This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Director's Table Interviews

Through Director's Table Interviews ArtsAlive.ca introduces you to selected directors with whom the National Arts Centre English Theatre department had the pleasure of working with in the 2002-2003 season.

    To watch all video clips QuickTime is required. If the program is not already installed on your computer, you can download it from here for free.
Click above for interview
Read interview transcript

Meet: Peter Hinton, Artistic Director, NAC English Theatre

Peter Hinton is one of English Canada's most respected playwrights, directors, and dramaturges. In his twenty-year career, he has been an integral part of the Canadian theatre landscape, working as an Associate Artist of the Stratford Festival of Canada, Associate Director and Dramaturge at Theatre Passe Muraille, Associate Director and Head of the New Play Development Program at the Canadian Stage Company in Toronto, Artistic Director and Dramaturge of The Playwrights Theatre Centre in Vancouver, and Dramaturge in Residence at Playwrights' Workshop Montreal. He is passionate about Canadian theatre, and is proud to have developed new works by John Mighton, Guillermo Verdecchia, Marie Clements, Larry Tremblay, Blake Brooker, Normand Chaurette, Maristella Roca, Allen Cole and Greg MacArthur to name a few. An accomplished playwright, Mr. Hinton's early plays include Façade which was nominated for a Dora Mavor Moore Award for Artistic Innovation and Excellence, and Urban Voodoo (co-written with Jim Millan). Peter was writer and dramaturge on the Canadian Stage Hour Company collective creations i.d. and Tabu, which both received Dora Awards for outstanding new play for theatre for young audiences. Recently, his trilogy of three full length plays entitled The Swanne premiered at the Stratford Festival of Canada to great critical and audience acclaim. Mr. Hinton has also written the librettos for two operas with composer Peter Hannan; The Diana Cantata, and 12O Songs for the Marquis de Sade, which was awarded the Alcan Performing Arts Award. A respected teacher, Mr. Hinton has taught play creation for actors at the Ryerson Theatre School and playwriting and period study at The National Theatre School of Canada. Mr. Hinton's critical and dramaturgical essays have been published in Theatrum, The Canadian Theatre Review and Between the Lines: a collection of interviews and articles on Dramaturgy in Canada, edited by Judith Rudakoff.

In November 2005, Mr. Hinton took the helm of the National Arts Centre English Theatre as Artistic Director, and in March of 2006, he announced his first season, The Artist in Society. In the 2006-2007 season, Mr. Hinton will direct the world premiere of Allen Cole's The Wrong Son, Gloria Montero's Frida K., and Marie Clements' Copper Thunderbird.


Click above for interview (2 parts)

Meet: Micheline Chevrier, Director

Micheline Chevrier is originally from Montréal but has lived and worked all over Canada. In 1995, she became the Artistic Director of the Great Canadian Theatre Company in Ottawa. There she directed many Canadian works such as Goodnight Desdemona (Good Morning Juliet), Les Belles Soeurs, Glenn, Pauline and Turgenev, The Seven Days in the Life of Simon Labrosse and The Begats, just to name a few. She left GCTC in 2000 but kept her home in Ottawa as she continued to travel the country to work as director in theatres such as the Shaw Festival, the National Arts Centre, Manitoba Theatre Centre, Theatre Calgary, Alberta Theatre Projects, the Globe Theatre, Prairie Theatre Exchange, Canadian Stage, the Citadel, the Lorraine Kimsa Theatre for Young People, Centaur Theatre, Theatre New Brunswick among others. These theatres offered her the chance to work on plays such as A Room of One's Own, The Glace Bay Miners' Museum, Perfect Pie, Rice Boy, Mary's Wedding, The Sisters Rosensweig, Accidental Death of an Anarchist, Hay Fever, Written on Water, Number One and Jamie and many more. Micheline has taught and directed at the National Theatre School, University of Alberta, Dalhousie University, Concordia University and Ottawa University. In the early 1990's, she was the Associate Artistic Director at Theatre New Brunswick and then Associate Dramaturg at Playwrights' Workshop in Montréal. She is presently Associate Artist at Canadian Stage.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Entrevues avec des metteurs en scène

Par diverses entrevues, Artsvivants.ca vous fera découvrir certains des metteurs en scène avec lesquels le Centre national des Arts a eu le plaisir de travailler pendant la saison 2002 2003.

    Pour visionner les vidéo clips, il faut le logiciel « QuickTime ». Si votre ordinateur n'en est pas déjà équipé, vous pouvez le télécharger gratuitement ici.

