The Composers and their Music

Robert Aitken

Flutist and composer Robert Aitken (b. 1939) has been very important in the development and exposure of progressive music as co-founder and artistic director of New Music Concerts, a twenty year running performance series. As a flutist Aitken has always searched, developed and mastered non-traditional instrumental techniques, many of which he uses in Spiral, composed in 1975. This piece contains so many new sounds, both instrumental and electronic that it caused Toronto Star critic William Littler to suggest similarities between the sounds heard at the performance to the sounds heard at a zoo during feeding time. The first performance was in 1975 by the National Arts Centre Orchestra.

Photo of composer Robert Aitken

Portrait of composer Robert Aitken

Norma Beecroft

Norma Beecroft (b. 1934) has played a large role in many areas of Canadian music as a composer, largely of electronic music, and as a CBC radio broadcaster, producer and administrator. Improvvisazioni Concertanti, No. 2, composed in 1970, is from a set of three pieces with the same name. It is the first time she composed using aleatoric (chance) elements in which performers are at times left to improvise their parts under a controlled structure. The piece begins around a central pitch of C, continues to a middle improvisational section that causes textural confusion, and then returns to the beginning central pitch. Improvvisazioni Concertanti, No. 2, was first performed in 1971 by the National Arts Centre Orchestra.

Photo of composer Norma Beecroft

Portrait of composer Norma Beecroft

Michael Colgrass

Michael Colgrass (b. 1932) began his musical career in Chicago as a jazz drummer. He also studied Western composition at the University of Illinois and has spent his life living and working in both the United States and Canada. He has been placed in a movement called The New Eclecticism because of his combination of jazz with various non-traditional Western compositional techniques. In Delta, composed in 1979, Colgrass often layers these two styles so that they are being heard at the same time. The combination is a very sincere portrayal of his background and interests. Delta was first performed in by the National Arts Centre Orchestra in 1979.

Photo of composer Michael Colgrass

Portrait of composer Michael Colgrass

R. Murray Schafer

R. Murray Schafer (b. 1933) has long had a reputation of "breaking the rules" of composition and has at times done so largely for the purpose of challenging listeners and performers. Even then his creativity and compositional skill are always present. East is no exception, containing non-traditional techniques often used by Schafer such as slow harmonized glissandos and also challenging performers by asking instrumentalists to sing and hum while also playing. East was composed in 1972 and first performed in 1973 by the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Bath, England.

Photo of composer R. Murray Schafer

Portrait of composer R. Murray Schafer

John Weinzweig

John Weinzweig (1913-2006) was one of the most influential composers in Canada because of his success as a composer and because of the successes of his numerous composing students. Divertimento No. 6 was commissioned in 1972 by Paul Brody for the Third World Saxophone Congress. In this composition Weinzweig uses non-traditional techniques such as extended instrumental methods like instrument key clicking or humming through the instrument. He also displays his use of serialism for a source of melodic material shown by repeated note ordering that does not have any tonal centre. The work was first performed at the Third World Saxophone Congress in Toronto with the aid of a grant from the Canada Council.

Photo of composer John Weinzweig

Portrait of composer John Weinzweig

Credits and Copyright

  • Text Asset: Robert Aitken, Spiral
  • Image Asset: Robert Aitken
    Robert Aitken
  • Text Asset: Norma Beecroft, Improvvisazioni Concertanti No. 2
    Norma Beecroft
  • Image Asset: Norma Beecroft
    Canadian Music Centre
  • Text Asset: Michael Colgrass, Delta
  • Image Asset: Michael Colgrass
    Paul Hoeffler
  • Text Asset: R. Murray Schafer, East
  • Image: R. Murray Schafer
    André Leduc
  • Text Asset: John Weinzweig, Divertimento No. 6
    John Weinzweig Estate
  • Image Asset: John Weinzweig
    John Weinzweig Estate
Virtual Museum of Canada

To access the Virtual Museum of Canada's complete digital learning resources and lesson plans, visit the VMC Teachers' Centre.

Les compositeurs et leur musique

Robert Aitken

Le flûtiste et compositeur Robert Aitken (né en 1939) a beaucoup contribué à l'épanouissement et à la promotion de la musique progressive en sa qualité de cofondateur et directeur artistique de New Music Concerts, une série continue de spectacles qui s'est déroulée sur 20 ans. Comme flûtiste, Aitken n'a jamais cessé de chercher, de développer et de maîtriser de nouvelles techniques instrumentales non traditionnelles, dont il utilise un grand nombre dans son œuvre Spiral, composée en 1975. Celle-ci contient tant de nouveaux sons, à la fois instrumentaux et électroniques, que le critique du Toronto Star, William Littler, a été amené à établir des similarités entre les sons entendus durant sa représentation et les sons d'un zoo, à l'heure où les animaux sont nourris. Spiral fut exécutée pour la première fois en 1975, par l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts.

