This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

More for:

Submit Your Work

This is where you can be in the spotlight! Send us artwork, news, photos and reviews pertaining to your involvement and interest in music.

Please include your name, age, school, grade level, city and province.

Submit your artwork by email to artsweb@nac-cna.ca

Or Mail to:
ArtsAlive.ca
National Arts Centre
53 Elgin Street
PO Box 1534, Station B
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5W1

The National Arts Centre reserves the right to use, reproduce and disclose your name along with any audio or video recordings, photographic imagery, drawings or letters that you submit to ArtsAlive.ca. All entries become the property of the NAC and will not be returned.

My Day with Amanda Forsyth
By Irena Wight


image 1963

On Saturday, April 26, 2008 at the Elmwood School Auction my parents won for me a shadow-day with the NAC’s first cellist, Amanda Forsyth. On Wednesday, June 11, 2008, this prize became reality.

Amanda met me at the backstage security office at the National Arts Centre where I was sitting and waiting anxiously. She started telling me all about things like the different positions of the orchestra, which members get their own dressing rooms, what happens backstage etc. I had never been backstage at a theatre, so it was a whole new experience. Amanda took me into Mr. Zukerman’s dressing room and starting warming up on her 1699 Carlo Giuseppe Testore cello.

During the first rehearsal, the orchestra practiced the Symphony No. 9 in D minor by Anton Bruckner. This rehearsal was split into halves with a 15-minute break in between. For the first half I sat at the back of the concert hall. After an hour and a half, Amanda came to get me, took me backstage and introduced me to different orchestra members. Then she took me down to the Music Library and explained that this is where all of the music is kept. The Librarians told me that they send out music if the orchestra is going on tour, and how they get music if they don’t already own it, or if the composer has not been dead for over 50 years. 

For the second half of the morning rehearsal, I sat in a box on the first row to get a different perspective of the orchestra and the volume of the sound they produce. I enjoyed this view more because I could see all of the orchestra members, and I would try to figure out which instruments were being played at what moment. This half of the rehearsal was not as long as the first half and it ended at 1:30pm.

image 1963

Before we went for lunch, Amanda told me that there was a change in the schedule and the afternoon rehearsal, which was planned for 3:00pm to 5:30pm, would now take place from 5:30pm to 8:00pm. This was not a big inconvenience for me.  I just called my mom and told her to pick me up in an hour, because Amanda was going to take me for lunch at Le Café.

For lunch, Amanda also invited her husband, Pinchas Zukerman, her best friend Leanne La Croix, and fellow cellist Wolf Tormann. Since it was a beautiful day, we decided to eat outside on the patio. We talked about Amanda’s experience at The Juilliard School, what it is like to tour, that travelling helps people interpret music differently, and about Amanda’s three-year-old Maltese puppy, Yoji. We took lots of photos, and had a lot of fun.

After lunch, my mom picked me up, and at 5:30pm she dropped me off once more so I could listen to the second rehearsal. Again, this rehearsal was split into two halves with a 15 minute break in between. For the first half, I sat at the back of the orchestra beside the timpani. This was a totally new and exciting experience because I could see the concert hall from the perspective of the orchestra. It made me think that I would perhaps like to be a pianist after all. During this half of the rehearsal, they again practiced parts of the Bruckner Symphony No. 9 in D minor.

image 1963

For the second half of the rehearsal, Yefim Bronfman performed a little section of the Mozart Piano Concerto No. 22 in E-flat major, K. 482. For this production, I sat on a balcony so I could see his hands. They were extremely quick, and I was amazed at how he did not overplay the piece, and how he could memorize it all so well that he could start at any point in the piece without difficulty.

The following evening, my parents and I went to the concert where the orchestra and pianist performed the same pieces I had listened to during the rehearsals. It amazed me how much they had improved in only a day and a half!

Overall, I had a tremendously educational day, and it helped me see the performing arts from a whole new perspective.

 

Photos
Top: Amanda and Irena at Le Café
Middle: Amanda, Irena, Pinchas
Bottom: Yefim Bronfman and Irena on the Southam Hall stage at the NAC

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Ressources pour :

À vous la parole

Entrez vous-même en scène! Envoyez-nous des affiches, des dessins, des nouvelles, des photos et des critiques se rapportant à votre intérêt pour la musique et à vos activités dans ce domaine.

Adressez vos envois à :
artsweb@nac-cna.ca

ou par la poste à :
Artsvivants.ca
Centre national des Arts
53, rue Elgin
C. P. 1534, succursale B
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5W1

Le Centre National des Arts se réserve le droit d'utiliser, de reproduire et de divulguer votre nom de même que tout document sonore, vidéo, photographique, toute image, tout dessin ou toute lettre adressée par vous à Artsvivants.ca.

