This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

More for:

National Arts Centre's
Music Alive Program

Alberta and Saskatchewan

The National Arts Centre Music Alive Program in Alberta and Saskatchewan aims to support and inspire musical learning in schools. The program is designed for Grades 4-6 and offers teaching musician visits and quality resource materials to participating schools for three consecutive years, with a different theme explored through music each year.

Teaching musicians in Saskatchewan and Alberta combine performance with interactive activities to engage students through listening and participating. The Music Alive Program teaching musicians come from diverse backgrounds: many are classically-trained orchestral players, while some specialise in songwriting, traditional aboriginal music, or another musical genre.

Many participating schools have the opportunity to work closely with an individual musician, while other schools participate in the team-teaching option, where a classical musician partners with an aboriginal musician, or another musician with a different musical specialty, to take students and teachers on a cross-cultural musical exploration!

70% of participating schools are located in rural and remote areas, and many do not have music specialists on staff. The Music Alive Program is committed to supporting generalist teachers whenever possible and to providing an exciting musical experience for students all across Alberta and Saskatchewan!

The National Arts Centre Foundation would like to thank the very generous corporations and individuals who support the NAC Music Alive Program in Alberta and Saskatchewan, including Encana Corporation, Total E&P Canada, and SaskTel.

We would also like to thank the local orchestras affiliated with the Music Alive Program:
Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, Red Deer Symphony Orchestra, and Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra

Manitoba

Piloted in 2011-2012, the Music Alive Program in Manitoba has a three-fold focus:

  • Team-taught school visits for Grades 4-6, featuring an orchestral musician and an aboriginal musician
  • Supplementary resource materials, designed to be accessible to generalist teachers
  • Special workshops for students and teachers

As in Saskatchewan and Alberta, the majority of participating schools will be located in rural and remote areas. We would also like to thank our key local partners for Music Alive Manitoba: the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra and the Frontier School Division.

Nunavut

Through the Music Alive Program, the National Arts Centre is committed to supporting the incredible musical culture of Nunavut by designing, in collaboration with local partners and advisers, a comprehensive, multi-year music program. We are inspired by the rich cultural heritage of the Inuit, and want to ensure that our programming will be engaging and relevant, providing local people with opportunities to participate in meaningful musical traditions and to express themselves through music. The program also aims to help strengthen the capacity to teach music among Nunavut’s educators and musicians.

In consultation with local educators and community leaders, the NAC has developed and supported programming based on the following five principles:

  • Music Education for Children and Youth
  • Music Making in the Community
  • Building Capacity Among Educators and Musicians
  • Preserving and Celebrating Local Culture
  • Showcasing Northern Artists

The program focuses on work in selected communities on a multi-year basis, to ensure that on-going, in-depth programming can take place. Events and activities include week-long teaching musician visits; school and community workshops in areas like fiddle, Inuit drum-dancing, guitar, and throat singing; pedagogical workshops for teachers; instrument donation and delivery; music camp support; and resource development.

Music Alive Nunavut is made possible through the generous support of Honorary Patrons Janice and Earle O’Born, Travel Partner First Air, the Government of Nunavut, and Joy Maclaren, C.M., “New Sun”.

O’BORNS, HONORARY PATRONS, MAP NUNAVUT

“ A presentation/concert in our very own school!! We are a small school in a small, isolated community and usually cannot afford special presentations.”

Principal, Chief Moses Ratt School, Sucker River SK

“ Thank you for another FANTASTIC experience for our students thanks to the MAP! [Musician] Jan Amsel was amazing – her combination of playing and educating was magical….It was a privilege to have such an accomplished musician and natural teacher share with our students.”

Teacher, Glenbow School, Cochrane AB

“ We performed in the gym in front of the whole school. When we finished playing the song, everybody was clapping and whistling – it was one of the best days of my school days.”

Student at Ataguttaaluk High School, Igloolik NU, following an NAC-supported teaching artist visit

“ The [ater-school music] program was exceptionally successful and many of our students were very enthusiastic about having Greg and Lynne come to the school to teach them music. We also involved the Elders of the community who had some musical knowledge to be involved in the school program. […] We did introduce Greg to the elementary school children last year and they also were very enthusiastic. There was actually one student who came to our school every day after school hours to participate.”

Principal, Ataguttaaluk High School, Igloolik NU

“ The National Arts Centre’s Music Alive Program is doing a wonderful job of reaching out to parts of Canada that are under-served by local or regional arts organizations. I believe strongly in the power of music to help develop creativity, as well as music’s great power to help build strong communities.”

Janice O’Born, Honorary Patron, MAP Nunavut

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Ressources pour :

Programme Vive la musique (PVM)
du Centre national des Arts

Alberta et Saskatchewan

Offert en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, le programme Vive la musique du Centre national des Arts a pour but de soutenir et d’encourager l’apprentissage de la musique dans les écoles. Le programme, conçu pour les élèves de la 4e année à la 6e, consiste à procurer aux écoles participantes, trois années de suite, des visites de musiciens enseignants et des ressources pédagogiques de qualité, abordant chaque année un thème différent au moyen de la musique.

Les musiciens enseignants à l’œuvre en Saskatchewan et en Alberta offrent un mélange de prestations et d’activités interactives pour capter l’attention des élèves par l’écoute et la participation active. Les musiciens enseignants du programme Vive la musique sont issus d’horizons divers : bon nombre d’entre eux sont des musiciens d’orchestre de formation classique, tandis que d’autres se spécialisent dans l’écriture de chansons, les musiques traditionnelles autochtones ou d’autres genres musicaux.

