This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

More for:
timeline

Franz Joseph Haydn

"Rags to Riches"

Joseph Haydn's story begins on March 31, 1732, in a poor peasant home in Rohrau. (Rohrau was in what is now called Austria.) Joseph loved to sing and he had a good voice. In those days, being musically talented gave many poor boys a chance at a better life.

When Haydn was six years old, he moved to Hainburg to live with a distant relative, Johann Mathias Franck. Franck was the church schoolmaster and choir director there. Franz Joseph Haydn became a choirboy.

Two years later, he was selected to move to Vienna and sing in Karl Georg Reutters's choir. Joseph Haydn was eight years old. In that choir, Haydn became an expert at singing and sight-reading. He also learned to play instruments like the harpsichord, violin and organ.

Haydn was expelled from school when he was 17. He had cut off another boy's pigtail. That prank looked like it would be the end of his good luck.

Joseph Haydn had no money, no references and no place to live. It was the wintertime and he was out on the streets of Vienna. He had only one worn coat and three ragged shirts to call his own. He couldn't even earn a living singing because his voice was changing. He wasn't really good enough at playing instruments to make any money that way either.

Haydn found a cheap apartment to lease. It had an "old worm-eaten clavichord" in it. Tenants in the building introduced Haydn to people who hired him to teach their children music. He also met an Italian composer, Niccolo Porpora. Haydn talked Porpora into teaching him Italian, singing and composition.

Nine years later, Joseph Haydn was hired as the music director and composer for Count Karl Joseph Franz's private orchestra. Haydn composed his first symphony for that wind-based, 10-15 instrument orchestra. After only one year, Joseph was "down-sized" because the Count had money troubles.

"Papa Haydn"

Haydn became the assistant conductor for the Hungarian Prince Paul Anton Esterhazy. This time was known as Haydn's Sturm und Drang (strong, passionate, expressive) period. During that time, he also wrote compositions for many other members of the European nobility. Haydn was a great composer and a very good leader! He took good care of the needs of the other musicians under him. They loved and respected him in return. He was known by them as "Papa" Haydn.

Haydn's Symphony Names and Their Stories

The orchestra musicians had been away from their families for months. They wanted to go home. The Prince didn't feel like returning. Haydn composed the "Farewell" Symphony as a clever protest to motivate his employer.

In the last movement, "Papa" Haydn had one instrument after another play a solo. The musician would stop playing, snuff out a candle and leave the stage carrying the instrument. At the end of the symphony, only the conductor and two violinists are left. The Prince gave the order to return home the next day.

Haydn also composed:

    Drum Roll
    The Clock
    Military
    The Miracle
    Surprise
    Farewell

Never Too Old To Learn

When Haydn was 58 years old, he decided he had more to learn. He moved to London, England. He wanted to work with London's large, well-trained orchestras. (Remember, Haydn had mainly worked with small orchestras.) In London, Joseph heard Handel's music and was inspired to focus on vocal music as well.

Haydn had great success in England! The British aristocracy overflowed his concert halls. They came to hear the work of the great Austrian composer.

Is There A Language Everyone Understands?

Before going to London, Haydn spent his last day in Vienna with a dear friend, Mozart. As they parted, in tears Mozart said,   "Oh, Papa, you have no education for the wide world,   and you speak so few languages...   I am afraid, Papa, this will be our last farewell!"
Haydn replied,   "But my language is understood all over the world."

    What language was Haydn talking about?
    Do you agree with him?
    Are you learning to speak that language?

Mozart's prediction was correct. It was their last farewell.
Mozart died while Haydn was in England. The loss of his friend and fellow composer caused Haydn great sadness.

Haydn Liked Variety in His Friends

Mozart and Haydn were close friends although they were very different. Mozart died at the age of 36. At 36, Haydn hadn't written any of the compositions he is best known for. Mozart was moody. Haydn was even-tempered. Mozart loved giving solo performances. Haydn much preferred to conduct. Mozart was quite disorganised with everything, including money. He died penniless. Haydn loved order and neatness and managed his income very well.

