-->

This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Understanding Dance

Appreciating Dance

It really is this simple: dance is the human body in motion. In one form or another, dance is a part of our history.

  • It is thought that early societies used dance to celebrate the planting and harvesting of crops.
  • Kings and Queens of the 16th century celebrated royal weddings with lavish spectacles that included elaborate displays of dance.
  • In the 19th century, people attended the theatre to watch dance as a way to escape their harsh realities for a few hours.
  • Today, along with numerous concert dance performances, the advertising, music video and feature film industries continue to keep dance a part of our everyday lives.

As an audience member, you may feel like you don't understand what you're watching. You're not alone. In Paris in 1913, crowds rioted in the streets after the premiere of Vaslav Nijinsky's ballet The Rite of Spring. Their reaction demonstrates the anger and frustration they felt because they didn't understand the dance set before them.

To avoid frustration and embarrassment because they don't "get it", many people close themselves off to dance completely. However, then they miss out on the way dance can be enjoyable, exciting, thought provoking, creative and enriching. Dance can make you see and think about life and the world in new ways.

You may have heard comments like "I don't understand it" or "it just doesn't mean anything to me". For the uninitiated, it can be hard to make distinctions between forms, styles or choreographers, and dance of all kinds can seem the same.

In fact today, the range of styles, philosophies and techniques is extremely varied. Canada's vibrant dance scene alone offers a wide variety of viewing options. Internationally, the range is even greater. If you don't like a particular choreographer or company's work, chances are good that there is another you will enjoy.

The key is not to pressure yourself. The truth is, you really can relax. There is no right or wrong interpretation. Whether or not a dance performance suits your particular tastes, if you are open to the experience, you will get something out of it.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Comprendre la danse

Apprécier la danse

Laissez le spectacle vous transporter

La danse est le corps humain en mouvement : c'est aussi simple que cela. Peu importe le style, la danse fait partie de notre histoire.

  • Les premières sociétés auraient utilisé la danse pour célébrer la semence et la moisson.
  • Les rois et reines du 16e siècle célébraient les noces royales avec de somptueux spectacles qui déployaient la danse de façon grandiose.
  • Au 19e siècle, la danse théâtrale était une échappatoire de quelques heures aux dures réalités quotidiennes.
  • Aujourd'hui, en plus de nombreux spectacles de danse, les industries de la publicité, du vidéoclip et du cinéma continuent à faire entrer la danse dans notre vie de tous les jours.

En tant que spectateur, vous sentez peut-être que vous ne comprenez pas ce qui vous est présenté. Vous n'êtes pas seul. À Paris en 1913, des foules ont provoqué des émeutes dans la rue après la première du ballet Le Sacre du Printemps de Vaslav Nijinsky. Leurs réactions démontrent la colère et la frustration qu'elles ressentaient parce qu'elles ne comprenaient pas la danse qui leur était présentée.

Pour éviter la frustration et la gêne de ne pas comprendre la danse, plus d'un l'évitent complètement. Toutefois, ils manquent le plaisir, l'excitation, la provocation, la création et l'enrichissement que peut produire la danse. La danse peut proposer de nouvelles façons d'envisager la vie et le monde.

Aujourd'hui, la gamme de styles, de philosophies et de techniques est extrêmement variée. Le milieu de la danse au Canada seul propose toute une variété de spectacles. À l'échelle mondiale, le choix est encore plus grand. Si vous n'aimez pas le travail d'un chorégraphe ou d'une compagnie en particulier, les chances sont bonnes qu'il y ait d'autres ouvres que vous aimerez.

Ne vous en faites pas. En effet, vous pouvez véritablement vous laisser aller. Il n'y a pas de bonne ou de mauvaise interprétation. Peu importe si le spectacle de danse répond à vos inclinations, si vous êtes ouvert à l'expérience vous en tirerez quelque chose.