This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Understanding Dance

Read About Dance...

Moving words

Along with watching dance and doing dance, reading is another great way to learn more about the art form.

Right here at ArtsAlive.ca you can read about:

Dance writing exists in various formats and for specific purposes. You can read about dance in many different places.

In Newspapers & Magazines

You can find dance writing by journalists, reviewers and critics in newspapers and magazines. Generally, these short, succinct articles promote upcoming performances, provide insight into an artist's work, discuss dance-related issues or topics, or review and critique performances.

Some common formats for this kind of dance writing include previews, reviews, profiles and journal entries.

  • Previews appear in newspapers and magazines in advance of a performance and usually provide the reader with a bit of information about the artist and the upcoming show.
  • Reviews are printed after the performance and discuss the actual presentation.
  • Profiles are short biographies or articles that focus on an artist's life and work. 
  • Journal entries are usually more personal and often begin with the writer's emotional response to the dance.

On the Web

In addition to ArtsAlive.ca, many dance organizations, companies and artists have their own websites where you can read more about their background and work in artistic statements and press kits. 

Media websites often post online reviews of dance performances. You can read dance reviews on the web at the following links:

The Dance Current Reviews

The New York Times Dance Reviews

In addition, online forums invite viewers to submit their own responses to performances for others to read. You can submit your own writing about dance to ArtsAlive.ca and read what others have written as well.

In Books, Specialty Journals, Catalogues & Essays

You can find dance writing by researchers, teachers, historians and archivists in books, specialty journals, catalogues and essays.

Usually, this kind of writing is longer and more in-depth than what you find in newspapers and magazines. It might document an artist's complete body of work, describe and explain a specific dance technique, analyze and discuss a particular dance form or its history, or examine aspects of dance as an art form in contemporary culture.

Many dance researchers and writers are involved in dance preservation and write about dance in order to document it for posterity. Because live dance performances don't hang on walls like paintings, it is very difficult to go back and look at older works. Along with photographs, videos and notation, writing about dance is one of several ways to document and preserve the art form. Choreologists, dance writers and archivists all play a role in this process.

Dance books are often available at the public library or your local bookstore ; however, specialty dance books are sometimes only available in certain libraries and bookstores or by ordering directly from the publisher. You can find most specialty journals in university libraries.

In Artists' Journals, Diaries & Biographies

You can find dance writing by dance artists as well, sometimes in magazines and books about dance, but also in artists' journals, diaries and biographies. Artists may write to articulate their thoughts and ideas during a creative process, to document a project, or to reflect on their work or the art form in general. An artist might work alone or with a writer to create a biography about his or her life.

Choreographers and dancers - like Agnes de Mille, Katherine Dunham, Martha Graham, Carol Anderson and Grant Strate - have all written books about their lives or thoughts on dance. Many of these books are available in libraries, bookstores or through various websites.

Reading and writing about dance are both excellent ways to enhance your understanding of the art form.

  • Reading previews before a performance can provide you with ideas about what to look for when you attend.
  • Afterwards, you can compare your thoughts with others by reading reviews and perhaps writing your own response.
  • If you want to know more about a particular artist, company, dance form, technique or historical period, you can search for websites, books, articles and other printed materials that will provide you with more information.

With ArtsAlive.ca as your starting point, let your curiosity lead you and you will continue to discover just how diverse and exciting this art form is.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Comprendre la danse

Lire sur la danse

Mots mouvements 

En plus de voir la danse et de pratiquer la danse, lire sur la danse est un autre excellent moyen d'approfondir vos connaissances de la forme d'art.

Déjà, ici aux Artsvivants.ca, vous pouvez lire au sujet de :

La rédaction sur la danse existe dans une pluralité de contextes et pour des buts précis. Nombre de différentes publications sur la danse sont à votre disposition.

Quotidiens et magazines

Vous trouverez des articles sur la danse rédigés par des journalistes et des critiques dans les quotidiens et les magazines. Coutumièrement, ces articles courts et succincts promeuvent des spectacles imminents, donnent un aperçu du travail de l'artiste, discutent de sujets et de questions liés à la danse, ou présentent des critiques de spectacles.

