Back to SearchBack to Home Page
Search Criteria: Composers ( Weinzweig, John)
Showing 1 to 4 of 4 Results
Weinzweig, John
Divertimento No. 1 for Flute and StringsComposer: Weinzweig, John
Performance date: July 22, 2003

Date composed: 1945


This is the first of twelve divertimentos the “Dean of Canadian Composers,” John Weinzweig, composed across a span of more than half a century. This one juxtaposes the bright, cheery sonority of the flute against a body of strings in a wide range of moods and textures.
Read Concert Program Notes
Learn More »
Weinzweig, John
Divertimento No. 6Composer: Weinzweig, John
Performance date: January 04, 1997

Date composed: 1972


“A multi-section structure of solo saxophone events colored by jazz inflections” was how the composer described his Divertimento No. 6, composed for solo saxophone and strings. In it, he incorporates many kinds of notation for the soloist: vibrato, gradual accelerando and ritardando, rapid repetition of the same note, chromatic murmurs, smorzato (fluctuations in volume produced by the jaw), key clicking (without tone), flutter tongue, slap tongue, and quarter tones. All in all, quite a fascinating work.


Read Concert Program Notes
Movements

Learn More »
Weinzweig, John
DummiyahComposer: Weinzweig, John
Performance date: July 22, 2003

Date composed: 1969


Can silence be portrayed in sound? That is the challenge in Dummiyah, the Hebrew word for silence. To Weinzweig, silence was the only possible response to the horrors perpetrated by the Nazis in the death camps. In this ultra-quiet work, he attempts to deal with this issue using timbre and tone color rather than themes and harmony.


Read Concert Program Notes
Movements

Learn More »
Weinzweig, John
Red Ear of Corn SuiteComposer: Weinzweig, John
Performance date: July 24, 1970

Date composed: 1949


The ballet score The Red Ear of Corn incorporates a blend of Iroquois music, French-Canadian folk song and fiddle music. The ballet’s scenario tells the story of why red cobs of corn can occasionally be found in the yellow corn fields of Quebec. The Suite comprises three dances from the complete ballet.


Read Concert Program Notes
Learn More »

Retour à la rechercheRetour à la page d'accueil
Critère de recherche : Compositeurs ( Weinzweig, John)
Visualisation des résultats 1 à 4 sur 4
Weinzweig, John
Divertimento n° 1 pour flûte et cordesCompositeur : Weinzweig, John
Date de concert : 22 juillet, 2003

Date composé : 1945


Voici le premier des douze divertimentos du « Doyen des compositeurs canadiens », John Weinzweig, composés au cours d'une période de plus de cinquante ans. Celui-ci juxtapose la sonorité claire et joyeuse de la flûte à un ensemble de cordes dans une grande variété d'atmosphères et de textures.
Lire le programme du concert
Voir les détails »
Weinzweig, John
Divertimento n° 6Compositeur : Weinzweig, John
Date de concert : 04 janvier, 1997

Date composé : 1972


Le compositeur décrivait son Divertimento no 6 pour saxophone solo et cordes comme « une structure en plusieurs sections proposant divers épisodes solos du saxophone colorés par des inflexions de jazz ». Cette œuvre comprend un grand nombre de notations pour le soliste : vibrato, accelerando et ritardando graduels, répétitions rapides de la même note, murmures chromatiques, smorzato (fluctuations du volume produites par la mâchoire), cliquetis des clés (sans production sonore), palpitations de la langue, coups de langue et micro-intervalles. Dans l'ensemble, une œuvre plutôt fascinante.


Lire le programme du concert
Mouvements

Voir les détails »
Weinzweig, John
DummiyahCompositeur : Weinzweig, John
Date de concert : 22 juillet, 2003

Date composé : 1969


Peut-on décrire le silence en musique? C'est le défi que soulève Weinzweig dans Dummiyah, un mot hébreu qui signifie « silence ». Pour le compositeur, le silence était la seule réponse possible aux horreurs perpétrées dans les camps de la mort nazis. Dans cette musique extrêmement calme, Weinzweig s'exprime par le timbre et la couleur tonale plutôt que par les thèmes et l'harmonie.


Lire le programme du concert
Mouvements

Voir les détails »
Weinzweig, John
Red Ear of Corn Suite, Ballet SuiteCompositeur : Weinzweig, John
Date de concert : 24 juillet, 1970

Date composé : 1949


La partition du ballet The Red Ear of Corn est un mélange de musique iroquoise, de chansons folkloriques canadiennes-françaises et de musique de violon populaire. Le scénario du ballet révèle pourquoi on trouve à l'occasion des épis de maïs rouges dans les champs du Québec où tous les autres épis de maïs sont jaunes. La Suite orchestrale comprend trois danses extraites du ballet intégral.


Lire le programme du concert
Voir les détails »