford Shakespearean Festival of Canada in 1952 as a summer event devoted entirely to the works of Shakespeare. The following year, Tyrone Guthrie, a leading British director, agreed to be artistic director and the festival opened in a tent theatre with Richard III, starring Alec Guinness. In 1957 the tent theatre was replaced by the Festival Theatre, and two more theatres were added over the next two decades. After focusing on Shakespearean works, the company began to stage other classics, including Greek tragedies, the comedies of Molière, and such modern authors as Beckett, Brecht, Tennessee Williams and Canadian author Timothy Findley. The festival also stages operas and musicals. Some of the greatest actors, Canadian and foreign, have graced the Stratford stages, including Christopher Plummer, Maggie Smith, Albert Millaire and Jean-Louis Roux. The season now extends from April to November, drawing close to 600,000 people a year, and offering a wide range of parallel activities: concerts, recitals, discussions and lectures. Richard Monette has directed the festival since 1994, consolidating its reputation as the leading classical theatre in North America.

Web site: http://www.stratfordfestival.ca

top of page

Royal Shakespeare Company

© Royal Shakespeare Company
Vue extérieure du théâtre de la Royal Shakespeare Company à Stratford-upon-Avon, Angleterre.

Structured along the same lines as the Comédie-Française, the Royal Shakespeare Company is based in Stratford-upon-Avon, in England, where William Shakespeare was born in 1564. In 1960 Peter Hall formed the modern company, building on the tradition of the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre of the 1930s, and widening its repertoire to take in contemporary works and classics other than Shakespeare. Associated with the Royal Shakespeare Theatre from 1962, Peter Brookserved as a producer and co-director, staging not only Shakespeare but such works asJean Genet's The Screens and Peter Weiss's Marat/Sade, whose unconventional style and staging shocked the theatre world and earned the company international fame. After Brook left for Paris in 1970, the Royal Shakespeare Company continued to expand under a succession of visionary artistic directors. Not only did it produce more and more modern works, but it began to use several stages at the same time. In 1986 The Swan Theatre was inaugurated, a magnificent replica of an Elizabethan theatre. Under a new artistic director since 2002, the company is continuing to stage both classic and contemporary works, which take advantage of the new technologies. Since its inception, the Royal Shakespeare Company has remained faithful to its mission: to create a high quality theatre that serves as a training ground for the artists and technicians of British theatre.

Web site: www.rsc.org.uk

top of page

National Theatre

© Gauthier Deblonde
Extérieur du National Theatre de Londres (Royaume-Uni).

Considered England’s greatest theatrical institution, the National Theatre has a rich history. Although the idea of a national theatre was conceived in 1848, it was not until 1963 that the National Theatre saw the light of day. To mark the occasion, its first director Laurence Olivier staged a version of  Shakespeare’s Hamlet that would be a milestone in theatre history. The following year, the company embarked on its first world tour. With its production of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead in 1967, the National revealed to the world a young British author with a bright future: Tom Stoppard. In February 1976 the theatre gave its final performance at the Old Vic Theatre and later that year moved to its new home along the Thames, the three theatres of South Bank. From 1988 to 1997, director Richard Eyre guided the theatre from one success to the next, offering a highly diversified program, including avant-garde works and musicals. The directorship passed to Trevor Nunn (1997-2003), followed by Nicholas Hytner, both of whom have maintained the level of excellence of

this fabled institution.

Web site: www.nt-online.org

top of page

Schaubühne of Berlin

© Picture: Schaubühne
Extérieur de la Schaubühne de Berlin (Allemagne).

Germany’s foremost theatrical institution, the Schaubühne was founded in West Berlin in 1962. Although a private theatre, it received financial assistance from the state. In the 1970s, the company’s directors established a theatre wholly dedicated to creation, programming works by contemporary authors who were not staged elsewhere in Germany. In 1981 the City of Berlin offered the troupe a full-time residence, the 1920s-era Mendelssohn Building, which was converted into three modular theatres. Since the 1980s, the Schaubühne has staged both classical and contemporary works, German and foreign, including ancient Greek and Shakespearean tragedies, as well as contemporary plays by Handke, Müller and Strauss. Although the company invites foreign directors on occasion, Klaus Michael Grüber and Peter Stein direct the lion’s share of its productions. Dynamic, adventurous and open to world theatre, the Schaubühne continues to revive the classics, while welcoming some of the most provocative authors of our time, including Sarah Kane and Canadian playwright Georges F. Walker.

