Back to SearchBack to Home Page
Search Criteria: Composers ( Colgrass, Michael)
Showing 1 to 3 of 3 Results
Colgrass, Michael
Delta, for percussion, violin, clarinet and orchestraComposer: Colgrass, Michael
Performance date: October 16, 1979

Date composed: 1979


Delta is a triple concerto with violin, clarinet and percussion as the three soloists. The image of a delta – the triangular, fan-shaped region where a river separates into many smaller streams as it approaches the mouth - plays a role in the shaping of the music in that three rivers come together in Ottawa (the Ottawa, the Rideau and the Gatineau), the city for whose orchestra Delta was written. In this context, each soloist plays a different variant of the same music. The convergence of styles also serves as a metaphor for the many different kinds of people living in Canada.


Read Concert Program Notes
Movements

Learn More »
Colgrass, Michael
Letter from MozartComposer: Colgrass, Michael
Performance date: February 21, 1990

Date composed: 1976


There is often a programmatic element to compositions by Michael Colgrass. He expects the listener to take an active role in the musical experience. In the case of Letter from Mozart, he or she is invited to experience how a late-twentieth-century composer filters an imaginary tune by Mozart through the alembic of his modernistic compositional processes. It’s fun, it’s intriguing, it’s the meeting of two great musical minds.


Read Concert Program Notes
Movements

Learn More »
Colgrass, Michael
The Schubert BirdsComposer: Colgrass, Michael
Performance date: January 17, 1990

Date composed: 1990


The early-nineteenth-century composer Franz Schubert and the twentieth-century jazz saxophonist Charlie “Bird” Parker were kindred spirits in the natural ease with which they infused their music and music-making. Contemporary composer Michael Colgrass united these two immortal souls in one composition that uses a Schubert waltz tune as its point of departure to create a kaleidoscopic fantasy world brimming with fanciful sounds and effects.
Read Concert Program Notes
Learn More »

Retour à la rechercheRetour à la page d'accueil
Critère de recherche : Compositeurs ( Colgrass, Michael)
Visualisation des résultats 1 à 3 sur 3
Colgrass, Michael
Delta pour percussions, violon, clarinette et orchestreCompositeur : Colgrass, Michael
Date de concert : 16 octobre, 1979

Date composé : 1979


Delta est un triple concerto dont les trois solistes sont un violoniste, un clarinettiste et un percussionniste. L’image du delta – embouchure triangulaire d'un fleuve qui se divise en plusieurs bras ramifiés avant de se jeter dans la mer – est reprise dans la structure de la musique, étant donné qu’Ottawa, ville où se trouve l'orchestre pour qui cette œuvre a été écrite, se situe au confluent de trois rivières (l’Outaouais, la rivière Rideau et la Gatineau). Dans ce contexte, chaque soliste joue une variante différente de la même musique. Cette convergence des styles est aussi une métaphore de la très grande variété de la population canadienne.


Lire le programme du concert
Mouvements

Voir les détails »
Colgrass, Michael
Letter from MozartCompositeur : Colgrass, Michael
Date de concert : 21 février, 1990

Date composé : 1976


Les compositions de Michael Colgrass s'inspirent souvent d’un programme. Le compositeur tient à réserver à l'auditeur un rôle actif dans l'expérience musicale. Dans le cas de son œuvre intitulée Letter from Mozart, Colgrass invite l'auditeur ou l'auditrice à apprécier une mélodie imaginaire de Mozart soumise par un compositeur de la fin du XXe siècle à un traitement spécial à travers l'alambic de ses procédés modernes de composition. Cette rencontre de deux grands esprits musicaux est amusante et ne manque pas d'originalité.


Lire le programme du concert
Mouvements

Voir les détails »
Colgrass, Michael
The Schubert BirdsCompositeur : Colgrass, Michael
Date de concert : 17 janvier, 1990

Date composé : 1990


Franz Schubert, compositeur du début du XIXe siècle, et Charlie « Bird » Parker, saxophoniste de jazz du XXe siècle, étaient apparentés en esprit en raison de l’aisance naturelle avec laquelle ils composaient et faisaient de la musique. Le compositeur contemporain Michael Colgrass réunit ces deux esprits immortels dans une composition qui se sert d'un air de valse de Schubert comme point de départ pour créer un monde imaginaire kaléidoscopique débordant de sonorités et d’effets fantaisistes.
Lire le programme du concert
Voir les détails »