This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

When I was planning to stage a production of Chekhov’s The Seagull, I wanted a translation with this sense of wholeness. I thought immediately of David French, whose Mercer family plays suggest a strong affinity between his sensibility and that of Chekhov.

Bill Glassco

Director
(from the introduction to The Seagull by Anton Chekhov, translated by David French, General Publishing Company Limited, 1977)

David attended every second of every rehearsal for all four revivals I directed at Soulpepper: Leaving Home, Salt-Water Moon, Of The Fields, Lately and Jitters, the latter while he was battling the disease that took his life. His tenacity, fierce loyalty as well as his love for life, laughter and the theatre were not just in his plays... We were so lucky to have first-hand evidence of it, and to be with his genius day in day out.

Ted Dykstra

actor and director

Career: Realizing the

Full Potential

David French wrote his first script, Beckons the Dark River, when he was 23. He sold it to CBC television for $400. He continued to write for the CBC until the summer of 1971, when he wrote a one-act script which he knew was intended for the stage almost as soon as he began writing it. That script, originally titled The Keepers of the House, would change Canadian theatre forever.

Later that year, while watching a pay-what-you-can matinee of Creeps, the first play at the new Tarragon Theatre, he decided that the man who directed it should direct his script. French didn’t realize it at the time, but Tarragon co-founder Jane Glassco was the woman in the box office whom he asked for the home phone number of its artistic director, Bill Glassco. She agreed – and even let him use the phone. “Mr. Glassco, you don’t know me. My name is David French and I’ve written a play… would you read it?”

The two men met and discussed the play. As French told the story, Glassco said, “I like the play, but I don’t think you’ve realized the full potential in it.” The young playwright swore and stormed out of the theatre, but Glassco chased him down. “Let’s talk,” Glassco said. “I am your friend, not your enemy.” With input from Glassco, French expanded the manuscript, which became the two-act play Leaving Home. Bill Glassco remained a friend and over the next thirty years directed the premiere of all David French’s plays, all but three at the Tarragon Theatre.

As Urjo Kareda, Tarragon Theatre Artistic Director from 1982 to 2001, wrote:

On the evening of May 16, 1972, almost thirty years ago, I came to Tarragon as part of my job as drama critic for The Toronto Star. It was near the end of the theatre’s first-ever season, and Bill Glassco, the founding artistic director, had programmed a first stage play by a young Newfoundland-born writer who had grown up in Toronto. The playwright was David French and the play was Leaving Home. The impact of that evening would be impossible to forget. Ever. Leaving Home was about the Mercer family, also Newfoundlanders relocated to Toronto, but David French’s skill was such that it was also a play about all our families. The play’s power and its heart, both thrillingly brought to life in Bill’s production, knocked all of us out of our seats. Leaving Home was the play and the evening – I’ve always believed – that put Tarragon Theatre onto the map. And it soon became clear that this young writer was not yet finished with the Mercer family.

(from the Tarragon Theatre’s study guide for Soldiers’ Heart, the last play written about the Mercer family)

Tarragon Theatre was founded to nurture new playwrights and Bill Glassco did just that with David French: he chose to include one of his plays in seven of the eleven years he ran the theatre. Glassco continued advancing French’s writing after leaving the Tarragon, remounting the hit Jitters in his first season upon becoming Artistic Director of Centre Stage, then Toronto’s largest theatre company. In 1988 that company merged with the smaller Toronto Free Theatre to become the Canadian Stage Company. It was here that Glassco directed the premieres of French’s 1949 and Silver Dagger.

In more recent years, three experiences with revival productions were particularly close to David French’s heart, according to his partner Glenda MacFarlane. Soulpepper Theatre championed his work with four critically acclaimed productions directed by Ted Dykstra – Leaving Home (2007), Salt-Water Moon (2008), Of the Fields, Lately (2009) and Jitters (2010) – demonstrating to the playwright that his plays had indeed become classics. French attended all the rehearsals for the Soulpepper productions.

In 2007, David French directed a production of Salt-Water Moon at the Charlottetown Festival in PEI. This was the only occasion in his long career that he ever directed his own work.

And in the summer of 2009, Theatre Newfoundland Labrador produced all five of the Mercer plays in a single season – the only theatre ever to have done so – as part of their Gros Morne Theatre Festival in Cow Head, NL. Many of the same actors appeared in multiple plays, which were performed concurrently throughout the summer.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Lorsque j’ai eu ce projet de signer la mise en scène d’une production de la pièce The Seagull (La Mouette) de Tchekhov, je cherchais une traduction qui donne un effet de plénitude. J’ai immédiatement pensé à David French, dont les pièces portant sur la famille Mercer suggèrent une étroite affinité entre la sensibilité de l’auteur et celle de Tchekhov.

Bill Glassco

metteur en scène (extrait du préambule de The Seagull d’Anton Tchekhov, traduit par David French, General Publishing Company Limited, 1977)

David a assisté à chaque minute de chacune des répétitions des quatre pièces de lui que Soulpepper Theatre a revisitées : Leaving Home, Salt-Water Moon, Of The Fields, Lately et Jitters. Pendant que nous montions cette dernière pièce, il combattait la maladie qui l’a finalement emporté. Sa ténacité, sa loyauté totale et son amour de la vie, de même que son humour et sa passion pour le théâtre habitent ses pièces… Et nous sommes privilégiés d’avoir côtoyé un tel génie pendant toutes ces journées.

