ArtsAlive.ca – The Secret Life of Costumes
Mark Negin

Mark Negin

Mark Negin was born in London where he began his studies in Theatre Design before moving to Winnipeg with his parents in 1951.

In Winnipeg he joined up with John Hirsch and Tom Hendry to help found the Muddiwater Puppet Theatre, then the only local professional theatre company besides The Winnipeg Ballet (later The Royal). He also designed for the amateur Winnipeg Little Theatre later to become The Manitoba Theatre Centre. In 1955, he joined the Props Department of the Stratford Shakespeare Festival whilst also designing at The Grand in London, Ontario and at Brae Manor Summer Stock, Knowlton, Quebec. In 1958, he won a Guthrie award to study in Paris at L’école d’apprentissage d’art dramatique and later worked as a Model Room Boy (assistant to visiting designers) at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

In 1960 Mark returned to the Stratford Festival Prop Department and started designing there. In 1961 when the newly formed bilingual National Theatre School opened in Montreal Mark joined Robert Prévost in establishing the School’s Design Section. Mark subsequently taught across Canada; he also designed for English and French language theatres and for the musical theatre of Ballet and Opera.

After 1972 Mark worked in Canada, the United Kingdom, and the United States. In Winnipeg he designed John Hirsch’s much acclaimed The Dybbuk for its North American tour and in London Midsummer Night’s Dream and Othello at the Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre.

He has designed for most of the major regional theatres in the United Kingdom including costumes for Scottish Opera’s Fiddler on the Roof and in London for You Never Can Tell for the 1978 reopening of the Lyric Hammersmith by H.M. The Queen.

In 1982 his designs for Handel’s Rinaldo with Marilyn Horne and Samuel Ramey, were seen at The National Arts Centre in Ottawa before playing, in 1984, at The Metropolitan Opera House, New York, as Canada’s gift to the Met in its centennial year.

Mark’s teaching career has been extensive: he has taught stage design in Canada, the United States and in the United Kingdom.

For his work in helping establish the Design Section of the National Theatre School of Canada in Montreal and his work in the early days of the Manitoba Theatre Centre in Winnipeg, he is the recipient of Canada’s Centennial Medal for services to the Arts.

Mark lives in Ramsgate, on the English Channel, and is busy painting wall panels for private houses as well as for public spaces such as Pub windows and the Royal Coat of Arms for the local parish church. In his old age, Mark illustrates and illuminates texts on paper and parchment using gilded gesso. His illustrations of the Hebrew text of The Scroll of The Book of Esther, The Megillat Esther, have been seen, in London, as part of the British Library’s exhibition SACRED, an exhibition of illuminated manuscripts of the three monotheistic religions.

Artsvivants.ca – La vie secrète des costumes
Mark Negin

Mark Negin

Mark Negin est né à Londres, où il a entrepris ses études en scénographie avant de déménager à Winnipeg avec ses parents en 1951.

À Winnipeg, il s’est joint à John Hirsch et à Tom Hendry pour participer à la fondation du Muddiwater Puppet Theatre, qui était alors la seule compagnie de théâtre professionnelle locale – mis à part le Winnipeg Ballet (qui n’avait pas encore reçu son titre « Royal »). Il a aussi collaboré, comme concepteur, avec le Winnipeg Little Theatre, une troupe d’amateurs qui allait donner naissance au Manitoba Theatre Centre. En 1955, il s’est joint au département des accessoires du Festival Shakespeare de Stratford, tout en concevant des décors et des costumes pour les théâtres The Grand à London (Ontario) et Brae Manor Summer Stock à Knowlton (Québec). En 1958, il a remporté un prix Guthrie assorti d’une bourse qui lui a permis d’aller étudier à l’École d’apprentissage d’art dramatique à Paris; par la suite, il a travaillé comme « Model Room Boy » (assistant des concepteurs invités) à la Royal Opera House de Covent Garden.

En 1960, il a réintégré le département des accessoires du Festival de Stratford et y a repris ses activités de concepteur. En 1961, quand la toute nouvelle École nationale de théâtre du Canada, offrant une formation dans les deux langues officielles, a ouvert ses portes à Montréal, il s’est joint à Robert Prévost pour mettre sur pied le programme de scénographie de l’établissement. Il a subséquemment enseigné un peu partout au Canada, en plus de signer des décors et des costumes pour de nombreuses compagnies théâtrales de langues anglaise et française et pour le théâtre musical – ballet et opéra.

Après 1972, M. Negin a travaillé au Canada, au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis. À Winnipeg, il a conçu les décors et les costumes du grand succès The Dybbuk de John Hirsch pour sa tournée nord-américaine et, à Londres, ceux d’A Midsummer Night’s Dream et d’Othello pour le Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre.

Il a collaboré avec la plupart des grands théâtres régionaux du Royaume-Uni; on lui doit notamment les costumes de Fiddler on the Roof au Scottish Opera et, à Londres, ceux de You Never Can Tell pour la réouverture, en 1978, du Lyric Hammersmith sous les auspices de Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II.

Ses décors et costumes pour Rinaldo de Haendel, avec Marilyn Horne et Samuel Ramey, ont été vus au Centre national des Arts à Ottawa en 1982 puis, en 1984, au Metropolitan Opera, à New York, où le spectacle a été repris à titre de présent du Canada pour le centenaire du « Met ».

Il a aussi mené une carrière de professeur bien remplie, enseignant la scénographie au Canada, aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni.

Pour son rôle dans la mise sur pied du programme de scénographie de l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada, à Montréal, et pour sa contribution à l’essor du Manitoba Theatre Centre à Winnipeg, il a reçu la Médaille du centenaire du Canada pour services rendus aux arts.

Mark Negin vit maintenant à Ramsgate, en Angleterre, sur le bord de la Manche, où il est toujours actif comme peintre de murales pour des résidences privées et des espaces publics, décorant les fenêtres de pubs locaux ou peignant les armoiries royales pour orner l’église de sa paroisse. Sur ses vieux jours, il illustre et enlumine des textes sur papier et sur parchemin au gesso (enduit de plâtre) doré. Ses illustrations pour le texte hébreu du Rouleau du Livre d’Esther, Megillat Esther, ont été vues à Londres dans le cadre de l’exposition SACRED de la British Library, qui regroupait des manuscrits enluminés des trois grandes religions monothéistes.