Web site (in German): www.schaubuehne.de

top of page

Royal Dramaten

© Roger Stenberg/Dramaten
Extérieur du Royal Dramaten, Stockholm, Suède.

One of Sweden’s two national theatres, the Royal Dramatic Theatre (commonly called the Dramaten), presents works on six different stages in Stockholm. A landmark on the theatrical landscape, the company fosters a collective spirit and camaraderie based on the same principles as the Comédie-Française. The Dramaten has earned worldwide respect through its international tours—and the brilliance of its director, Ingmar Bergman, with his ingenious interpretations of Strindberg, Shakespeare and Ibsen, among others. With a reputation for revisiting the classics, the group has also staged the majority of works by Sweden’s renowned contemporary playwright, Lars Norén. Sweden’s greatest actors have performed with the Dramaten, and numerous foreign artists, including Quebec’s Robert Lepage, have also been invited to collaborate. Since its inception, the theatre has made great efforts to promote the local culture, inside and outside Sweden. In 2003 the company demonstrated this once again by establishing a support program for young Swedish authors—yet another example of its vitality and foresight.

© Roger Stenberg/Dramaten
Intérieur du Royal Dramaten, Stockholm, Suède.

 

Web site (in Danish): www.dramaten.se

top of page

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

 

Les grandes institutions théâtrales

La Comédie-Française (Paris, France) | Le Théâtre d’art de Moscou (Russie) |
L’Abbey Theatre (Dublin, Irlande) | Le Piccolo Teatro (Milan, Italie) |
Le Festival d’Avignon (France) | Le Festival de Stratford (Canada) |
La Royal Shakespeare Company (Stratford, Angleterre) |
Le Royal National Theatre (Londres, Angleterre) | La Schaubühne (Berlin, Allemagne) |
Royal Dramaten (Stockholm, Suède)

La Comédie-Française

© Philippe Bernard
La Comédie-Française, Paris, 2004.

La Comédie-Française est la plus ancienne et la plus prestigieuse institution théâtrale toujours en activité en Occident. Elle naît en 1680, quand le roi Louis XIV ordonne à deux troupes rivales de se joindre pour former les Comédiens du roi, qui deviennent les seuls autorisés à monter le répertoire français à Paris. L’esprit de ce groupe va traverser les remous de l’histoire et se rendre jusqu’à nous. Malgré quelques réorganisations, dont la plus importante a lieu sous Napoléon en 1812, le fonctionnement de la troupe s’avère aujourd’hui sensiblement le même qu’au début du dix-neuvième siècle. Les acteurs permanents, appelés « sociétaires » – on en compte quarante aujourd’hui –, participent activement aux décisions de la compagnie. Les « pensionnaires » – vingt-trois aujourd’hui – bénéficient d’un contrat d’un an. De très grands acteurs, auteurs, metteur en scène et artisans y sont passés – Sarah Bernhardt, Jean-Louis Barrault, Ludmila Mikaël –, certains pour quelques années, d’autres pour toute leur vie. Les sociétaires, comme les pensionnaires, ne sont pas autorisés, sauf exception, à entretenir des activités théâtrales à l’extérieur de l’institution. Trois théâtres parisiens lui sont consacrés : la vénérable salle Richelieu, le Vieux-Colombier et le Studio-Théâtre dans l’enceinte du Louvre.

Site internet : http://www.comedie-francaise.fr

Sur la Comédie-Française :

  • La Comédie-Française de P. Dux et S. Chevalley, Denoël.

haut de la page

Le Théâtre d’art de Moscou

Le Théâtre d’art de Moscou dans les années vingt.

Les plus importantes manifestations théâtrales russes du vingtième siècle, ont eu lieu au Théâtre d’art de Moscou. Fondé en 1898 par Stanislavski et Nemirovich-Danchenko, le Théâtre d’Art va monter les plus grands auteurs russes : Tchekhov, Gorki, Tolstoï, en précisant la psychologie des personnages, comme le préconise Stanislavski. L’institution invite plusieurs artistes très innovateurs pour l’époque à créer en ses murs. Ainsi, les expérimentations de Meyerhold et Craig toucheront le jeu de l’acteur et la scénographie. Si la compagnie a le vent dans les voiles et que ses spectacles demeurent à l’avant-garde jusqu’en 1917, la Révolution russe et la disparition de Stanislavski rendent la gestion de l’institution plus difficile. Après une légère amélioration dans les années cinquante et une ferme volonté de redresser les affaires du théâtre dans les années soixante-dix, la compagnie parvient à traverser les années difficiles de l’histoire de Russie. Alliant aujourd’hui un répertoire actuel à une vision traditionnelle du métier, le Théâtre d’art de Moscou demeure une influence majeure pour les artisans du théâtre du monde entier.

