This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

This was a man who knew he wanted to be a playwright when he was in his early teens in the 1950s, when no such thing as a Canadian playwright existed.

Hrant Alianak

Playwright and actor

David Benson French, O.C.


1939-2010

Playwright David French was born in the tiny Newfoundland outport of Coley’s Point on January 18, 1939, the middle child in a family of five boys. His father, Garfield French, was a carpenter, and during World War II worked in Canada for the Eastern Air Command. After the war, French’s mother, Edith, came to Ontario with the boys to join their father, and the family settled in Toronto in 1945 amidst a thriving community of Newfoundland exiles.

David French attended Rawlinson Public School, Harbord Collegiate and Oakwood Collegiate in Toronto. He was indifferent to books until Grade 8, when his English teacher, to punish him for talking in class, told French to sit down and read a book. The book he happened to pull off the shelf was Mark Twain’s The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. French said that by the time he finished reading it, he not only knew that he wanted to be a writer – he knew that he was one. Almost immediately he began to publish original stories and poems.

After finishing high school, David French trained as an actor. He spent a summer at the Pasadena Playhouse (California), and studied at various acting studios in Toronto. In the early 1960s, he played roles on stage and in CBC television dramas. Then he began writing dramas for television.

In 1971, French heard about a new theatre in Toronto, the Tarragon, which was producing a play called Creeps. After seeing the play, French was so impressed that he called up the director, Bill Glassco, and asked him to read a play he’d been working on. Glassco said yes, read the play – Leaving Home – and produced it in the final slot of the Tarragon’s first season. It was the beginning of a collaboration between the two men which was to last for over thirty years. David French was one of the first Canadians who could make his living and work full-time as a playwright. He lived in Toronto for most of the year and went to Prince Edward Island every summer.

In total, French wrote five very successful plays about the Mercer family. He also authored the popular backstage comedy Jitters, the mystery-thriller Silver Dagger, as well as That Summer, One Crack Out, and The Riddle of the World. Bill Glassco directed the first production of every one of these original plays, all of which have also been published. French also completed a number of translations, including Strindberg’s Miss Julie, Ostrovsky’s The Forest, and Chekhov’s The Seagull.

David French was one of the first inductees into the Newfoundland Arts Hall of Honour. He received the Queen’s Jubilee Medal, and was presented with a Lifetime Membership in the Playwrights Guild of Canada. He was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2001.

David French died on December 4, 2010, after a fifteen-month battle with brain cancer.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Voilà un homme qui, dès sa prime adolescence dans les années 1950, voulait devenir un auteur dramatique, ce qu’on ne retrouvait pas encore au Canada.

Hrant Alianak

auteur dramatique et comédien

David Benson French, O.C.


1939-2010

Le dramaturge David French est né à Coley’s Point, un petit village isolé de Terre-Neuve, le 18 janvier 1939. Il est le troisième d’une famille de cinq garçons. Son père, Garfield French, était menuisier. Pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, il a travaillé au Canada pour le Commandement aérien de l’Est. Une fois la guerre terminée, la mère de David, Edith, vient rejoindre son mari avec les garçons en Ontario et la famille s’installe à Toronto au sein de la dynamique communauté des exilés terre-neuviens.

À Toronto, David French étudie successivement à l’école publique de Rawlinson, au Harbord Collegiate Institute et au Oakwood Collegiate Institute. Il ne montre aucun intérêt pour les bouquins jusqu’en 8e année, lorsque son professeur d’anglais, pour le punir d’avoir parlé en classe, l’oblige à lire un livre. Au hasard, le jeune David tire de l’étagère de la bibliothèque Les aventures de Tom Sawyer, de Mark Twain. Il racontera plus tard qu’après avoir lu ce roman, il savait qu’il deviendrait écrivain. Plus : qu’il en était déjà un. En effet, il commence très vite à écrire et à publier ses histoires et ses poèmes.

À sa sortie du collège, il entreprend une formation d’acteur. Il passe tout un été au Pasadena Playhouse, en Californie, puis étudie à divers studios à Toronto. Au début des années 1960, il joue tant au théâtre que dans des séries télévisées diffusées au réseau CBC. Il commence ensuite à écrire des dramatiques pour la télévision.

En 1971, il entend parler d’une toute nouvelle compagnie de théâtre à Toronto, Tarragon Theatre, qui présente une pièce intitulée Creeps. Après avoir assisté à une représentation qui l’impressionne beaucoup, il téléphone au metteur en scène, Bill Glassco, et lui demande s’il accepterait de lire une pièce de théâtre qu’il a écrite. Glassco lit la pièce, intitulée Leaving Home, et décide de la monter comme dernier spectacle de la saison inaugurale de la compagnie. C’est le début d’une collaboration qui se poursuivra pendant plus de trente ans.

David French est l’un des premiers auteurs dramatiques canadiens qui se consacrera exclusivement à l’écriture dramatique et réussira à en vivre. Habitant à Toronto, il passe tous ses étés à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Il a écrit cinq pièces à succès mettant en scène la famille Mercer. Il est également l’auteur de la populaire comédie Jitters, la pièce à suspense Silver Dagger, ainsi que That Summer, One Crack Out, et The Riddle of the World. Toutes ces pièces ont été publiées. Bill Glassco a signé la première mise en scène de chacune de ces œuvres. French a également traduit plusieurs pièces dont Miss Julie de Strindberg, The Forest d’Ostrovski et The Seagull de Tchekhov.

David French fut l’une des premières personnes à être intronisées au Newfoundland Arts Hall of Honour. Il a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de la reine Elizabeth et a été nommé membre à vie de la Playwrights Guild of Canada. Il a reçu le titre d’Officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 2001.

Il est décédé le 4 décembre 2010 après un combat de quinze mois contre le cancer du cerveau.