Ma journée avec Amanda Forsyth
par Irena Wight


image 1963

Le samedi 26 avril 2008, à la vente aux enchères de l’école Elmwood, mes parents ont remporté pour moi une journée en coulisses en compagnie du violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre du CNA, Amanda Forsyth. Le mercredi 11 juin 2008, ce lot est devenu réalité.

J'étais assise, ayant peine à contenir mon excitation, quand Amanda est arrivée à ma rencontre au poste de sécurité de l'Entrée des artistes du Centre national des Arts. Elle m'a expliqué une foule de choses, comme les différentes places à l'orchestre; elle m'a indiqué quels membres disposent de leur propre salle d'habillage et m'a montré comment ça se passe à l'arrière-scène. Je n'avais jamais mis les pieds dans les coulisses d'un théâtre. Quelle belle expérience! Amanda m'a ensuite emmenée au studio de M. Zukerman et a commencé à se réchauffer sur son violoncelle Carlo Giuseppe Testore de 1699.

Durant la première répétition, l’orchestre a répété la Symphonie no 9 en ré mineur d’Anton Bruckner. Cette répétition était divisée en deux parties, avec une pause de quinze minutes. Pour la première partie, j’étais assise au fond de la salle de concert. Au bout d’une heure et demie, Amanda est venue me chercher et m’a emmenée en coulisses, où elle m’a présentée à différents membres de l’orchestre. Elle m’a ensuite emmenée à la Musicothèque et m’a dit que c’est à cet endroit que toute la musique est conservée. Les bibliothécaires m’ont expliqué qu’ils envoient la musique à l’extérieur quand l’orchestre part en tournée, et de quelle façon ils se procurent les musiques qu’ils n’ont pas déjà ou dont le compositeur n’est pas décédé depuis plus de cinquante ans. 

Pour la deuxième partie de la répétition du matin, j’étais installée dans une loge au premier rang afin d’avoir une autre perspective de l’orchestre et du volume du son qu’il produit. J’ai davantage apprécié ce point de vue parce que je pouvais voir tous les membres de l’orchestre, et j’essayais de déterminer quels instruments étaient joués à tel ou tel moment. Cette partie de la répétition n’était pas aussi longue que la première partie et elle a pris fin à 13 h 30.

image 1963 Avant que nous allions dîner, Amanda m’a dit qu’il y avait un changement à l’horaire et que la répétition de l’après-midi, qui devait avoir lieu de 15 h à 17 h 30, allait plutôt être tenue de 17 h 30 à 20 h. Ça ne me posait pas de problèmes. J’ai simplement appelé ma mère pour lui dire de passer me prendre dans une heure, parce qu’Amanda m’emmenait dîner avec elle au restaurant Le Café.

Pour le lunch, Amanda avait invité son mari, Pinchas Zukerman, sa meilleure amie Leanne La Croix et son collègue violoncelliste Wolf Tormann. Comme le temps était radieux, nous avons mangé sur la terrasse. Nous avons parlé de l'expérience d'Amanda à la Juilliard School, de la vie en tournée. J'ai appris que les voyages aident les musiciens à interpréter la musique différemment. On a aussi parlé du petit chien maltais de trois ans d'Amanda, Yoji. On a pris des tonnes de photos. C'était super!

Après le dîner, ma mère est passée me prendre et à 17 h 30, elle m’a ramenée pour que je puisse assister à la deuxième répétition. Une fois de plus, cette répétition était divisée en deux parties avec une pause de quinze minutes entre les deux. Pour la première partie, j’étais assise à l’arrière de l’orchestre, à côté des timbales. C’était une expérience entièrement nouvelle et passionnante parce qu’elle m’a permis de voir la salle de concert du point de vue de l’orchestre. Cela m’a amenée à penser que j’aimerais peut-être bien devenir pianiste, après tout. Pendant cette partie de la répétition, ils ont à nouveau répété des extraits de la Symphonie no 9 en ré mineur de Bruckner.

image 1963

Pour la seconde partie de la répétition, Yefim Bronfman a joué un court extrait du Concerto pour piano no 22 en mi bémol majeur, K. 482 de Mozart. Pour ce morceau, j’étais assise au balcon, de sorte que je pouvais voir ses mains. Elles étaient extrêmement rapides et j’ai été impressionnée de le voir jouer la pièce avec tant de naturel, et aussi qu’il l’ait si bien mémorisée qu’il pouvait commencer à n’importe quel passage sans aucune difficulté.

Le lendemain soir, mes parents m’ont emmenée au concert où l’orchestre et le pianiste jouaient les mêmes pièces que j’avais entendues dans les répétitions. J’ai été épatée de constater combien ils avaient progressé en seulement une journée et demie!

Dans l’ensemble, j’ai passé une journée merveilleusement éducative, et cela m’a aidée à voir les arts de la scène sous un angle entièrement nouveau. .

 

Photos :
Amanda et Irena au restaurant Le Café.
Amanda, Irena et Pinchas.
Yefim Bronfman et Irena sur la scène de la salle Southam au CNA.