– The Secret Life of Costumes
image:History of the NAC Costume CollectionBy Gerry Grace, NAC Archivist

History of the NAC Costume Collection
By Gerry Grace, NAC Archivist

NAC Artistic Directors, Advisors and Producers

English Theatre

David Haber Director of Programming (including English Theatre) 1969-1970
Michael Bawtree Artistic Director Centre Studio Group 1970-1971
Jean Roberts Artistic Director 1971-1972 to 1976-1977
John Wood Artistic Director 1977-1978 to 1982-1983
Andis Celms Producer, Theatre Department and Director of English Theatre 1983-1984 to 1995-1996
Gil Osborne Artistic Director 1996-1997
Marti Maraden Artistic Director 1997-1998 to 2005-2006
Peter Hinton, since 2006-2007

French Theatre

Jean-Guy Sabourin Artistic Director Le Capricorne 1969-1970
Jean Herbiet Artistic Director Le Groupe du Studio 1970-1971 and Artistic Director 1971-1972 to 1981-1982
André Brassard Artistic Director 1982-1983 to 1989-1990
Robert Lepage Artistic Director 1990-1991 to 1992-1993
Jean-Claude Marcus Artistic Director 1993-1994 to 1995-1996, Artistic Advisor 1997-1998 to 2000-2001
(Alain Grégoire Artistic Director 1996-1997 Interim)
Denis Marleau, 2001-2002 à 2007-2008
Wajdi Mouawad, since 2008-2009

Jean Roberts was Director of Theatre 1971-1972 to 1976-1977
Jean Herbiet was Associate Director of Theatre 1971-1972 to 1976-1977
Jean Gascon was Director of Theatre 1977-1978 to 1982-1983 and Artistic Consultant for Theatre 1983-1984


Jean-Marie Beaudet Music Director 1969-1970, Mario Bernardi Principal Conductor 1969-1970
Mario Bernardi Music Director and Principal Conductor 1970-1971 to 1981-1982
Franco Mannino Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor 1982-1983 to 1985-1986
Gabriel Chmura Principal Conductor and Music Director 1987-1988 to 1989-1990
(J.M. (Jack) Mills Music Producer 1990-1991)
Trevor Pinnock Principal Conductor and Music Director 1991-1992 to 1995-1996
Trevor Pinnock Artistic Advisor 1996-1997 to 1997-1998
Pinchas Zukerman Music Director Designate Principal Conductor 1998 and Music Director since 1999-2000

Dance and Variety

David Haber Director of Programming (including Dance and Variety) 1969-1970 to 1972-1973
Ted Demetre Producer and Administrator of Dance and Variety 1973-1974 to 1982-1983
Yvan Saintonge Producer of Dance and Variety 1983-1984 to 1986-1987
Jack Udashkin Producer of Dance, Variety and Special Projects 1987-1988 to 1996-1997
Jack Udashkin Consultant Producer of Dance 1997-1998 to 1998-1999
Michel Dozois Associate Producer of Dance, Variety and Special Events 1997-1998 to 1998-1999 Producer of Dance and Special Events 1999/2000
Cathy Levy Producer of Dance since 2000/2001
Michel Dozois Producer of Community and Special Events, since 2000-2001
Brian Macdonald was Senior Artistic Advisor 1995-1996 and Senior Artistic Director 1996-1997 to 1998-1999
Mario Bernardi was Artistic Director of Festival Canada 1971 to 1982
Nicholas Goldschmidt was Senior Artistic Director of Festival Canada 1996-1997 to 1997-1998
Franz-Paul Decker was Principal Guest Conductor 1990-1991 to 1998-1999
Mario Bernardi was appointed Conductor Laureate in 1997
Jean-Philippe Tremblay was appointed Apprentice Conductor in 2001