Ted Dykstra

comédien et metteur en scène

Sa carrière:

Un potentiel énorme

David French écrit son premier scénario, intitulé Beckons the Dark River, à l’âge de 23 ans, et le vend 400 $ au réseau de télévision de CBC. Il continue d’écrire pour CBC jusqu’à l’été 1971. Il écrit alors un scénario en un acte ayant pour titre The Keepers of the House. Il sait dès le départ que cette histoire est faite pour la scène, et effectivement, The Keepers of the House changera à tout jamais le théâtre canadien.

Cette même année, alors qu’il assiste à une matinée « à libre contribution » de la pièce Creeps, la toute première pièce de la nouvelle compagnie Tarragon Theatre, il se dit que le metteur en scène de Creeps est l’homme qu’il lui faut pour la mise en scène de The Keepers of the House. French passe sur-le-champ à la billetterie et demande à la préposée – qui est nulle autre que Jane Glassco, épouse du metteur en scène et cofondatrice de la compagnie – le numéro de téléphone de Bill Glassco. La préposée tend l’appareil à French qui dit alors au metteur en scène : « Bonjour M. Glassco, je m’appelle David French. Vous ne me connaissez pas, mais j’ai écrit une pièce de théâtre et j’aimerais que vous la lisiez… »

Les deux hommes se rencontrent pour discuter de la pièce. Pendant que French lui raconte l’histoire, Glassco l’interrompt : « J’aime votre pièce, mais je ne crois pas que vous vous rendiez compte de tout le potentiel que porte cette histoire. » Furieux d’être ainsi rabroué, le jeune auteur se lève et sort du théâtre, mais Glassco le rattrape : « Attendez… parlons un peu, » dit-il. « Je suis votre ami, pas votre ennemi… ». C’est ainsi qu’avec les conseils de Glassco, French développe l’histoire et en fait une pièce en deux actes qu’il intitule Leaving Home. L’amitié entre les deux hommes ne se démentira jamais. Pendant les trente années qui suivent, Glassco met en scène chacune des productions des pièces de French, toutes présentées au Tarragon Theatre, sauf trois.

Comme l’a écrit Urjo Kareda, directeur artistique du Tarragon Theatre de 1982 à 2001 :

« Il y a près de 30 ans, le 16 mai 1972, j’ai assisté à une pièce de théâtre au Tarragon Theatre. J’étais alors critique de théâtre au Toronto Star. C’était la fin de la première saison de la compagnie, qui présentait la toute première pièce d’un jeune auteur terre-neuvien qui avait grandi à Toronto. L’auteur en question s’appelait David French et la pièce s’intitulait Leaving Home. Je n’oublierai jamais cette soirée. Leaving Home racontait l’histoire de la famille Mercer qui, comme l’auteur, était originaire de Terre-Neuve et vivait à Toronto. Mais French avait ce talent d’inventer des histoires universelles. La pièce, d’une grande force et d’une grande charge émotive, et brillamment mise en scène par Bill, a ébloui tous les spectateurs présents, moi compris. Leaving Home a été la pièce qui a véritablement mis au monde la compagnie Tarragon Theatre. Et il était évident, ce soir-là, que le jeune auteur de la pièce n’en avait pas fini avec la famille Mercer.

(extrait du guide pédagogique du Tarragon Theatre pour la pièce Soldier’s Heart, dernière pièce de David French mettant en scène la famille Mercer)

Tarragon Theatre s’était donné comme mission de contribuer à l’émergence de jeunes auteurs dramatiques, et c’est exactement ce que Bill Glassco a fait avec David French. Glassco a mis à l’affiche une pièce de French à sept des onze saisons où il a dirigé la compagnie. Et après en avoir quitté la direction, il a continué de s’intéresser au travail de French, puisque dès sa première saison à titre de directeur artistique de Centre Stage, la plus grande compagnie de théâtre de Toronto d’alors, il a monté à nouveau la pièce à succès Jitters. En 1988, Centre Stage a fusionné ses activités avec une petite compagnie, le Toronto Free Theatre, pour former la Canadian Stage Company. Pour cette compagnie, il a monté deux pièces de French, 1949 et Silver Dagger.

Plus récemment, trois expériences théâtrales ont particulièrement touché David French, selon sa compagne Glenda MacFarlane. Ted Dykstra a mis en scène, pour le Soulpepper Theatre, quatre de ses pièces qui ont toutes obtenu un grand succès : Leaving Home (2007), Salt-Water Moon (2008), Of the Fields, Lately (2009) et Jitters (2010), confirmant ainsi que les pièces de French étaient devenues des classiques de notre dramaturgie. L’auteur a assisté à toutes les répétitions des productions de la Soulpepper.

En 2007, David French a lui-même mis en scène sa pièce Salt-Water Moon dans le cadre du Charlottetown Festival, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. C’est la seule et unique fois où il a signé la mise en scène d’une de ses pièces.

Enfin, à l’été 2009, la compagnie Theatre Newfoundland Labrador a fait ce qu’aucun théâtre n’a jamais fait, c’est-à-dire monter au cours d’une même saison les cinq pièces de French racontant l’histoire de la famille Mercer, pièces présentées dans le cadre du Gros Morne Theatre Festival à Cow Head (Terre-Neuve). Bon nombre des comédiens jouaient dans plusieurs pièces, qui furent présentées simultanément pendant l’été.