Sur le Théâtre d’art de Moscou :

  • C. Amiard-Chevrel, Le Théâtre artistique de Moscou : 1898-1917, CNRS.

haut de la page

L’Abbey Theatre

L’Abbey Theatre de Dublin est le théâtre national de l’Irlande. Alors que les fondateurs, Lady Gregory ainsi que le grand poète et dramaturge William Butler Yeats, y travaillent depuis 1897, le lieu est trouvé et l’institution officiellement fondée en 1904. On y engage les grands acteurs locaux qui se dévouent presque exclusivement au répertoire irlandais. Ils interprètent des textes qui mettent tout d’abord en scène l’identité nationale, le folklore et la vie paysanne pour ensuite céder la place à la réalité urbaine. De grands dramaturges irlandais, notamment J.M. Synge et Sean O’Casey, permettent au théâtre d’obtenir une réputation internationale. Fait assez unique dans l’Europe anglophone de l’époque, le théâtre reçoit une aide financière de l’État à compter de 1925. Suite à un incendie survenu en 1951, l’Abbaye poursuit ses activités dans d’autres lieux. En 1966, une fois le théâtre relogé dans un bâtiment moderne, construit sur l’ancien site de la rue Abbey, une petite salle dédiée à des productions expérimentales – The Peacock – s’ajoute à l’architecture du lieu. Aujourd’hui encore, l’Abbey se consacre à la littérature dramatique nationale en favorisant la découverte d’auteurs contemporains et en revisitant régulièrement les classiques du répertoire irlandais.

Site internet (en anglais) : www.abbeytheatre.ie

haut de la page

Le Piccolo Teatro

La nouvelle salle du Piccolo Teatro, à Milan.

Premier théâtre sédentaire d’Italie, en opposition aux troupes itinérantes qui sillonnent ce pays à l’époque, le Piccolo Teatro de Milan tire son nom de la petite salle – piccolo veut dire petit – qu’il occupe en 1947, année de sa fondation par l’administrateur Paolo Grassi et le metteur en scène Giorgio Strehler. Ils sont les premiers à réclamer une pratique théâtrale destinée à toutes les couches de la société, alors que les troupes itinérantes présentent des spectacles divertissants à un public financièrement aisé. Leur initiative incite rapidement plusieurs autres créateurs italiens à mettre sur pied des institutions semblables. Afin d’ouvrir son art à tous, le Piccolo propose des abonnements pour inciter tous les groupes composant la société italienne – étudiants, ouvriers, employés de bureau… – à trouver leur place au théâtre. Le choix des pièces respecte cette thématique sociale. Strehler privilégie un répertoire très ouvert sur l’Europe et principalement sur la France, où ses spectacles connaissent le succès. Le concepteur Ezio Frigerio a marqué l’histoire de l’institution, tout comme l’auteur italien Carlo Goldoni particulièrement avec les six différentes mises en scènes de Strehler pour Arlequin serviteur de deux maîtres. Ébranlé par la mort de Strehler en 1997, le Piccolo continue d’écrire son histoire et les spectateurs italiens semblent suivre ses audaces avec fidélité.

Site internet (en italien) : www.piccoloteatro.org

haut de la page

Le festival d’Avignon

© Pascal Victor
Cour d'honneur of the Palais des papes in Avignon, prestigious scene of the Festival d'Avignon (France).

