ArtsAlive.ca – Persuading Presence

Scott McKowen

photo:ScottMcKowen

Scott McKowen has combined his skills as a graphic designer and illustrator with a longtime theatre background to establish a career specializing in theatre posters and graphics for the performing arts. He trained at The University of Michigan School of Art, and now lives in Stratford, Ontario.

Scott has designed publications for the Shaw Festival in Niagara-on-the-Lake for more than twenty seasons – including an award-winning series of handbook brochures and house programmes during the Christopher Newton years, and presently for Jackie Maxwell. He has worked extensively for The National Ballet of Canada, The National Arts Centre, The Canadian Stage Company, and Theatre Calgary.

Scott has created over fifty theatre posters for the Roundabout Theatre Company in New York. He designs the marketing materials for Yale Repertory Theatre and the Yale School of Drama in New Haven, and has created theatre posters for regional theatres across the U.S. including Denver Center Theatre Company, The Acting Company, The Pearl Theatre Company, Arena Stage, Great Lakes Theatre Festival, Seattle Repertory Theatre, the Goodman Theatre in Chicago, and Center Theatre Group in Los Angeles.

As a book illustrator, Scott is working on a series of children’s classics for Sterling Publishing. He has illustrated books for Harper Collins, Viking Penguin, Random House, Farrar Straus and Giroux, and St. Martin’s Press. He created the covers for 1602, an eight-part graphic novel by Neil Gaiman for Marvel Comics.

In 2002, he curated Worth a Thousand Words, an exhibition of theatre posters from around the world, which was seen at Gallery Stratford, the Design Exchange in downtown Toronto, and at the National Arts Centre in Ottawa. Scott McKowen was commissioned by the Royal Canadian Mint to design Canada’s 2001 silver dollar, commemorating The National Ballet of Canada’s fiftieth Anniversary.

Artsvivants.ca – L’art qui s’affiche : des archives éloquentes

Scott McKowen

photo:ScottMcKowen

Scott McKowen a marié ses habiletés de graphiste et d’illustrateur à une longue expérience du théâtre pour s’établir comme concepteur spécialisé dans les affiches de théâtre et le graphisme pour les arts de la scène. Formé à l’University of Michigan School of Art, il vit maintenant à Stratford, en Ontario.

Il conçoit des publications pour le Shaw Festival à Niagara-on-the-Lake depuis plus de vingt saisons – y compris une série primée de brochures et de programmes maison élaborés sous le règne de Christopher Newton et, à présent, sous celui de Jackie Maxwell. Il compte à son actif de nombreuses collaborations avec le Ballet national du Canada, le Centre national des Arts, The Canadian Stage Company et la compagnie Theatre Calgary.

M. McKowen a créé plus de cinquante affiches de théâtre pour la Roundabout Theatre Company à New York. Il conçoit les documents de marketing pour le Yale Repertory Theatre et la Yale School of Drama à New Haven, et a créé des affiches de théâtre pour des théâtres régionaux un peu partout aux États-Unis, y compris la Denver Center Theatre Company, The Acting Company, The Pearl Theatre Company, l’Arena Stage, le Great Lakes Theatre Festival, le Seattle Repertory Theatre, le Goodman Theatre à Chicago, et le Center Theatre Group à Los Angeles.

Comme illustrateur de livres, il oeuvre actuellement à une série de classiques de la littérature pour enfants pour le compte de Sterling Publishing. Il a illustré des ouvrages pour les éditeurs Harper Collins, Viking Penguin, Random House, Farrar Straus & Giroux et St. Martin's Press. On lui doit aussi les couvertures de 1602, une BD roman en huit tomes de Neil Gaiman pour Marvel Comics.

En 2002, il a organisé Worth a Thousand Words, une exposition d’affiches de théâtre du monde entier qui a été présentée à la Gallery Stratford, au Design Exchange dans le centre-ville de Toronto, et au Centre national des Arts à Ottawa. La Monnaie royale canadienne lui a confié la conception du dollar en argent canadien de 2001 commémorant le cinquantième anniversaire du Ballet national du Canada.