This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Welcome

to this special retrospective exhibit about one of Canada’s most influential playwrights, David French (1939 – 2010), produced by the National Arts Centre in association with Theatre Museum Canada.

Learn about David French’s life, his career, and why his work was so important to the development of English Canadian theatre. Watch the video of actor/director R.H. Thomson’s in-depth interview with David French.

With a particular focus on the five semi-autobiographical plays French wrote about the fictional Mercer family of Newfoundland, this online exhibit is a companion to the physical exhibit created to coincide with the NAC English Theatre’s production of Salt-Water Moon, directed by Micheline Chevrier, October 18 – November 5, 2011.

Message from Peter Herrndorf

Canada’s National Arts Centre (NAC) is proud to partner with Theatre Museum Canada to produce the exhibition David French: Writing Home.

As Canada’s national home for the performing arts and a centre for artistic creation, the NAC has consistently played a leading role in the development of artistic talent and the production of Canadian theatre. We are therefore delighted to have this unique opportunity to honour one of Canadian theatre’s most accomplished and influential playwrights, David French, and to present this exhibition in tandem with our production of Salt-Water Moon, David French’s classic work from the Mercer cycle of plays, featuring members of the NAC English Theatre Company under the dynamic leadership of NAC Artistic Director Peter Hinton.

This special retrospective exhibition, together with English Theatre’s bold new production of Salt-Water Moon, directed by Micheline Chevrier, is a fitting tribute to one of the greatest contributors to the Canadian theatre canon.

Peter A. Herrndorf
President and CEO, Canada’s National Arts Centre

Message from Michael Wallace

David French, one of our most popular playwrights, played a crucial role in the development of professional theatre in English-speaking Canada. His plays have been produced across this country, and have helped to create a place on our stages for Canadian drama. The recurring characters of his acclaimed Mercer plays share the Newfoundland experience with audiences across the land and have been rightly described as Canadian archetypes.

Producing this exhibition reminds us how important it is to preserve the archives of theatres and artists. These theatrical records and artifacts document the legacy of pioneers like David French, playing a vital role in our appreciation today of his work and influence.

It is with great pride that Theatre Museum Canada, dedicated to preserving and celebrating Canadian theatre history, has collaborated on the exhibition David French: Writing Home in partnership with the National Arts Centre.

We hope you enjoy it.

Michael Wallace
Executive Director, Theatre Museum Canada

A physical version of David French: Writing Home is available for touring to venues across Canada. For information please contact Judi Pearl: judi.pearl@nac-cna.ca

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Bienvenue

à cette rétrospective consacrée à l’un des dramaturges les plus influents du Canada, David French (1939-2010). Une production du Centre national des Arts en association avec Musée Théâtre Canada.

Découvrez la vie et la carrière de cet auteur, et ce qui fait que son œuvre a été si importante dans l’essor du théâtre canadien d’expression anglaise. Regardez la vidéo d’une longue entrevue qu’a réalisée le comédien et metteur en scène R.H. Thomson avec David French.

Axée principalement sur le cycle de cinq pièces semi-autobiographiques de French sur une famille fictive de Terre-Neuve, les Mercer, cette rétrospective est le prolongement virtuel de l’exposition présentée à l’occasion de la production par le Théâtre anglais du CNA de Salt-Water Moon dans une mise en scène de Micheline Chevrier, du 18 octobre au 5 novembre 2011.

Message de Peter Herrndorf

Le Centre national des Arts du Canada (CNA) est fier de s’associer à Musée Théâtre Canada pour la production de l’exposition David French : Raconter ses origines.

Dans son rôle de foyer national des arts de la scène au Canada et de centre de création artistique, le CNA s’est toujours posé en chef de file dans le développement des talents artistiques et la production de spectacles mettant en valeur le théâtre canadien. Nous sommes donc ravis de saisir cette occasion unique qui nous est offerte de rendre hommage à l’un des auteurs dramatiques les plus éminents et les plus marquants de notre pays, David French, en présentant cette exposition parallèlement à notre production de Salt-Water Moon, volet du célèbre cycle de pièces de David French sur la famille Mercer, jouée par des membres de la Compagnie de théâtre anglais du CNA sous le dynamique leadership du directeur artistique du Théâtre anglais du CNA Peter Hinton.

Cette rétrospective, combinée à l’audacieuse nouvelle production de Salt-Water Moon du Théâtre anglais dans une mise en scène de Micheline Chevrier, est notre façon d’honorer l’une des plus grandes figures du théâtre canadien.

Peter A. Herrndorf
Président et chef de la direction, Centre national des Arts du Canada

Message de Michael Wallace

David French, qui compte parmi nos plus populaires dramaturges, a joué un rôle déterminant dans le développement du théâtre professionnel d’expression anglaise au Canada. Ses pièces ont été produites partout au pays, et ont contribué à aménager un espace sur les scènes canadiennes pour le théâtre d’ici. Les personnages récurrents de son célèbre cycle de pièces portant sur la famille Mercer font découvrir des tranches de vie de Terre-Neuviens aux auditoires de partout au pays et sont présentés à juste titre comme des archétypes canadiens.

Cette exposition nous rappelle l’importance de préserver les archives de nos théâtres et nos artistes. Ces documents et artéfacts viennent étoffer l’héritage de pionniers comme David French et nous aident grandement à apprécier aujourd’hui leur œuvre et leur influence.

Musée Théâtre Canada, qui a pour mission de préserver et de célébrer l’histoire théâtrale canadienne, est fier de présenter l’exposition David French : Raconter ses origines en partenariat avec le Centre national des Arts.

Bonne visite!

Michael Wallace
Directeur général, Musée Théâtre Canada

L’exposition David French : Raconter ses origines est proposée pour des tournées au Canada. Pour information, communiquer avec Judi Pearl à judi.pearl@nac-cna.ca.