Back to SearchBack to Home Page
Search Criteria: Composers ( Schafer, R. Murray)
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 Results
Schafer, R. Murray
Adieu Robert SchumannComposer: Schafer, R. Murray
Performance date: March 14, 1978

Date composed: 1976


A string orchestra accompanies a narrator (Schumann’s wife) as she reads passages from her diary describing the last, deeply troubled years of the great composer’s life as he struggled with illnesses both physical and mental. Schafer incorporates snippets from ten different Schumann compositions into Adieu Robert Schumann.


Read Concert Program Notes
Learn More »
Schafer, R. Murray
Dream-e-scapeComposer: Schafer, R. Murray
Performance date: May 20, 2009

Date composed: 2009


In this work, according to the composer, “I wanted to try to capture the dream experience of incoherence in which everything is shifting and blurred together. Now we witness one image, now another – shocking, alluring, repellent, voluptuous, risible – totally without consistency or order.”
Read Concert Program Notes
Movements

Learn More »
Schafer, R. Murray
EastComposer: Schafer, R. Murray
Performance date: October 04, 1973

Date composed: 1973


One never knows what to expect next from R. Murray Schafer, one of Canada’s most famous composers, one who seldom repeats himself, one whose musical boundaries have no limits. East is a musical mediation on a text from the Isha-Upanishad.


Read Concert Program Notes
Learn More »
Schafer, R. Murray
GitanjaliComposer: Schafer, R. Murray
Performance date: May 15, 1992

Date composed: 1992


“Murray Schafer has a rare ear for the human voice,” writes composer Larry Lake, “especially the female voice. When this is combined with his talent for orchestral color, the results are quite spectacular.” This phenomenon is radiantly evident in Gitanjali, a setting of five ecstatic and joyful poems by the Indian poet Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941). Some of the most sensuously beautiful sounds written for orchestra in the past half century can be heard in Gitanjali.


Read Concert Program Notes
Learn More »
Schafer, R. Murray
ScorpiusComposer: Schafer, R. Murray
Performance date: March 26, 2008

Date composed: 1990


This brilliantly scored work contains music ranging from chamber music delicacy to sonic thrills, music of driving rhythms and an overdose of percussion. Listen especially for he virtuosic trumpet writing and for the crazy quartet consisting of bassoon, contrabassoon, bass clarinet and tuba!
Read Concert Program Notes
Movements

Learn More »

Retour à la rechercheRetour à la page d'accueil
Critère de recherche : Compositeurs ( Schafer, R. Murray)
Visualisation des résultats 1 à 5 sur 5
Schafer, R. Murray
Adieu Robert SchumannCompositeur : Schafer, R. Murray
Date de concert : 14 mars, 1978

Date composé : 1976


Un orchestre à cordes accompagne une narratrice (la femme de Schumann) tandis qu'elle lit des passages de son journal décrivant les dernières années troublées du grand compositeur luttant contre la maladie physique et mentale. Schafer incorpore des citations de dix différentes compositions de Schumann dans Adieu Robert Schumann.


Lire le programme du concert
Voir les détails »
Schafer, R. Murray
Dream-e-scapeCompositeur : Schafer, R. Murray
Date de concert : 20 mai, 2009

Date composé : 2009


Dans cette œuvre, le compositeur a tenté « de saisir l'incohérence du rêve où tout est mouvant et flou. Le rêve est une succession d'images – tour à tour choquantes, attirantes, repoussantes, voluptueuses ou risibles – sans aucun ordre ni cohérence. »


Lire le programme du concert
Mouvements

Voir les détails »
Schafer, R. Murray
EastCompositeur : Schafer, R. Murray
Date de concert : 04 octobre, 1973

Date composé : 1973


On ne sait jamais à quoi s'attendre de la part de R. Murray Schafer, un des compositeurs les plus célèbres du Canada, un musicien qui se répète rarement et qui ne connaît aucune frontière musicale. East est une méditation musicale sur un texte tiré de l'Isha-Upanishad.


Lire le programme du concert
Voir les détails »
Schafer, R. Murray
GitanjaliCompositeur : Schafer, R. Murray
Date de concert : 15 mai, 1992

Date composé : 1992


« Murray Schafer a une affinité spéciale pour la voix humaine, écrit le compositeur Larry Lake, en particulier la voix féminine. Lorsqu’il combine cette affinité avec son talent pour la couleur orchestrale, les résultats sont assez spectaculaires. » Ce phénomène est merveilleusement évident dans Gitanjali, un cycle de mélodies mettant en musique cinq poèmes d’extase et de joie du poète indien Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941). Gitanjali contient quelques-unes des sonorités les plus belles et les plus sensuelles écrites pour orchestre au cours des cinquante dernières années.


Lire le programme du concert
Voir les détails »
Schafer, R. Murray
ScorpiusCompositeur : Schafer, R. Murray
Date de concert : 26 mars, 2008

Date composé : 1990


Cette œuvre brillamment orchestrée allie à la fois la délicatesse de la musique de chambre et les prouesses sonores, les rythmes entraînants et une abondance de percussion. Écoutez en particulier l'écriture virtuose pour la trompette et le quatuor déjanté composé d'un basson, d'un contrebasson, d'une clarinette basse et d'un tuba!


Lire le programme du concert
Mouvements

Voir les détails »