Beethoven came to Vienna to study music under Haydn. They found they couldn't work together. Haydn thought Beethoven was too stubborn and suspicious of everything. They were opposites politically. Beethoven admired Napoleon and the French Revolution. Haydn supported royalty and opposed Napoleon. Even with their differences, they admired each other's abilities.

Boundless Energy

Haydn released his energy in operas, string quartets, elegant symphonies and church music. He wrote two oratorios, The Creation and The Seasons
When he wrote The Creation it was a deeply moving and spiritual experience for him. It remained his crowning achievement in oratorio.

He composed beautiful music until 1803. Six years later, in 1809, the French Emperor, Napoleon, attacked Austria. Although the outskirts of Vienna was bombarded for 24 hours, Haydn refused to leave his home. Later, Napoleon placed a guard of honour around Haydn's house. The explosions had used up the last of old "Papa's" energy. He died in his sleep. The entire cultured world of Vienna came to Franz Joseph Haydn's funeral to say good-bye.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Ressources pour :
timeline

Franz Joseph Haydn

Un bon exemple de réussite sociale

L'histoire de Franz Joseph Haydn débute le 31 mars 1732, dans une famille modeste de paysans habitant à Rohrau. (Rohrau se trouve aujourd'hui en Autriche.) Haydn aime chanter et il a une belle voix. À cette époque, le fait d'être doué pour la musique permet à de nombreux jeunes garçons d'améliorer leur sort.

Lorsque Haydn a six ans, il emménage à Hainburg, chez un parent éloigné, Johann Mathias Franck. Monsieur Franck est le maître d'école et le directeur de la chorale de l'église. Haydn devient enfant de choeur.

Deux ans plus tard, il est choisi pour aller vivre à Vienne et chanter dans la chorale de Karl Georg Reutters. Il a alors huit ans. Dans cette chorale, Haydn devient un excellent chanteur et apprend à lire la musique à vue et à jouer de divers instruments comme le clavecin, le violon et l'orgue.

Haydn est expulsé de l'école à l'âge de 17 ans pour avoir coupé la natte d'un autre garçon. Cette mauvaise blague semble être le début de sa malchance.

Haydn n'a pas d'argent, aucune référence et pas de logis. Il se retrouve dans les rues de Vienne en plein hiver avec pour seuls biens un manteau râpé et trois chemises usées. Il ne peut même plus gagner sa vie en chantant parce que sa voix a mué et il ne sait jouer d'aucun instrument suffisamment bien pour en tirer un revenu.

Il loue un appartement bon marché, où il trouve un vieux clavicorde vermoulu. Les autres locataires de l'immeuble présentent Haydn à des gens qui l'engagent comme professeur de musique pour leurs enfants. Il fait aussi la connaissance d'un compositeur italien, Niccolo Porpora, à qui il demande de lui enseigner l'italien, le chant et la composition.

Neuf ans plus tard, le comte Karl Joseph Franz engage Joseph Haydn comme directeur musical et compositeur de son propre orchestre. Haydn compose sa première symphonie pour cet ensemble à vent formé de 10 à 15 instruments. Après une année seulement, Haydn perd son emploi parce que le comte a des problèmes financiers.

"Papa Haydn"

Haydn devient le chef d'orchestre adjoint du prince hongrois Paul Anton Esterházy. Ces années correspondent à la période Sturm und Drang (expression passionnée des sentiments) de Haydn. À cette époque, Haydn compose aussi des œvres pour de nombreux autres membres de la noblesse européenne. Haydn est un grand compositeur et un très bon chef d'orchestre, qui se soucie des besoins des musiciens qu'il dirige. En retour, ceux-ci ont pour lui beaucoup d'affection et de respect et l'appellent « papa Haydn ».

Les titres des symphonies de Haydn et leur histoire

Les musiciens de l'orchestre sont séparés de leur famille depuis des mois. Ils voudraient rentrer chez eux, mais le prince veut rester à Esterhaza. Haydn compose la Symphonie des adieux, une forme subtile de protestation, pour convaincre son employeur de partir.

