This site will look much better in a browser that supports web standards, but it is accessible to any browser or Internet device.

Meet The Artists

Dancing Through Time: Past, Present and Future

By Michael Crabb

Theatrical dance has existed since ancient times, but its historical development has varied in different societies. This is partly because it requires a certain amount of economic prosperity and urban settlement for formal theatrical presentations to flourish.

In the past, while theatrical dancing had its place, people also entertained themselves by dancing socially. Many of these social or folk dances, along with various ritual dances, survived for centuries and many have also become theatrical forms.

Ballet incorporates folk-derived influences, but its present-day decorum and style reflects its courtly origins in Renaissance Italy. Dancing was part of the lavish spectacles princes staged to symbolize their power and wealth. An Italian princess-bride, Catherine de Médici, carried this fashion to the French court.

As the steps became more physically challenging, dance schools were established to train performers and a new dance profession was launched. King Louis XIV of France founded one of the first schools, L'Académie Royale de Danse in 1661. Ballet slowly asserted itself as an art, independent from the royal courts. Its movements became codified so they could be taught and preserved.

In the 19th century, female dancers, such as Marie Taglioni, shortened their skirts, rose on their toes en pointe and took centre stage. Most ballets, by choreographers such as Jules Perrot, told stories - usually fantastical ones - and the prettiness of ballet provided an escape from the harsher realities of everyday life.

The socially tumultuous 20th century saw major changes in dance. The modernist movement rejected rigid Victorian era values and emphasized freedom, individuality and progress. This new perspective triggered a revolt against the perceived strictures of classical ballet by choreographers. "Modern dance", pioneered by dancers including Isadora Duncan, Ruth St. Denis and Martha Graham, sought a more pure and visceral way of moving, even seeking inspiration in ancient forms.

Ballet choreographers, such as George Balanchine, explored new ways of using traditional movement, adapting the art form to the spirit of the times. Choreographers also blended ballet and modern dance movement.

In the 1960s, a post-modern revolution began that challenged the most fundamental notions of theatrical dance. Choreographer Yvonne Rainer wrote a manifesto that rejected artifice in dance. Beauty, athletic technique and decoration were out. Conceptual dance was in.

The opening of western eyes to the inherent value of cultures around the world has resulted in a more global appreciation of different forms of artistic expression, including dance. Many forms, once considered ritual, folk or street dance, now regularly appear on the concert stage, in works by artists such as Vincent Sekwati Mantsoe and Rennie Harris.

Western European dance has undergone its own evolution. Many choreographers, including Pina Bausch and Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, place more emphasis on personal theatrical expression, use stylized forms of everyday movement and draw on various artistic disciplines such as film, to create works with strong emotional resonance.

Today's audiences enjoy an extraordinary variety of dance, traditional and innovative, with movement drawn and blended from many different cultures. Choreographers from diverse cultural backgrounds, exposed to an ever-expanding range of movement ideas, continue to experiment and develop theatrical dance.

For artists and audiences alike, the future of dance promises to be a dynamic and exciting adventure.

Ce site sera beaucoup plus agréable à explorer avec un navigateur qui correspond aux standards du Web, mais il est accessible à tout navigateur ou autre logiciel de navigation sur Internet.

Rendez-vous artistiques

La danse à travers les âges : passé, présent et avenir

par Michael Crabb

La danse théâtrale existe depuis les temps anciens, mais son évolution historique varie selon les sociétés. Cela est en partie parce que l'essor de prestations théâtrales formelles demande une certaine prospérité économique et une fondation urbaine assez avancée.

Jadis, alors que la danse théâtrale existe déjà, les gens se divertissent aussi avec la danse sociale. Un grand nombre de danses sociales ou folkloriques, ainsi que plusieurs danses rituelles, ont traversé les siècles. Beaucoup d'entre elles sont aussi devenues des formes théâtrales.

Le ballet classique emploie des idiomes dérivés du folklore mais son présent décorum traduit ses origines altières de la Renaissance en Italie. La danse figure alors dans d'opulents spectacles que les princes montent pour pavaner leur puissance et leur richesse. Une princesse italienne mariée en France, Catherine de Médicis, introduit cette mode à la cour française.

Au fur et à mesure que les pas deviennent plus difficiles à exécuter, les écoles de danse sont mises sur pied pour former les interprètes et une nouvelle profession en danse est lancée. En 1661, le roi de France Louis XIV fonde une des premières écoles, l'Académie Royale de Danse. Le ballet classique s'impose tranquillement comme forme d'art, indépendante de la cour. La codification des pas et des gestes du ballet classique permet leur transmission et leur préservation.

Au 19 e siècle, les danseuses, dont Marie Taglioni, lèvent leur jupe, montent sur pointe et rentrent dans le point de mire. La plupart des ballets, de chorégraphes tels que Jules Perrot, racontent des histoires souvent fantastiques. La beauté du ballet classique propose une diversion aux dures réalités quotidiennes.

Le 20 e siècle, chargé de bouleversements sociaux, voit des changements importants. Le modernisme rejette le puritanisme de l'époque victorienne et met l'accent sur la liberté, l'individu et le progrès. Cette nouvelle perspective provoque un retournement des chorégraphes contre les restrictions perçues du ballet classique. La « danse moderne », menée par les interprètes d'avant-garde Isadora Duncan, Ruth St. Denis et Martha Graham, cherche un mouvement plus pur, plus viscéral, puisant même l'inspiration dans de formes anciennes.

Les chorégraphes de ballet classique, y compris George Balanchine, explorent de nouvelles façons d'utiliser les mouvements traditionnels, et adaptent l'art à l'air du temps. Les chorégraphes joignent aussi le ballet classique à la danse moderne.

Dans les années 1960, une révolution « post-moderne » commence qui met au défi les bases mêmes de la danse théâtrale. La chorégraphe Yvonne Rainer lance un manifeste qui rejette l'artifice de la danse. La beauté, la technique athlétique et la décoration prennent le bord. La danse conceptuelle prime.

De l'ouverture de l'occident sur la valeur intrinsèque des autres cultures découle une appréciation générale des différentes formes d'expressions artistiques, y compris de la danse. Plusieurs formes, autrefois dites rituelles, folkloriques ou populaires, sont maintenant présentées régulièrement sur la grande scène, dans des ouvres d'artistes comme V incent Sekwati Mantsoe et Rennie Harris.

La danse européenne occidentale a sa propre évolution. Nombre de chorégraphes, y compris Pina Bausch et Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, privilégient surtout l'expression théâtrale personnelle et recourent à des gestes quotidiens transformés en mouvements stylisés, ainsi qu'à de nombreuses disciplines artistiques, dont le cinéma, pour créer des ouvres riches en émotion.

Le public aujourd'hui aime une variété extraordinaire de danses, traditionnelles et novatrices, qui regroupent des mouvements puisés de diverses cultures. Des chorégraphes d'une multitude d'origines culturelles, exposés à une gamme d'idées sur le mouvement toujours grandissante, continuent à expérimenter et à développer la danse théâtrale.

Et pour les artistes, et pour le public, l'avenir de la danse promet d'être une aventure dynamique et palpitante.