La manifestation théâtrale française possédant la plus importante réputation internationale est sans nul doute le festival d’Avignon (ville du sud de la France). Le metteur en scène Jean Vilar lui donne son coup d’envoi en 1947. Si la première édition ne compte que trois spectacles, la seconde, se déroulant durant les jours ensoleillés de juillet, attire déjà davantage de spectateurs. Grâce aux efforts constants de Vilar, l’événement va prendre de l’ampleur d’année en année, alors que de grands classiques français et étrangers composent l’essentiel du répertoire présenté. Les lieux historiques d’Avignon, tel le majestueux palais des Papes, servent de théâtres à ces nombreuses représentations. La performance de Gérard Philipe dans Le Cid (1951) de Corneille figure parmi les moments légendaires de l’événement. À compter de 1968, le festival prend un nouvel élan. Il s’ouvre aux autres arts, multiplie les sites, invite davantage de compagnies et favorise même l‘apparition d’un festival « off », qui compte de nos jours environ sept cents spectacles! Depuis la mort de Vilar en 1971, ses successeurs ont su conserver la vitalité et le sens de cette célébration qui, plus de cinquante-cinq ans après sa naissance, continue à battre au rythme du monde. Des artistes québécois, dont principalement Denis Marleau, s’y sont fait remarquer.

Site internet du Festival d’Avignon : www.festival-avignon.com/fr

haut de la page

Le Stratford Festival of Canada

© Stratford Festival (Canada)
Scène du Festival Theatre de Stratford, Canada, conçue par Tanya Moiseivitsch.

Depuis plus d’une cinquantaine d’année, le festival de Stratford (Ontario) obtient un succès qui n’a d’égal que sa notoriété à l’échelle internationale. Tout a commencé avec le rêve de Tom Patterson, un journaliste local qui fonde en 1952 le Stratford Shakespearean Festival of Canada, une manifestation estivale entièrement consacrée à l’œuvre de William Shakespeare et dont la direction artistique est confiée à Tyrone Guthrie. De cet événement va naître la plus grande compagnie de théâtre dédiée au répertoire classique en Amérique du Nord. Après s’être longtemps consacrée aux pièces de Shakespeare, la compagnie entreprend de jouer d’autres grandes œuvres comme les tragédies grecques et les comédies de Molière. Des auteurs plus contemporains comme Beckett, Brecht, Tennessee Williams ainsi que des auteurs canadiens comme Timothy Findley trouveront par la suite une place sur leur scène. L’institution produit et accueille également des opéras et des pièces de théâtre musical. De très grands acteurs, canadiens et étrangers, ont foulé la scène de Stratford. Parmi eux Christopher Plummer, Albert Millaire et Jean-Louis Roux. La saison s’étend maintenant d’avril à novembre, avec une assistance de plus de 600 000 personnes chaque année, et comprend une foule d’activités parallèles : concerts, récitals, discussions et lectures discussions et lectures. Richard Monette dirige ce festival depuis 1994.

Site internet (en anglais) : http://www.stratfordfestival.ca

haut de la page

La Royal Shakespeare Company

© Royal Shakespeare Company
Vue extérieure du théâtre de la Royal Shakespeare Company à Stratford-upon-Avon, Angleterre.

Structurée de façon semblable à la Comédie-Française, la Royal Shakespeare Company réside à Stratford en Angleterre, là où William Shakespeare est né en 1564. Les metteurs en scène Peter Hall et Peter Brook en assument la direction lors de sa fondation en 1962. La compagnie obtient de nombreux succès dans les années soixante, avec des pièces de Shakespeare mais également avec des productions plus expérimentales comme Marat/Sade de Peter Weiss. Malgré le départ de Brook pour Paris en 1970, la Royal Shakespeare Company continue à prendre de l’expansion sous l’influence de nouveaux directeurs. Ainsi, la compagnie ouvre son répertoire à des œuvres contemporaines et joue sur plusieurs scènes à la fois. En 1986 est inauguré The Swan, une magnifique réplique d’un théâtre élisabéthain qui servira à la représentation des pièces écrites à l’époque de Shakespeare. Avec un nouveau directeur artistique depuis 2002, la compagnie continue à produire des mises en scène classiques ou actuelles qui savent tirer profit de la technologie moderne. La Royal Shakespeare Company demeure fidèle à une mission qui n’a guère changé depuis sa naissance : faire un théâtre de haute qualité et servir de plate-forme aux grands artisans du théâtre britannique.

Site internet (en anglais) : www.rsc.org.uk

haut de la page

Le National Theatre

© Gauthier Deblonde
Extérieur du National Theatre de Londres (Royaume-Uni).