Beaucoup d’écoles participantes ont l’occasion de collaborer étroitement avec un musicien en particulier; d’autres accueillent plutôt une équipe d’enseignants dans laquelle un musicien de formation classique s’associe à un musicien autochtone – ou spécialisé dans un autre genre musical – pour faire vivre aux élèves et aux enseignants une expérience musicale interculturelle.

Pas moins de 70 % des écoles participantes sont situées en milieu rural et dans des régions éloignées, et la plupart n’ont pas d’enseignant spécialisé en musique parmi leur personnel. Le programme Vive la musique épaule et appuie les enseignants généralistes dans toute la mesure du possible, et offre une expérience musicale passionnante et enrichissante aux élèves partout en Alberta et en Saskatchewan.

La Fondation du Centre national des Arts tient à remercier les entreprises et les particuliers qui appuient très généreusement le programme Vive la musique du CNA en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, notamment les sociétés Encana Corporation, Total E&P Canada, et SaskTel.

Nous tenons aussi à remercier les orchestres locaux associés au programme Vive la musique :
L’Orchestre philharmonique de Calgary, l’Orchestre symphonique d’Edmonton, l’Orchestre symphonique de Red Deer, et l’Orchestre symphonique de Saskatoon.

Manitoba

Lancé à titre de projet-pilote en 2011-2012, le programme Vive la musique au Manitoba comporte trois volets :

  • Les visites dans les écoles d’équipes de professeurs, composées d’un musicien d’orchestre et d’un musicien autochtone, pour les élèves de la 4e année à la 6e.
  • Des ressources didactiques complémentaires, accessibles aux enseignants généralistes.
  • Des ateliers spécialisés pour les élèves et les enseignants.

Tout comme en Saskatchewan et en Alberta, la majorité des écoles participantes sont situées dans des régions rurales et éloignées.

Nous souhaitons aussi remercier nos principaux partenaires locaux du programme Vive la musique Manitoba : l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg et la Division scolaire Frontier.

Nunavut

À l’aide du programme Vive la musique, le Centre national des Arts s’est engagé à valoriser l’extraordinaire culture musicale du Nunavut en concevant, en collaboration avec des partenaires et des consultants locaux, un programme pluriannuel complet d’activités musicales. Nous sommes inspirés par la richesse du patrimoine culturel inuit, et nous voulons faire en sorte que notre programmation soit attrayante et pertinente, et qu’elle procure aux population locales des occasions de prendre part à des traditions musicales significatives et de s’exprimer par la musique. Le programme vise aussi à rehausser les compétences des éducateurs et des musiciens du Nunavut en matière d’enseignement de la musique.

En consultation avec des éducateurs et des chefs de file des collectivités locales, le CNA a développé et soutenu une programmation qui s’articule autour des cinq axes suivants :

  • Éducation musicale pour les enfants et les jeunes
  • Pratiques musicales au sein de la coillectivité
  • Acquisition de compétences pour les éducateurs et les musiciens
  • Préservation et mise en valeur des cultures locales
  • Diffusion des artistes du Nord

Le programme s’échelonne sur plusieurs années dans chacune des collectivités sélectionnées, afin d’assurer la mise en place d’une programmation permanente et approfondie. Les activités comprennent des séjours d’une semaine des musiciens enseignants; des ateliers portant sur des arts comme le violon populaire, les tambours et danses traditionnels inuits, la guitare et le chant de gorge, tenus dans les écoles et les centres communautaires; des ateliers pédagogiques destinés aux enseignants; des dons et livraisons d’instruments; un soutien à des camps musicaux; et le développement de ressources.

Le programme Vive la musique Nunavut est rendu possible grâce au généreux appui des organisations suivantes : parrain d’honneur de l’initiative, Janice et Earle O’Born, First Air, transporteur partenaire, et le gouvernement de Nunavut, et Joy Maclaren, C.M., “New Sun”.

« Merci pour la visite - les élèves ont beaucoup apprécié. J'ai apprécié aussi que c'était en français. Les animateurs étaient bien qualifiés; ils ont bien animé cet atelier.»

Enseignante, École Ducharme, Moose Jaw SK

« Vraiment, c’était une présentation et atelier fantastique!»

Enseignante, École Providence, Vonda SK

« Les présentations, la documentation, les ressources, etc. sont beaucoup appréciées!!!»

Enseignant, École Notre-Dame, Edmonton AB

« J'ai utilisé le matériel pédagogique que vous m'aviez laissé. C'est fantastique! Nous avons écouté Vivaldi, nous avons dessiné Vivaldi et nous allons jouer Vivaldi en percussions pour le spectacle du 9 juin... c'est formidable! Merci beaucoup. »

Enseignante, École des trios-soleils, Iqaluit NU

« Le programme Vive la musique du Centre national des Arts accomplit quelque chose de merveilleux en touchant des populations au Canada qui ont difficilement accès à des organisations artistiques locales ou régionales. Je crois fermement dans le pouvoir qu’a la musique de développer la créativité et, plus encore, de bâtir des communautés fortes. »

Janice O’Born, marraine d’honneur, Vive la musique (Nunavut)