Photo du compositeur Robert Aitken

Portrait du compositeur Robert Aitken

Norma Beecroft

Norma Beecroft (née en 1934) a joué un rôle de premier plan dans de nombreux domaines de la musique canadienne à titre de compositrice (principalement de musique électronique) ainsi que de journaliste pour la radio de Radio-Canada, de réalisatrice et d'administratrice. Improvvisazioni Concertanti no 2, composée en 1970, fait partie d'un ensemble de trois œuvres du même titre. Il s'agit de la première composition dans laquelle Beecroft intègre des éléments aléatoires, invitant les musiciens à improviser certaines de leurs parties dans le cadre d'une structure contrôlée. L'œuvre s'ouvre sur une tonalité centrale en do, se poursuit avec une séquence improvisée qui provoque une confusion dans la texture, puis revient à la tonalité centrale de départ. La première d'Improvvisazioni Concertanti no 2 a été exécutée par l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, en 1971.

Photo du compositeur Norma Beecroft

Portrait du compositeur Norma Beecroft

Michael Colgrass

Michael Colgrass (né en 1932) a entamé sa carrière musicale à Chicago, comme percussionniste jazz. Il a étudié la composition occidentale à l'Université d'Illinois et a vécu et travaillé aux États-Unis et au Canada. Il a été classé dans le courant du « nouvel éclectisme » en raison de ses œuvres qui combinent le jazz et diverses techniques de composition occidentales non traditionnelles. Dans Delta, composée en 1979, Colgrass superpose souvent ces deux styles de sorte qu'on puisse les entendre simultanément. Cet agencement évoque avec beaucoup de sincérité son vécu et ses intérêts. Delta fut exécutée pour la première fois en 1979 par l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts.

Photo du compositeur Michael Colgrass

Portrait du compositeur Michael Colgrass

R. Murray Schafer

R. Murray Schafer (né en 1933) a longtemps été connu un « transgresseur » des règles de la composition. Lorsqu'il sort des sentiers battus, c'est parfois et surtout pour provoquer les auditeurs et les musiciens. Cependant, sa créativité et son savoir-faire ne font jamais défaut. East ne fait pas exception à la règle. Cette œuvre renferme les techniques non traditionnelles privilégiées par Schafer, comme les lents glissandos harmonisés, et va jusqu'à mettre les musiciens au défi de chanter et de fredonner tout en jouant. Composée en 1972, East fut exécutée pour la première fois en 1973 par l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts à Bath, en Angleterre.

Photo du compositeur R. Murray Schafer

Portrait du compositeur R. Murray Schafer

John Weinzweig

John Weinzweig (1913-2006) a été l'un des plus éminents compositeurs au Canada, et ce, en raison de son propre succès, mais également de celui de ces nombreux élèves compositeurs. Divertimento no 6 est une commande de Paul Brody, faite en 1972 à l'occasion du troisième Congrès mondial du saxophone. Weinzweig y exploite des techniques non traditionnelles, dont des méthodes instrumentales étendues comme le cliquetis des clés ou le fredonnement dans l'instrument. Il recourt à des techniques de composition sérielle comme source de matériel mélodique, notamment à la répétition de séries de notes, sans tonalité centrale. La première de Divertimento no 6 fut exécutée au troisième Congrès mondial du saxophone à Toronto, avec le soutien d'une bourse du Conseil des Arts du Canada.

Photo du compositeur John Weinzweig

Portrait du compositeur John Weinzweig

Crédits et droit d'auteur

  • Support texte : Robert Aitken, Spiral
  • Support image : Robert Aitken
    Robert Aitken
  • Support texte : Norma Beecroft, Improvvisazioni Concertanti No. 2
    Norma Beecroft
  • Support image : Norma Beecroft
    Centre de musique canadienne
  • Support texte : Michael Colgrass, Delta
  • Support image : Michael Colgrass
    Paul Hoeffler
  • Support texte : R. Murray Schafer, East
  • Support image: R. Murray Schafer
    André Leduc
  • Support texte : John Weinzweig, Divertimento No. 6
    Biens de la famille de John Weinzweig
  • Support image: John Weinzweig
    Biens de la famille de John Weinzweig
Musée virtuel du Canada

Pour accéder à l’ensemble des ressources pédagogiques numériques et des plans de leçons, veuillez consulter le Centre d'apprentissage en ligne du Musée virtuel du Canada.