Au cours du dernier mouvement, « papa Haydn » fait jouer un solo à chacun des instruments à tour de rôle. Après son morceau, chaque musicien s'arrête de jouer, souffle une chandelle et quitte la scène en emportant son instrument. À la fin de la symphonie, il ne reste plus sur scène que le chef d'orchestre et deux violonistes. Le lendemain, le prince donne l'ordre de quitter Esterhaza.

Haydn a également composé les œvres suivantes :

    Le Roulement de timbales
    L'Horloge
    Militaire
    La Symphonie Miracle
    La Symphonie Surprise
    La Symphonie des adieux

On n'est jamais trop vieux pour apprendre

À 58 ans, Haydn décide qu'il a encore des choses à apprendre et il se rend à Londres, en Angleterre. Il désire travailler avec les grands orchestres composés de musiciens fort compétents de cette ville. (N'oubliez pas que jusqu'à ce moment, Haydn n'a dirigé essentiellement que de petits orchestres.) À Londres, Joseph entend la musique de Haendel et entreprend lui aussi d'écrire de la musique vocale.

Haydn connaît un succès retentissant en Angleterre! Lors de ses concerts, les salles sont remplies d'aristocrates anglais venus entendre les œvres du grand compositeur autrichien.

Y a-t-il une langue que tout le monde comprend?

Avant de partir pour Londres, Haydn passe sa dernière journée à Vienne en compagnie de son bon ami Mozart. Au moment du départ, Mozart s'exclame en sanglotant : « Oh, papa, vous n'avez pas l'habitude de voyager et vous ne parlez pas les langues étrangères... J'ai bien peur, papa, que nous nous revoyions jamais plus! » Ce à quoi Haydn répond : « Mais la langue que je parle est comprise dans le monde entier. »

À quelle langue Haydn fait-il référence? Êtes-vous d'accord avec lui? Apprenez-vous à parler cette langue?

Le pressentiment de Mozart s'avère juste : ce sera leur dernière rencontre. Mozart mourra pendant le séjour de Haydn en Angleterre. La perte de son ami et confrère attriste profondément Haydn.

Haydn a des amis aux personnalités variées

Même s'ils sont fort différents, Mozart et Haydn sont de bons amis. Mozart meurt à l'âge de 36 ans. À cet âge, Haydn n'a encore écrit aucune des compositions dont on se souvient le plus. Mozart est sujet aux sautes d'humeur, tandis que Haydn est d'humeur égale. Mozart adore donner des spectacles solos; Haydn préfère diriger un orchestre. Mozart est très désordonné dans tout, même dans ses finances. Il mourra d'ailleurs sans le sou. Haydn, lui, aime l'ordre et la propreté et il gère très bien ses revenus.

Beethoven vient à Vienne pour étudier la musique en compagnie de Haydn. Les deux hommes décœvrent qu'ils ne sont pas capables de travailler ensemble. Haydn trouve que Beethoven est trop têtu et qu'il a tendance à se méfier de tout. Sur le plan politique, ils sont aux antipodes. Beethoven admire Napoléon et la Révolution française. Haydn est fidèle à la royauté et s'oppose à Napoléon. Malgré ces différences, chacun respecte le talent de l'autre.

L'énergie créatrice de Haydn

Haydn consacre son énergie à écrire des opéras, des quatuors à cordes, d'élégantes symphonies et de la musique religieuse. Il compose deux oratorios, La Création et Les Saisons. L'écriture de La Création est pour lui une expérience spirituelle d'une grande intensité. Cette pièce demeure un chef-d'œvre dans le genre de l'oratorio.

Haydn compose de la musique sublime jusqu'en 1803. Six ans plus tard, en 1809, l'empereur français, Napoléon, attaque l'Autriche. Même si les faubourgs de Vienne sont soumis à un intense bombardement pendant 24 heures, Haydn refuse de quitter sa maison. Plus tard, Napoléon poste une garde d'honneur autour de la maison de Haydn. Les explosions ont miné l'énergie du cher « papa », qui meurt dans son sommeil. Tout le milieu culturel de Vienne assiste aux funérailles de Franz Joseph Haydn pour lui rendre un dernier hommage.