Considérée comme la plus grande institution théâtrale en Angleterre, le Royal National Theatre possède une riche histoire. Si l’idée d’un théâtre national en Grande-Bretagne naît en 1848, ce n’est qu’en 1963 que le Royal National Theatre sera inauguré. Pour marquer sa naissance, son premier directeur, Laurence Olivier, signe une mise en scène d’Hamlet de Shakespeare dont le succès passera à l’histoire. L’année suivante, la compagnie procède à sa première tournée mondiale. En présentant en 1967 la pièce Rosencrantz et Guildenstern sont morts, le National met au monde un jeune auteur britannique voué à une grande carrière : Tom Stoppard. C’est en 1976-77 que seront inaugurées les trois salles du South Bank, l’édifice qui abrite toujours la compagnie. De 1988 à 1997, le metteur en scène Richard Eyre prend en charge le théâtre pour lui offrir des années fastes. Sa grande ouverture d’esprit teinte le choix très diversifié des spectacles qu’il programme. Sous ses auspices, le répertoire côtoie sans accrochages l’avant-garde et la comédie musicale. Depuis avril 2003, le nouveau directeur du Royal National Theatre, Nicholas Hytner, semble décidé à conserver le rythme de croisière exubérant qui caractérise l’établissement.

Site internet (en anglais) : www.nt-online.org

haut de la page

La Schaubühne de Berlin

© Schaubühne
Extérieur de la Schaubühne de Berlin (Allemagne).

Considérée comme la plus grande compagnie théâtrale allemande, la Schaubühne a été fondée en 1962 à Berlin-Ouest. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’un théâtre privé, cet établissement reçoit une aide financière de l’administration fédérale du pays. Dans les années soixante-dix, les directeurs imaginent un théâtre entièrement voué à la création et choisissent de programmer les textes d’auteurs contemporains qui ne sont pas joués ailleurs en Allemagne. En 1981, la Ville de Berlin offre à la troupe un édifice des années vingt, le bâtiment Mendelssohn, qui sera aménagé en trois salles modulables. Depuis les années quatre-vingts, le théâtre se consacre à des textes classiques et contemporains, autant allemands qu’étrangers. Parmi les classiques, notons les incontournables tragédies grecques et Shakespeare. Du côté des contemporains on retrouve les grandes pièces de Handke, Müller et Strauss. Si la compagnie invite à l’occasion des metteurs en scènes étrangers, ce sont Klaus Michael Grüber et Peter Stein qui signent plusieurs mises en scènes dans les murs de l’institution. Incroyablement dynamique, la Schaubühne est aujourd’hui un théâtre très ouvert sur le monde. Encore attaché à revisiter les classiques, il ose également monter les œuvres des auteurs les plus percutants de notre époque comme Sarah Kane et le Canadien Georges F. Walker.

Site internet (en allemand) : www.schaubuehne.de

haut de la page

Le Royal Dramaten

© Roger Stenberg/Dramaten
Extérieur du Royal Dramaten, Stockholm, Suède

Communément appelé le Dramaten, le Théâtre royal dramatique est l’un des deux théâtres nationaux de Suède. Il donne des représentations sur six scènes différentes de la ville de Stockholm. La compagnie nourrit un esprit de troupe basé sur des principes semblables à ceux de la Comédie-Française et occupe une place centrale dans l’activité théâtrale suédoise. Elle a aussi brillé dans le monde entier, grâce à de nombreuses tournées internationales. C’est surtout le metteur en scène et cinéaste Ingmar Bergman, avec ses interprétations ingénieuses de Strindberg, Shakespeare ou Ibsen, qui a forgé l’impressionnante notoriété du Dramaten. Réputé pour revisiter les auteurs classiques, le groupe a également créé la plupart des pièces du renommé dramaturge suédois contemporain, Lars Norén. Les plus grands acteurs de Suède se sont produits au sein du Dramaten depuis sa naissance et de nombreux artistes étrangers, comme Robert Lepage, ont été invités à travailler avec eux. Depuis sa création, le théâtre fait beaucoup d’efforts pour promouvoir la culture locale, en Suède comme ailleurs. En 2003, la direction de la compagnie l’a prouvé plus que jamais en mettant sur pied un programme de soutien pour les jeunes auteurs suédois, un bel exemple de la vigueur dont elle sait faire preuve.

© Roger Stenberg/Dramaten
Intérieur du Royal Dramaten, Stockholm, Suède.

 

Site internet (en danois) : www.dramaten.se

haut de la page