Cliquez ci-dessus pour l'entrevue [en anglais]
Lire la transcription de l'entrevue (en français)

Rencontrez: Peter Hinton, directeur artistique du Théâtre anglais du Centre national des arts

Peter Hinton est l'un des auteurs dramatiques, des metteurs en scène et des dramaturges les plus respectés au Canada. Il est, depuis 20 ans, une figure marquante de la scène théâtrale canadienne. Il a été artiste associé au Festival de Stratford en Ontario, metteur en scène adjoint et dramaturge au Theatre Passe Muraille, metteur en scène et chef du programme de développement de nouvelles pièces à la Canadian Stage Company de Toronto, directeur artistique et conseiller dramaturgique au Playwrights Theatre Centre de Vancouver et dramaturge résident au Playwrights' Workshop Montréal. Le théâtre canadien le passionne et il est fier d'avoir monté des pièces inédites de John Mighton, Guillermo Verdecchia, Marie Clements, Larry Tremblay, Blake Brooker, Normand Chaurette, Maristella Roca, Allen Cole et Greg MacArthur, entre autres. Parmi les premières pièces de théâtre de M. Hinton, un auteur dramatique accompli, mentionnons Façade qui a été mise en nomination pour un prix Dora Mavor Moore en innovation et excellence artistique et Urban Voodoo (en collaboration avec Jim Millan). Peter Hinton a participé, à titre d'auteur et de dramaturge, aux créations collectives i.d. et Tabu de la Canadian Stage Hour Company, deux pièces qui ont obtenu des prix Dora en création théâtrale pour jeunes publics. La critique et le public ont fait l'éloge de sa récente trilogie intitulée The Swanne créée au Festival de Stratford. M. Hinton a aussi rédigé les librettos de deux opéras avec le compositeur Peter Hannan : The Diana Cantata et 12O Songs for the Marquis de Sade. Ce dernier a mérité le prix Alcan pour les arts de la scène. Professeur réputé, M. Hinton a enseigné la création dramatique aux élèves en interprétation de l'école de théâtre Ryerson, ainsi que l'écriture dramatique et le style d'époque (period study) à l'École nationale de théâtre du Canada. Les essais critiques et dramaturgiques de Peter Hinton ont été publié dans Theatrum, The Canadian Theatre Review et Between the Lines: a collection of interviews and articles on Dramaturgy in Canada, sous la directon de Judith Rudakoff.  

En novembre 2005, M. Hinton a été nommé directeur artistique du Théâtre anglais du Centre national des arts. Il a annoncé au mois de mars suivant le thème de sa première saison : l'artiste dans la société. Ainsi, en 2006-2007, Peter Hinton mettra en scène la création mondiale de The Wrong Son d'Allen Cole, la pièce Frida K. de Gloria Montero ainsi que Copper Thunderbird de Marie Clements.


Cliquez ci-dessus pour l'entrevue

Voici: Micheline Chevrier, metteure en scène

Bien qu'elle soit originaire de Montréal, Micheline Chevrier a vécu et travaillé un peu partout au Canada. Au début des années 1990, elle devient directrice artistique adjointe au Théâtre Nouveau-Brunswick, puis dramaturge associée au Playwrights' Workshop, à Montréal. En 1995, elle est nommée directrice artistique de la Great Canadian Theatre Company (GTGC), à Ottawa. Ce poste lui permet de mettre en scène de nombreuses pièces canadiennes telles que Goodnight Desdemona (Good Morning Juliet), Les Belles Sœurs, Glenn, Pauline and Turgenev, The Seven Days in the Life of Simon Labrosse et The Begats, pour n'en nommer que quelques-unes. Mme  Chevrier quitte la compagnie en 2000 mais conserve un pied-à-terre dans la capitale pendant qu'elle parcourt le pays pour travailler comme metteure en scène au sein d'organismes divers, dont le Festival Shaw, le Centre national des Arts, le Manitoba Theatre Centre, le Theatre Calgary, la compagnie de théâtre Alberta Theatre Projects, le Globe Theatre, le Prairie Theatre Exchange, la Canadian Stage Company, le Citadel Theatre, le Lorraine Kimsa Theatre for Young People, le théâtre Centaur et le Théâtre Nouveau-Brunswick. Elle a alors l'occasion de monter différentes pièces comme A Room of One's Own, The Glace Bay Miners' Museum, Perfect Pie, Rice Boy, Mary's Wedding, The Sisters Rosensweig, Accidental Death of an Anarchist, Hay Fever, Written on Water, Number One, Jamie et de nombreuses autres. Elle se joint aussi à l'École nationale de théâtre, à l'Université de l'Alberta, à l'Université Dalhousie, à l'Université Concordia et à l'Université d'Ottawa en tant que metteure en scène et professeure. Micheline Chevrier est actuellement artiste associée à la Canadian Stage Company.