Parmi les formats courants pour ce genre d'écriture sur la danse, il y a la publication préliminaire, la critique, le portrait d'artiste et l'article de journal.

  • L'article préliminaire paraît dans les quotidiens et les magazines avant le spectacle et, généralement, décrit l'artiste et le spectacle à venir.
  • La critique est publiée après le spectacle et discute de la prestation comme telle.
  • Le portrait d'artiste est une courte biographie ou un article qui détaille la vie et l'œuvre de l'artiste.
  • L'article de journal est souvent plus personnel et exprime plutôt la sensibilité de l'écrivain en ce qui a trait à la danse.

Web

En plus des Artsvivants.ca, nombre d' organismes, compagnies et artistes de la danse ont leur propre site Web, où vous pouvez apprendre sur leur histoire et leur travail grâce aux énoncés de vision artistique et aux dossiers de presse.

Les sites Web de médias publient souvent des critiques de spectacles de danse. Vous pouvez lire des critiques sur le Web aux sites suivants :

La rubrique danse du Devoir

La rubrique danse de La Presse

La revue interdisciplinaire des arts vivants Mouvement.net

De plus, des groupes de discussion invitent les spectateurs à partager leurs réactions aux spectacles avec les autres lecteurs. Vous pouvez soumettre vos écrits sur la danse a Artsvivants.ca et y lire les contributions des autres.

Livres, publications spécialisées, catalogues et essais

Des chercheurs, des professeurs, des historiens et des archivistes rédigent sur la danse. Vous pouvez trouver leurs écrits dans des livres, des publications spécialisées, des catalogues et des essais.

Souvent, il s'agit de documents plus longs et plus en profondeur que les articles de quotidiens et de magazines. L'article peut expliquer l'œuvre entière d'un artiste ou les détails d'une technique précise, analyser et discuter un style de danse particulier et son histoire, ou examiner des aspects de la danse comme forme d'art dans la culture contemporaine.

Nombre de chercheurs et d'écrivains participent à la préservation de la danse et écrivent sur la danse afin de la documenter pour la postérité. Puisque les spectacles de danse ne s'accrochent pas aux murs comme des toiles, il est très difficile de retourner dans le passé pour voir les œuvres. En plus de photographies, de vidéos et de notations, l'écriture sur la danse est un moyen parmi plusieurs de documenter et de préserver la forme d'art. Les notateurs, écrivains de la danse et archivistes jouent tous un rôle dans ce processus.

Les bibliothèques publiques et les librairies tiennent souvent des livres sur la danse ; toutefois, les livres spécialisés en danse sont parfois seulement disponibles dans certaines bibliothèques et librairies, ou doivent être commandés directement de la maison d'édition. Les publications spécialisées se trouvent normalement dans les bibliothèques universitaires.

Journaux d'artistes et biographies

Les artistes de la danse écrivent aussi, parfois dans des magazines et des livres sur la danse, mais aussi dans des journaux intimes et des biographies. Les artistes écrivent pour articuler leurs pensées et idées lors d'un processus de création, pour documenter un projet, ou pour se pencher sur leur travail et la forme d'art. Un artiste peut travailler seul ou avec un écrivain pour rédiger une biographie de sa vie.

Des chorégraphes et des interprètes, comme Agnes de Mille, Katherine Dunham, Martha Graham, Carol Anderson et Grant Strate, ont écrit des livres sur leur vie ou leur perspective sur la danse. Nombre de ces livres sont disponibles en bibliothèque, en librairie ou sur des sites Web.

Lire et écrire sur la danse sont deux excellents moyens d' améliorer votre compréhension de la forme d'art.

  • Lisez les articles préliminaires pour avoir des indices sur le spectacle que vous allez voir.
  • Après, comparez vos impressions du spectacle en lisant les critiques et partagez-les en rédigeant votre commentaire.
  • Pour en savoir plus sur un artiste, une compagnie, une forme ou une technique de danse, ou une période historique, cherchez des sites Web, des livres, des articles et d'autres documents imprimés pour avoir des informations.

Avec Artsvivants.ca comme tremplin, donnez libre cours à votre curiosité et continuez à découvrir jusqu'à quel point la danse est une forme d'art diversifiée et excitante.