Back to SearchBack to Home Page
Search Criteria: Composers ( Forsyth, Malcolm)
Showing 1 to 4 of 4 Results
Forsyth, Malcolm
AtayoskewinComposer: Forsyth, Malcolm
Performance date: July 04, 1996

Date composed: 1984


Atayoskewin is one of Forsyth’s most frequently-played compositions, and for a good reason: it is a brilliantly scored, imaginative, highly enjoyable evocation of three aspects of the Albertan northland, music that could only have been written by a Canadian.


Read Concert Program Notes
Learn More »
Forsyth, Malcolm
Rhapsody for 14 StringsComposer: Forsyth, Malcolm
Performance date: November 07, 2001

Date composed: 1983


A great variety of colors, textures and effects can be derived from “just” a string orchestra. Forsyth demonstrates this magnificently in his fifteen-minute Rhapsody for Fourteen Strings, a work in which at times each player has an individual part to play.


Read Concert Program Notes
Movements

Learn More »
Forsyth, Malcolm
Sagittarius: Concerto Grosso for brass quintet and orchestraComposer: Forsyth, Malcolm
Performance date: October 05, 1976

Date composed: 1975


Compositions for a single soloist (piano, violin, cello, flute, etc.) and orchestra are common. Uncommon are concerted pieces for a group of soloists and orchestra. Forsyth’s Sagittarius is just such a work, featuring an entire brass quintet as the collective soloist. The composer called his piece Sagittarius “for the sporty, outdoor mood of the zodiacal sign.”


Read Concert Program Notes
Learn More »

Retour à la rechercheRetour à la page d'accueil
Critère de recherche : Compositeurs ( Forsyth, Malcolm)
Visualisation des résultats 1 à 4 sur 4
Forsyth, Malcolm
AtayoskewinCompositeur : Forsyth, Malcolm
Date de concert : 04 juillet, 1996

Date composé : 1984


Ce n'est pas un hasard si Atayoskewin est une des compositions les plus souvent jouées de Forsyth : en effet, c'est une évocation brillamment orchestrée, imaginative et éminemment plaisante de trois aspects du Nord albertain, une musique qui ne pouvait être écrite que par un Canadien.


Lire le programme du concert
Voir les détails »
Forsyth, Malcolm
Rhapsodie pour 14 cordesCompositeur : Forsyth, Malcolm
Date de concert : 07 novembre, 2001

Date composé : 1983


On peut tirer une grande variété de couleurs, de textures et d’effets d'un « simple » orchestre à cordes. Forsyth le prouve de façon éclatante dans sa Rhapsodie pour 14 cordes, œuvre d'une quinzaine de minutes qui réserve tour à tour à chaque musicien une partie individuelle.


Lire le programme du concert
Mouvements

Voir les détails »
Forsyth, Malcolm
Sagittarius: Concerto grosso pour quintette à cuivres et orchestreCompositeur : Forsyth, Malcolm
Date de concert : 05 octobre, 1976

Date composé : 1975


Les compositions pour un soliste (piano, violon, violoncelle, flûte, etc.) avec orchestre sont courantes. En revanche, les œuvres concertantes pour un groupe de solistes avec orchestre le sont beaucoup moins. La composition de Forsyth intitulée Sagittarius appartient à cette catégorie, puisqu'elle a pour soliste tout un quintette de cuivres. Le compositeur a donné à cette musique le titre de Sagittarius (Sagittaire) en raison « de la vitalité débordante et des qualités sportives associées à ce signe du zodiaque ».


Lire le programme du concert
Voir les détails »